We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Beauty”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old Beauty”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

There is not very much to say about this lovely Jamaican resort. It is small, simple, and takes you back in time. We stayed in the White Suite, which in my opinion, sums up this hotel. The room is old, yet beautiful. It could never be duplicated. To modernize it, would ruin it. The hotel has nothing different to offer than other hotels on this stretch of the beach. The beach is the same, the sun is the same and the views are the same. What Jamaica Inn has to offer is its WONDERFUL staff. These people make the hotel everything that it is. They work non stop trying to make their sometimes difficult guests happy. I wish people back home worked as hard as they do. They don't miss a thing. Our glasses of water were never empty and they were always paying close attention to see if there was anything we needed. Housekeeping was wonderful as well. The gym could use a little update as it was very small and didn't offer a whole lot to people who exercise regularly. The only other suggestion that I would have is for the waitstaff to get heat friendly uniforms. It looked miserable walking on the beach in such heavy clothing. After all, these are the people that make this hotel worth coming back to again and again. Also, this is the only place that we have stayed where we didn't get tired of the food. It was delicious every single time! This is the place to stay if visiting Ocho Rios!

Room Tip: White sand suite is the best or the west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loop76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    113
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
134
823
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had researched the hotel before booking and were looking for somewhere to relax and take it easy for a week. The hotel was perfect for us on this trip as it was very peaceful and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The beach is beautiful, spacious and great for swimming. The standard rooms, although not huge, have character and large balconies with great views.
We enjoyed the food and cocktails and particularly liked the Jamaican breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
demie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is my second trip to Jamaica, this time I went with 2 other women as a girls' week. I made the accommodations and Jamaica Inn did NOT disappointment. The venue is located offer the main road. Not too far from the main area in Oche. The Inn is in close proximity to everything. This did not matter to us as we rented a car but if you don't have one, it's not a worry because of how close Dunn's River, Mystic River and restaurants are.

Ok now about the Inn. What a misnomer! It is more like a small piece of paradise but I guess that would be difficult to put on marketing material. When arriving you are immediately greeted by the blue of the ocean and the sound of waves. The outside of the property is well maintained yet still allows of a nice of natural organic beauty. The courteousness and graciousness of the staff was immediate. We were asked about our travels and asked what we needed to be comfortable. No one was breathing down our necks but they were always present when we needed someone. I generally don't go for planation chic, I'm more of a modern design boutique hotel person but this place was wonderful. It was the perfect space to feel comfortable to simply collapse and lounge. And lounge we did!

There was a beautiful veranda outside our LARGE room, which the hotel graciously offered to us when our party increased to 3 instead of only 2. The veranda was a huge room onto itself and offered a table for 3 and a large sofa as well as writing desk. We had the option to walk right onto the beach and pool from our room. Meaning all we had to do was take 10 steps and we were sitting on a lounge chair under a little tiki hut. The beach was extremely clean and the water was refreshing as was the pool. I was able to work out every day and then go and dip in the pool or beach to cool off right away. We had the pleasure of enjoying the manager's happy hour which was delightful and there were so many yummy snacks we almost got to full for dinner.

The only reason I am not giving the property a full excellent is because there were little details in the property that weren't perfect. A little crack here and there. There were no screens on the shutter windows, so you couldn't enjoy natural light without inviting in mosquitos.

At the end of our stay BOTH owners came out and walked us to our car and invited us to stay again. In addition, all 3 of us received a quaint beautiful gift box. It was so thoughtful and epitomizes the attention to detail in service and graciousness of Jamaica Inn.

Don't go to the major resorts... Jamaica Inn is a treasure that deserves to be supported and applauded for it's commitment to service and simple pleasure. It is a relaxation paradise that definitely worth staying at.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in a downstairs room with a veranda that leads to quick access to the beach from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank demie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The reviews are accurate on all accounts. We stayed in Cottage 3 and it is amazing. We ate all of our meals there. We never went to the restaurant because we always ordered room service. The ocean was extremely clear and the beach is the best around. We met the owners and they were great. We did go out on several excursions. Dunns River Falls was the favorite. Hike up the falls its worth it. We went tubing on the White River. It was just ok. The ride up to the river was terrible because the roads are bad and I got car sick. They send a guide with you for the entire float down the river and he was cheesy. My Husband went to the cooking class at Prospect and loved it. The grounds at Prospect are worth seeing. We went shopping and it was the same as all the islands. Nothing any different than any place else. We did go to that Italian restaurant and it was good. They will pick you up and bring you back. We truly enjoyed our 7 day stay at Jamaica Inn.

Room Tip: Get a spa treatment in your room instead of the spa. It is not a good environment. Dogs barking an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamaicaInn, General Manager at Jamaica Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you so much for coming to visit us at the Inn and leaving such a lovely review. We very much appreciate when our guests take the time to post as it means so much to the Jamaica Inn family. Everyday the team eagerly awaits to hear who has been mentioned in the previous days postings. So thank you again. We can also fully understand why you would opt for room service. Asides from the privacy and setting, its not your typical in room dinner experience, as our wait staff serves course by course just as they would in our restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some motion sickness on the winding road to the White River. We will have to remember to advise guests that it can be a bumpy ride. Beautiful when you get there, but a trek nonetheless. You will be pleased to know that we took your comment about the dogs very seriously and have since had dialogue with our next door neighbor. Please feel confident to enjoy a treatment at the spa on your next visit which by the way has been recently remodeled and renamed the Ocean Spa. Look forward to welcoming you back it the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Fabulous stay at the Jamaica Inn. Service, accommodations and beach are all
wonderful. Beach is a private cove, wide with plenty of comfortable lounge chairs and tables. Just loved the open air living room that faced the beach. Such a total
feeling of peace and relaxation. You can open or close the louvered doors to the bedroom.

Staff and owners are exceptional. Very welcoming and warm almost feels like you are staying in a fabulous family home, but with privacy you want on vacation. The Jamaica Inn even include nightly appetizers on the terrace giving all the guests a chance to mingle and relax.

Highly recommend this beautiful resort.

Pat and Dick

Room Tip: The premium veranda rooms with the living area on the water verus the beach have total privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Gorgeous Views, Impeccable service and great food. Stayed for 5 days with family and friends for a wedding. Their attention to detail was superb. They went out of their way to lear our names and meet all of our needs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We arrived late on a friday after a grueling drive to Ocho Rios (very Dangerous if you drive there from Kingston be very very careful on the roads) and were recieved by lovely staff who treated us as family.
The rooms are not so big but we got the best room with a view of the enitre resort. if you're the active type than this place is NOT for you, no TV in the rooms and not much to do there but CHIIIIILLLLLLLL, the food is no attraction either, best to drive out to some great restaurants nearby like TOSCANINI - great Italian Res. in any case, we had the beach to ourselves and most of the pool, great private beach and nice (but expensive) beach-bar.
The owners were on the premises all the time but that's a good thing since they're so nice and welcoming.
we had a great time and we'll be back, just don't fall for the all inclusive package, it's unecessarilly expensive and not really worth it.

Room Tip: If you're not booking the ground floor suite try to get yourselves room no. 50, it's the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
51.2 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
45.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing