We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just 2 Days in Paradise”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Our family stayed at this hotel for just two nights this month, because Hurricane Fay disrupted our trip. We had an amazing time and wished so much that we had more time at the property! We had hoped to get a cottage, but because these book up months in advance, we went for two deluxe verandah suites. They were extremely well placed, on the lawn and just a hop, skip, and a jump from the sand. We absolutely loved the beach! It truly deserves its title as one of the best in the Caribbean-- if not the world. The dinnertime band was very talented and entertaining. The staff were all very friendly; we loved Jason at the restaurant and Rupert at the beach bar/croquet. Even the management and owners were extremely accessible and sociable. We travel a lot as a family and tend to never go to the same place twice, but we would ALL love to go to Jamaica and Jamaica Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dubaiite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2008

We arrived home last week from beautiful Ochos Rios, Jamaica. The Jamaica Inn was unbelievable. From the moment we were picked up by private car at the airport and greeted with a Red Stripe, the excellent customer service began. The entire staff was genuinely friendly and extremely helpful.

The Inn is gorgeous, with an old world feel from another era, but not old fashioned. Extremely well kept spacious grounds allowed us to roam freely without ever feeling anything but relaxed. Our junior suite was comfortable, with a veranda the same size as our room. The food was gourmet and delicious. Meals could be taken in the restaurant overlooking the ocean, or in our room. It was amazing. Dinners were delicious, one night we enjoyed a cocktail party and bond fire on the beach. We also enjoyed the nightly live music. We rented a boat (through the Inn) for a half day to fish and visit Dune River Falls. One of the tuna we caught was prepared by the chef for our dinner...so fun! Service extended from the beach bar to the beach. We opted for the "all-inclusive" option, which was perfect for us.

We left on a first name basis with many people on staff and will definitely be back. If you want a relaxing vacation with a friendly staff, delicious food and drink, and as little or much activity as you want, the Jamaica Inn is for you. Many thanks to Eric, Mary, Rupert, Teddy, Kemar and everyone else who made our honeymoon so very special.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SOPHIE324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

My boyfriend and I just returned from a great stay at Jamaica Inn! It was wonderful and everyone was so nice. Also, the beach was truly awesome -- we felt very little need to leave the inn. It was very romantic and we got engaged there! The staff made us feel so special and helped us celebrate. They went above and beyond the call of duty! I would definitely return and I'd like to thank them for a very fun stay!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank alpo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

My boyfriend took me to the Jamaica Inn (June 26th July 1st) for our summertime getaway. We had just been to Europe two months prior and were looking for a beach getaway in a country neither of had visited. We chose Jamaica as it was a quick flight from Houston. We were torn between the Royal Plantation and Jamaica Inn after eliminating Rose Hall, Ritz Carlton, Blackwell resorts, and Half Moon due to inferior levels of service and luxury. Many of the Top Travel lists list hotels that I knew from personal experience are not the top in their respective destination. I took that information with a grain of salt and read Trip Advisor to make our decision.

We made our decision based upon a variety of factors one of which was amosphere, and the Jamaica Inn was by far the most romantic place we have ever been. We have both stayed at many 5 star resorts and although Jamaica Inn is rustic we both liked that it had personality versus a homogenous mega-resort. The Royal Plantation is not as well rated (as JI) for its food, which was important to us as well. My boyfriend is very fussy and particular yet he was so happy with the resort he wanted to stay a few extra days. He is also very tall and requires a firm good bed and he was more than happy with the beds.

The open porches were magnificent. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival (free of charge) yet even if we had stayed in our deluxe veranda, we would have been extremely satisfied. The balcony/porch was huge and we had more meals on it than anywhere else. It was the best place to lounge and have cocktails after the beach or dinner. The views were wonderful yet the snorkeling, diving, and fishing in Ocho Rios was so-so. I saw people netting exotic fish and was told many of the exotic fish are exported to US home aquariums.

Mary, the GM, was so welcoming and concerned about our stay. She invited us to a private cocktail party and dinner at her gorgeous bungalow on the property. The party made our trip and she is an outstanding host. I have visited St. Thomas, St. John, St. Bart’s, St. Lucia, Curacao, The Bahamas (Harbor Island), and St. Martin and I like Jamaica best for its variety, food, friendly natives, and its culture. My boyfriend was worried about safety and initially fearful of going to Jamaica, but we both feel the concern about crime is quite a bit overrated. We never felt unsafe or threatened. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank KTwoPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Jamaica Inn in Ocho Rios Jamaica. If you are seeking First Class service, accommodations and natural beauty then the Jamaica Inn is your destination.
I was celebrating my honeymoon and my wife and I needed the perfect spot to decompress and recharge. The Jamaica Inn provided the perfect recipe for us.

The key to Jamaica Inn’s success is simple: A family owned and operated property where the owners and staff take extreme pride in their jobs and hotel by providing consistent first class service. Many of the hotel staff members have over 25 years of service and many of the guests have been regulars for many years. You get the feeling of a relaxed “family” atmosphere and very quickly, you feel like you are home. The outstanding level of attention and service from all staff members, including the personal attention of Eric Morrow (owner), Mary Phillips (GM) and Nana Chandrasekar (Assist GM), cannot be understated.

The beauty of the property and natural surrounding make the perfect setting for romance and allows for mind & body rejuvenation. The Jamaica Inn has the best of the old school service but in a casual relaxed atmosphere. All of the accommodations are first class and Cottage 5 was the perfect spot for us to celebrate our honeymoon. We had such a wonderful time that we didn't want to leave!

If you are looking for a “party resort”, the Jamaica Inn is NOT your destination. If you are seeking a place to refresh your mind, body and soul surrounded by unbelievable natural beauty then the Jamaica Inn is your final destination.

We will return…. Keith & Missy

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank LoneStarMembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We just returned from a five-day stay at this incredible hotel. We had such a wonderful time that we didn't want to leave! We found the Jamaica Inn on the internet, and we hesitated a bit because it's privately owned and we're used to the standards of the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton chains. I'm so glad we moved away from the chain hotels this time! It would be impossible for any chain hotel to reproduce the ambiance of the Jamaica Inn.

We found this hotel to be the perfect combination of old and new: the buildings are classically handsome, with their remarkable Wedgwood blue paint, and the public rooms and our cottage were completely up-to-date. The service and atmosphere is very "old-school", with waiters and bartenders in starched uniforms, but there is nothing stuffy about the experience here. From the live band at dinner every night to the beach buffet we enjoyed one evening, everything is relaxed, while every one of our needs was met. If you are looking for a wild cruise-ship atmosphere, the Jamaica Inn is definitely not for you. If, on the other hand, you'd like to sit at the beach bar and chat with a bartender who has been working there for almost 50 years... or enjoy the company of other guests at cocktails in the evening... or relish the view from your private veranda while you take your meals there... this is the place for you. And don't miss the garden tour! I found it very interesting, and Henry the gardener gave each of us enough flowers to make a huge bouquet.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank GeorgiaNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We were recommended to Jamaica Inn by a travel agent friend who had stayed there himself and knew we celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversay,
As hotel owners ourselves we wanted something special and that is exactly what we got!! We travelled from North Cyprus and it took us two days but was well worth the trip.

The beach is amazing and cleaned daily by hard working beach boys, the sea is glorious, our many days on the beach were so peaceful and relaxing, as there are plenty of loungers and shade and loads of space!

The chef at The Inn is first class, the food was delicious and we ate in most nights only venturing out for a couple of times during our two week stay!
The band at diinner were great fun
All the staff were absoultely fantastic as was Mary the General Manager who made us and everyone else feel so welcome. We would like to thank everybody for a wonderful time and wish we were back there now!!! As so many others say.......we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HideawayKyrenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,577 reviews
8.7 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
50.1 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £240 - £554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, HotelsClick, Travelbag, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing