We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jamaica Inn
Nearby Hotels
Rooms Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
US$618
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$532
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveller rating
1,255
129
27
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,255
129
27
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbeach barwhite suiteplanters punchcroquet lawnbalcony suitemarilyn monroebeach wingblack labblue cottagechef mauricepremier verandahthe cottageswelcome homegarden tourall inclusive planall inclusive option
Filter
Updating list...
793 - 798 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed in March 2014. Beautiful hotel and the best beach east of Negril. Staff were always polite and helpful. Kyle the general manager, and Eric the owner, were especially friendly and accommodating. The hotel arranged for a private fishing trip, and the chef later prepared sashimi and an incredible meal with our fresh catch. Absolutely recommending Jamaica Inn to friends for a quiet and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nycrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Had a terrific stay at the Jamaica Inn. Perfect resort for those seeking elegant, peaceful luxury. Staff is everything that other reviewers claim – attentive and well-trained. Each staff member treated us as though we were guests in their private home, always making sure we had everything we needed at any time. This was the best service we had experienced in the Caribbean. Service was far superior to that experienced on recent stays at Little Dix Bay and Peter Island. Guests dress for dinner, which we loved. Cocktail hour and dinner was a very special occasion each night. Patrice and David provided fabulous service each night. We found ourselves eager for 7 pm to arrive when all the guests congregate on the terrace for cocktails and hors d’oerves. Dinner service was semi-formal and excellent. Captain Alvin oversees it. He, like many other members of the staff, has been employed at Jamaica Inn for over 20 years. If you are looking to take dinner in your shorts, sandals and message t shirt, this is not the place for you. Clientele at Jamaica Inn consists of classy, distinguished and sophisticated ladies and gentlemen. Staff is the same.
We stayed in the West Wing and it was very private and comfortable. Housekeeping staff is remarkable. Our housekeeper, Sadie, has been servicing the West Wing for over 20 years. Again, she made us feel so appreciated and welcome, like everyone else we encountered. The team at the Beach Bar was exceptional, Teddy and Georgia. Teddy is 77 and has worked the Inn for over 50 years. He is unreal and we cannot wait to see him again.
Beach and water are incredible. Best beach we’d ever seen and so large that comfortable chair are plentiful. No need to race out and reserve chairs at this resort. House band was awesome. If there is one suggestion I have, it is to have someone play that gorgeous piano in the Bar Area at tea time. Fitness center was adequate. Spa was spectacular and we had several over water messages which were pure bliss. Jamaica Inn is wonderful.

Room Tip: West Wing are very private
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have stayed in many places in Jamaica and traveling as a vegan can be challenging in an island that loves their jerk chicken and amazing fish dishes. Jamaica Inn took such amazing care of me, chef Maurice came out and spoke with me about creating a dish for my dinner as did Patrice on the service staff. The new spa is breathtaking and as a Yoga instructor I was delighted by the morning Yoga class offered weekly. This hotel stand out above the rest in moving with the times while maintaining their timeless elegance and exquisite connection to luxury within nature. Truly grateful for this piece of paradise and looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Staying in the cottages feels like you have your own villa on the edge of ocean, walking out of your front balcony and down the steps for a morning swim is pure heaven!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SiennaYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were not sure what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. This small resort is beautiful, peaceful and has great food. The beach is not a great walking beach for exercise but has beautiful sand and great for swimming.

Room Tip: We were in room 32 and loved the view from the second floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lllllll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

There can be few prettier hotels in the world than Jamaica Inn. Simply gaze down from the bar terrace in the evening to the candlelit tables, the palms, the twinkling lights across the bay and the dying embers of sunset and enjoy a scene of total enchantment. And by day the Wedgwood blue buildings with their white balustrades, the lush green gardens, the pale golden sand and the deep blue of the Caribbean also provide a magical scene.

This was our first visit to the hotel, our first to Jamaica as well, but you can easily understand why Jamaica Inn has so many repeat guests - staff say “welcome home” and are embraced warmly like long lost friends. I was expecting the clientele to be a little on the mature side yet in mid-March there was a broad range of guests, with many couples in their 30s and some families with perfectly behaved teenage children. I’d say 75% were Americans and while the hotel was created by Americans in the 1950s the ambience is decidedly English. The hotel trades on traditional values so it is a sort of time warp. The only nod to modernity is the wifi in the rooms which otherwise have no TVs or clocks. Time just melts away here.

So it’s obvious I liked this place. In fact, I loved it. I loved the ambience, the beauty, the elegant understatement and the perfect beach, even though the beach bar staff never think of removing empty glasses from people’s sun loungers. So why haven’t I given it the highest rating? Well, two reasons mainly.

Firstly there is an issue with the food and the service which can be painfully slow. Doubtless there will be people who think the food is fabulous. We didn’t. Breakfasts were particularly poor: firstly they give you butter and marmalade, then 20 minutes later you get some soggy toast and maybe 20 minutes after that you get your eggs. They never produced a proper fried egg, bacon was greasy and burned, waffles were barely cooked. The lunch menu never varied - a hamburger ordered rare arrived grey and dry, though they could make decent salads. At the rather dressy dinners the problem was presenting a coherent dish - grilled lobster was accompanied by a great mountain of mashed potato, carrot and broccoli. A seafood vol-au-vent consisted of thick cardboard pastry, tough seafood pieces, a mushroom sauce which had split plus crisp cauliflower and raw asparagus. A beach BBQ was actually just a buffet of pre-cooked meats smothered in gloopy sauces. And so on. Our disappointment with the heavy-handed, unimaginative food deters us from ever returning.

The other problem are the bathrooms - and I checked many of them when the hotel was half full. For a hotel charging top dollar the cramped and awkward bathrooms are just not acceptable anymore. Many need urgent attention and a complete rethink - difficult here as the buildings date from a time before showers - but for anyone used to high-end beach resorts in Asia the bathrooms at Jamaica Inn take some getting used to. That said, the bedrooms are perfectly acceptable and the iconic deep verandahs are utterly gorgeous. They are not blissfully quiet, though: nightly brawling dogs, crowing cockerels, loud music and traffic noise can be bothersome at night.

There is a wide choice of rooms. We had Room 8 in the Main Wing, a Luxury Verandah Suite, which had big banana trees to give us some privacy. Otherwise, these ground floor rooms are quite exposed, especially the Beach Wing Suites 41-48 which we are glad not to have chosen. West Wing suites 16-20 offer total privacy as their verandahs are perched over the ocean but you do get the full force of the sun in the afternoon. At the end of the West Wing is the legendary White Suite where Winston Churchill and Marilyn Monroe slept, but not together as far as I know. This suite is magnificent, probably worth the asking price as it has a lot of land, a pool and direct access to the sea. There are also some pretty cottages on the east side which offer dipping pools and large terraces. Upstairs rooms in the Main Wing and East Wing are slightly cheaper, have marginally greater privacy and smaller balconies. I reckon Rooms 18 and 19 as well as 7 and 8 are the best choices.

Jamaica Inn is a lovely place that oozes charm and character, no doubt about it, though people who have travelled a lot and have experienced the very finest resort hotels in the world might find it wanting in some departments.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamaicaInn, General Manager at Jamaica Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Pausanias,

We thank you for your recent review and very happy to hear you chose Jamaica Inn for your first visit to Jamaica.
We also thank you for the kind words. The staff are always happy to welcome first time guests and feel that the hotel should become your “home away from home.”
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the expansive beach and the overall ambiance of the property, it sounds like the “Jamaica Inn magic” certainly worked!
We are also very sorry to hear about your experiences with the food and service, both of which always take very seriously.
Our current repertoire of menus is a combination of cuisines and our Chef is always looking for ways to improve or introduce new items. We have already passed on your feedback to Chef and the team, and we are confident that he will take it into consideration in order to continue to deliver high quality food to our guests.
As the hotel is a historic property, the bathrooms may not be as expansive as in newer hotels, however we have upgraded the bathrooms over the years and they are well maintained.
Your valuable feedback on the history of the hotel is very impressive – and we do hope you will make it back to Jamaica Inn one day again soon.

All the best,

Kyle Mais
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews