We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I chose Jamaica Inn after weeks of reading reviews on resorts in the area. We were absolutely delighted with our selection. The hotel is classic to the core with gorgeous British furnishings. The staff is wonderfully attentive and very friendly. Every excursion (there were many)i and request was looked after promptly.

The private beach is huge. We took a boat to Dunn's River Falls and for a scuba trip and passed several Couples and Sandals resorts with tiny, crowded, artificial beaches and were so grateful our beach was exclusive. We never worried about finding a nice spot to lay out during the day. Several mornings and evenings we walked on the beach without another soul in sight. It was hard to believe this was during the Christmas high season.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janemac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    112
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
131
807
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Alberta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location with an outstanding & private beach. Service second to none - traditional but by no means snooty! Fairly expensive but very worthwhile (except for dinner which was pricey & a little disappointing). Manager refreshingly present, friendly & making sure guests are well taken care of & happy. Excellent evening music. Great facilities & very comfortable & well- equipped rooms.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hare88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

If there is one place on the planet that I cam't get enough from it would be Jamaica Inn. This place is so unique...It's a family owned boutique hotel. The private beach on which is situated is one of the nicest places ever. Just 30 feet away from the beach you are swimming on top of the beautiful corals. The snorkeling gear is provided for free from the hotel. The rooms are simple but beautiful. All the rooms have sea view so any room will be a great choice. The hotel is meant for relaxing. There are no TV or radio set the the rooms and the place is for adults only....its quiet and relaxing. The hotel is very save and comfortable. We have stayed here few times (which is so rare for us to go back to the same place again). We left the hotel 3-4 times to go to other restaurants and we never had any problems. The beauty of it is that everywhere you go outside the hotel you can arrange a taxi (it is a bit more expensive but so what) that will be charged to your room. If you go to a restaurant near by you can charge it to your room so its very convenient. I would give it 10 stars any time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cukinadzakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I vacationed at the Jamaica Inn at the beginning of January 2014. I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was. My only is complaint is we had to leave. The hotel itself is beautiful, elegant and full of charm. The service was exceptional and beyond anything we have experienced on any vacation in the Caribbean, North America, Europe or otherwise. The owner, general manager and staff were so lovely; each and every one of them. The hotel grounds and the beautiful beach are truly a piece of paradise. Our room was gorgeous and spotless in terms of cleaniless. We were so happy to be able to disengage and relax. We loved watching the croquet matches from our room with Winston's and Rupert's instruction. The food was excellent for every meal and chef Maurice did a fantastic job catering to our dietary restrictions. We met many people from abroad who were also wonderful. We cannot wait to return. We miss our Patrice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WendyCathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Breathtaking! Words can not even begin to describe how incredibly beautiful this resort is! And pictures do not even compare to the true beauty you see with your own eyes while staying at this resort! Not only is the resort beautiful but the people that work at this resort really make it a magical experience. Your treated like royalty the minute you enter the lobby. Everyone knows your name and individual preferences-something you don't get at every resort. Eric one of the owners is also around to talk with you and treats you like family. I was actually sick from a viral infection that I got prior to coming down and I was treated so well and checked on continuously it felt very comforting to know that each guest is really cared about. The owner even personally checked on me daily, came to say bye to us when we left and even gave me a beautifully hand made mahogany card box of the verandah suite rooms and one of the dining areas overlooking the beautiful sea. I would go back in a heart beat! Cecil the driver is also a very gentle and one of the kindest people my spouse and I have met. The other staff and Kyle the general manager were also very friendly and always had a smile on their faces and treated us so well our entire visit from the moment we entered the lobby til the moment we left we were treated nothing less than royalty. Also our room was impeccably cleaned at least daily with fresh flowers throughout. We stayed in the verandah suite number 17 and it was beautiful! So private. The entire resort is very private, quaint and oozes with elegance. Definitely recommend for couples! And if your in need of some R&R!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 9 day vacation at Jamaica Inn. Jamaica Inn exceeded our expectations. Sherlene and Kyle (Manager) greeted us warmly when we arrived. Eric and Peter (the owners) want you to feel like you are at home and you do. The sea was calm, warm and great for swimming. The beach is incredible; the Sea Grape, almond and palm trees provide a dramatic setting. There are well-spaced palapos which allows for solitude and privacy. Rupert serves free rum punch daily on the beach and makes sure everyone is happy! We even enjoyed the brief periods of liquid sunshine! The grounds, which feature very beautiful plantings and are spread around a croquet lawn add to the feeling of paradise. In the evening at the bar, Murray, Promer and Patrice served the best drinks! They go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and happy with what you ordered. Then there are Ryan and Richard, we miss you already, mon! These gentlemen cared about us and made us feel at home. The food was great, the music very upbeat and dancing under the stars completed the romantic effect.. The Chef is very good and we thank him for preparing excellent cuisine. The Tuesday Beach Barbeque should not be missed. It was wonderful. As for our room, it was a real treat complete with a furnished veranda. The room was also very clean with fine linens and blankets.. I would say that about 3 days into this trip, we finally relaxed and knew we had, indeed, found a little bit of paradise. We hope to return to this wonderful, magical hotel very soon and highly recommend Jamaica Inn.

Room Tip: Every room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jimandlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed two nights in one of the terrace suites at Jamaica Inn. The guest quarters were well appointed and equipped but you have to tailor your needs to what you'd find in an unplugged accommodation - meaning no room TV, but there was wi-fi. I really appreciated the old colonial style furnishing and rich wood furnishings, but especially the outdoor terrace which was huge and furnished with its own comfortable sofa and chairs, then a staff member comes around once a day to offer a free punch while you're out there. Also great was their own beach and pool with a bartender who's been there for about 30 years or more and full of anecdotes. The view from the outdoor patio dining at sunset is superb, the food choices reflect both island and international styles of dishes. There is no hustle and bustle here and people come back year after year and it's easy to see why. I plan do to do the same myself.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank adastra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
51.2 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
45.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing