We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our ideal Caribbean Hotel”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Our ideal Caribbean Hotel”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Once again, the Jamaica Inn exceeded all our expectations. For years we have visited different islands and different hotels and though many were excellent, none got everything right. Then we found Jamaica Inn, and we have not strayed since! At Jamaica Inn, it just works, and it looks effortless!
As returning guests we thought we knew what to expect but the welcome, the smiles, the friendly service and the great food and wine bowled us over once again. It was also wonderful that staff remembered us from the year before and went out of their way to welcome us back.
We adore swimming in the sea off that perfect beach, and the complementary rum punch on the beach at about 11am shouts to us "relax, you are on holiday"! We also love the "house band" who play music every night at dinner on a wonderful seaside terrace under the stars.

Room Tip: We love a west wing premier verandah suite directly onto the water. The verandah is completely priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 476David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    116
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
136
836
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it couldn't have been better. Quaint and charming and absolutely beautiful, we've never been more relaxed. We got to know the owner and the manager well, and were greeted by name by all the staff. The service is incredibly personal - our last night there the woman who cleaned our room came in while we were at dinner and lit candles all throughout the room. Beautiful property - the private beach is exquisite!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room there! We were in a balcony suite, which is the most affordable of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I went here on our honeymoon and could not be more pleased with a hotel. The staff were fantastic, the room amazing and the beach gorgeous. The owner walks around most days and has a chat to you. It is a smaller hotel so the service is more personal. The beach is definitely the best in Ocho rios. I would highly recommend the west wing rooms and also to get the all inclusive package.

Room Tip: West wing rooms are a lot more private with a balcony over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt more relaxed and welcome. The food was amazing, like eating Michelin star every evening. Our verandah room was spacious with a huge sofa and chairs to relax in to look over the immaculate gardens and the private beach. The staff were all very friendly and attentive with Peter the owner and Kyle the manager always around to check all was OK.
This is a hotel with a history which is worth exploring, with many celebrities over the years propping up the well stocked bar. The price reflects the standard of service, rooms and food, so do not expect any bargains here.
Our only comment was that we stayed 10 nights and the live music got rather similar each night! But they do ring the changes and we really enjoyed the cool jazz with a reggae twist! The spa was rather expensive.
The weekly beach barbecue is done with terrific style.Definitely a hotel for couples wanting to relax or celebrate.

Room Tip: All are good, even their basic balcony room is high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The only bad thing is the U$5 for room service...its charged every time you ask for something! The food and drinks are great! We had the perfect honeymoon there! Private beach and they land snorkels and stand up padles

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Jamaican Inn is incredible! We had a wonderful stay for our 5th wedding anniversary. The property is beautiful--exactly as advertised. The service was the best I've ever experienced. My husband and I are already planning our next trip and we just got home yesterday! We stayed in a verandah suite with an ocean view. By ocean view, I mean our private living room overlooked the ocean and sat about 5 feet above a coral reef. The bathroom was small but very nice and well appointed. The water pressure was great in the shower. The bed was comfortable--but that outdoor living area is what made the stay. There was a love seat, writing desk, winged back chair and ottoman, small dining table with chairs, 2 end tables,3 lamps. The walk to the beach was about 20 steps out the front door. All the rooms on the property seemed incredible-don't think there was a room with a bad view, but I really enjoyed the privacy and view from room 17. Rooms 16-19, all had similar views. The beach is amazing, soft sand, plenty of lounge chairs, unlimited fresh towels, food and drink service on the beach. The water was turquoise blue, warm and clear. It is a great swimming beach, where you can paddle board, snorkel, float on a raft, or sail, all included. I didn't know what to expect for the food--sometimes resort food can be lacking. The food was amazing--well worth the price. Breakfast was much more than continental, the omelet was great, the pastries and homemade jams were amazing--on average about $40 dollars total for me and my husband. We always had lunch served to us on the beach everyday. The hamburger was awesome, grilled chicken wrap, french fries, and fresh salads were all great. It sounds like an average menu, but all the lunch items had an upscale flare. On average lunch was about $45 for me and my husband. Dinner was awesome-but a little pricey--on average about $130 for me and my husband. There was a rotating menu and we never saw the same item twice in the week we were there. The fresh catch and seafood dishes were amazing. Men dress for dinner--slacks and a collared shirt, no sandals and women dress accordingly. The drinks, oh the drinks, lots of rum and pineapples, and of course red stripes. the official drink of the resort is a planters punch and you receive a free planters punch every morning on the beach. The wine list was decent with wines by the glass for 10-12 and by the bottle from 30 and up. There is a tea hour with apps and fresh teas and coffee served every afternoon. There is a cocktail hour before dinner with little nibbles. Besides the beauty of the property, the service of the staff was impeccable. Georgia, Rupert, and Teddy at the beach bar--thank you for a great stay! Winston who gave us a boat ride to Dunns River Falls. Perter the owner, Kyle, the manager, Kingsley, the band, I really can't say enough. Everyone went out of their way to make every guest feel well taken care of. Rupert taught me how to play croquette and we spent about an hour every afternoon learning the finer points of the game. There is a live band playing easy listening and reggae classics during dinner-a little cheesy, but we got into it. Brian, our airport driver, handed us red stripes going to and from the airport (Montego Bay is about 1.5 hours), and gave us brief histories and interesting facts about Jamaica during the trip. Every guest we met was on a repeat visit. Some people had been attending for 10 years. I can see why-I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing beach vacation. This is definitely not a wild party crowd (guests age range while we were there from 35 to 65). We had a sunset massage and moonlight massage while we where there-both amazing. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Rooms 16-19 have a wonderful ocean views,are very private, and are close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill5579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

There is not very much to say about this lovely Jamaican resort. It is small, simple, and takes you back in time. We stayed in the White Suite, which in my opinion, sums up this hotel. The room is old, yet beautiful. It could never be duplicated. To modernize it, would ruin it. The hotel has nothing different to offer than other hotels on this stretch of the beach. The beach is the same, the sun is the same and the views are the same. What Jamaica Inn has to offer is its WONDERFUL staff. These people make the hotel everything that it is. They work non stop trying to make their sometimes difficult guests happy. I wish people back home worked as hard as they do. They don't miss a thing. Our glasses of water were never empty and they were always paying close attention to see if there was anything we needed. Housekeeping was wonderful as well. The gym could use a little update as it was very small and didn't offer a whole lot to people who exercise regularly. The only other suggestion that I would have is for the waitstaff to get heat friendly uniforms. It looked miserable walking on the beach in such heavy clothing. After all, these are the people that make this hotel worth coming back to again and again. Also, this is the only place that we have stayed where we didn't get tired of the food. It was delicious every single time! This is the place to stay if visiting Ocho Rios!

Room Tip: White sand suite is the best or the west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loop76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,504 reviews
8.7 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
313 reviews
51.2 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Expedia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing