We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever”
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We have travelled the world and have stayed at many 5 star hotels but this is probably one of the best vacations we have ever had and I rarely say this but I am looking forward to going back soon. When we first arrived I was very skeptical. Our first night was actually not so great. I had chosen to stay at blue cottage the first night and the other two in the deluxe veranda suites. Do not stay in the blue cottage. Bad location and no privacy. The second day we stayed in a private veranda room along the water. It was so romantic and private. Def pick this over the veranda on the beach. After getting a private tour of all the cottages which are breathtaking we decided to treat ourselves to cottage #4 our last day at Jamaica Inn. It was so worth it. Words can not describe the beauty of the rooms. The service at the hotel was the best I have ever seen. They were at our service day and night. The spa experience was amazing as well. Make sure to get a massage from the manager of the spa she has some serious skills. Every night the chef would create a unique delicious meal for the guests. The beach and water were great too. Note there are no tv's at this hotel and the pool is very tiny.

  • Liked — Service, Ambiance, Rooms
  • Disliked — No TV's small pool
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NSL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    116
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
136
836
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We had a wonderful time at Jamaica Inn. We were made very welcome in beautiful private surroundings with service that was second to none. The atmosphere is relaxed and you are free to do as you wish: laze on the beach under leafy trees; enjoy the sunshine; swim in the warm Caribbean waters off the sandy beach. There was no feeling of being crowded and you could have been in your own private home.

The food is excellent and the manager’s cocktail party and barbecue on the beach on Tuesday evenings is a must. The breakfast menu is fascinating with a wide range of European or Jamaican fair (including saltfish and ackee if you wish) and the fruit selections and Jamaican coffee were eagerly anticipated each day.

All the staff are very courteous and friendly and enjoy a little banter. The service, whilst excellent, is discreet and not overdone. The rooms are very comfortable with their own private veranda. If you wish you can have your air conditioning on, but we enjoyed just having the gentle waft of a room fan to keep us comfortable at night. The décor gives a taste of old time Jamaica and furnished with the same tradition, having old prints of historic times and places on the walls as well.

We organised boat trips with Tony, a local private operator (contactable through the hotel) for fishing and caught bonito and tuna in the early morning which was then prepared in the kitchens for us later in the day. Other attractions we enjoyed were riding in tubes down the White River and a new attraction at Mystic Mountain with a chair lift ride through the tropical forest overlooking Ocho Rios and with an added thrill of riding a tracked toboggan through the trees.

All in all, Jamaica Inn is a holiday destination to die for.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Starfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Jamaica Inn to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary during August. We had a fabulous time and could not have been better looked after!!

The hotel is small and very friendly, sat on the most perfect beach. The rooms are beautiful and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a deluxe room the day after we arrived. We had direct access to the beach and beautiful clear sea just a few steps beyond our superb terrace.

The food was fabulous and we were looked after at each meal by the most friendly and helpful staff. Maurice, one of the chefs, took great care to ensure that my Gluten Free dietary needs were catered for perfectly. The evening menu, which changed daily, was excellent and all the food was served beautifully at every meal.

Mary, the general manager, and her staff were always on hand to ensure that our stay was perfect, and it certainly was. We were thoroughly spoiled for the whole two weeks.

  • Liked — Excellent food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Our family of five spent a glorious week at the Jamaica Inn last month. From the moment we got off the plane and into the well-stocked, Inn-supplied shuttle van, we were treated like royalty. Our two bedroom cottage was spectacular and poised right over the sea.

Twenty minutes after arriving we were off to the stunning beach. A brief rain shower brought us to the beach bar where we were thoroughly entertained by fifty year vet Teddy.

The entire week was flawless and for the first time in our family's history, no one wanted to go home. We have already decided to go back in 2009, and I can safely say we will join the ranks of Jamaica Inn visitors who make it an annual pilgrimage.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hudnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Our family stayed at this hotel for just two nights this month, because Hurricane Fay disrupted our trip. We had an amazing time and wished so much that we had more time at the property! We had hoped to get a cottage, but because these book up months in advance, we went for two deluxe verandah suites. They were extremely well placed, on the lawn and just a hop, skip, and a jump from the sand. We absolutely loved the beach! It truly deserves its title as one of the best in the Caribbean-- if not the world. The dinnertime band was very talented and entertaining. The staff were all very friendly; we loved Jason at the restaurant and Rupert at the beach bar/croquet. Even the management and owners were extremely accessible and sociable. We travel a lot as a family and tend to never go to the same place twice, but we would ALL love to go to Jamaica and Jamaica Inn again.

  • Liked — Helpful staff, gorgeous beach
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dubaiite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We arrived home last week from beautiful Ochos Rios, Jamaica. The Jamaica Inn was unbelievable. From the moment we were picked up by private car at the airport and greeted with a Red Stripe, the excellent customer service began. The entire staff was genuinely friendly and extremely helpful.

The Inn is gorgeous, with an old world feel from another era, but not old fashioned. Extremely well kept spacious grounds allowed us to roam freely without ever feeling anything but relaxed. Our junior suite was comfortable, with a veranda the same size as our room. The food was gourmet and delicious. Meals could be taken in the restaurant overlooking the ocean, or in our room. It was amazing. Dinners were delicious, one night we enjoyed a cocktail party and bond fire on the beach. We also enjoyed the nightly live music. We rented a boat (through the Inn) for a half day to fish and visit Dune River Falls. One of the tuna we caught was prepared by the chef for our dinner...so fun! Service extended from the beach bar to the beach. We opted for the "all-inclusive" option, which was perfect for us.

We left on a first name basis with many people on staff and will definitely be back. If you want a relaxing vacation with a friendly staff, delicious food and drink, and as little or much activity as you want, the Jamaica Inn is for you. Many thanks to Eric, Mary, Rupert, Teddy, Kemar and everyone else who made our honeymoon so very special.

  • Liked — beautiful surrondings and kind people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SOPHIE324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

My boyfriend and I just returned from a great stay at Jamaica Inn! It was wonderful and everyone was so nice. Also, the beach was truly awesome -- we felt very little need to leave the inn. It was very romantic and we got engaged there! The staff made us feel so special and helped us celebrate. They went above and beyond the call of duty! I would definitely return and I'd like to thank them for a very fun stay!

  • Liked — the wonderful staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank alpo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,504 reviews
8.7 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
313 reviews
51.2 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing