We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cottage 7 Honeymoon!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
gadogs06
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cottage 7 Honeymoon!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Me and my wife visited Jamaica Inn June 23rd - 30th and could not have had a better experience. We have visited some very nice all inclusive resorts in Mexico and Jamaica Inn topped them all. I don't see how anyone could rate this resort anything less than 5 stars. I'll break this review down into sections for those like me that like things organized.

Resort:
As others have stated this is a beautiful place. Everything is kept clean. They spend more money keeping the resort looking "old" and "traditional" in order to keep with the ambiance of the resort. All rooms are ocean front and all have easy beach access. Our room was a far as possible to the restaurant and other main building and it was not a bad walk at all. I won't go on and on about he resort as others have hit on how beautiful a place this is.

Room:
We were lucky to stay in Cottage 7. This is their newest room. We figured since the resort is more of a traditional style we would book the room that had a more modern touch to get the best of both worlds. This room is unbelievable. You enter the room on the ground floor and immediately are looking out through the 20 ft sliding doors onto your own private infinity pool overlooking the ocean. The room was private with another cottage on one side and the spa on the other both blocked by trees and vegetation. We used our pool everyday and also used the direct ocean access to take late afternoon swims in the ocean right in front of the cottage. Upstairs is a beautifully appointed bedroom overlooking the great view of the ocean. It also has a large bathroom area with double vanity, walk in closet, and indoor and outdoor shower. I used the outdoor shower each day. The passing boats probably got a good laugh. This is by far the best room we have ever stayed in.

Service:
This is what makes this place special. The employees here are unbelievable. We felt as if we were leaving friends behind when we left. Rupert, Teddy, Winston, and Damar down at the beach bar made our vacation even more special. They took care of us the whole time and we loved hearing stories after stories from each of them about their lives and experiences at the resort. Rupert taught us how to play croquet and we played almost everyday with him. The rest of the week he referred to my wife as "partner" because they were partners in croquet. He's such a nice man. Winston was even kind enough to take us out on the town one night to a local club along with Stretch and some other employees. The next morning he called our cottage to make sure we weren't too hungover and asked what he could do to help. Now that's good service. The service at dinner each night was equally great. They saved the corner table overlooking the ocean for us each night without us ever asking for it. One night we wanted to stay in our room as we were full from eating all day and we got a call about 9:15 asking if we were coming to dinner or if we wanted room service. That's pretty special for them to notice that we haven't showed up to dinner and to call and offer up services. The service is what makes me want to come back to this place and see these same employees again.

Food:
The food was great all week. We splurged for the all-inclusive plan since it was our honeymoon and I think it was a good choice as the prices looked like they could add up very quickly. We enjoyed breakfast either in our room or at the restaurant every day and never had anything that was not great. Most days we had lunch on the beach or at the beach bar. They have an all day menu or if you want to order off the lunch menu they will be glad to accommodate you. The Chicken wrap was so good I had to have it a few times. Dinner at the resort is a memorable time. You eat outside (which can be very hot but its Jamaica) while listing to a band playing hits and reggae. Some nights are more relaxed than others but all are wonderful. Each night you have a different menu. All the meals we had were wonderful. The jerked grouper was great and I never order fish anywhere. My wife is vegetarian and she enjoyed every meal as well.

Overall this is a special place that we will never forget. I always say I don't want to go to the same resort twice but I can promise we will be back here one day for another special occasion. Thank you to the staff and Kyle (GM) for making our honeymoon wonderful in all ways. Kyle greeted us everyday with a conversation and made us feel like family which is far and few between and larger resorts. I would highly recommend this place for people wanting to get away and relax without a worry in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms have a ocean view. If you want to splurge get one of the nicer cottages or the white suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gadogs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    110
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
125
795
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Jamaica Inn. We stayed for 14 nights and were in the Blue Cottage (no.35) which is the only cottage that is situated on the beach. It was absolutely fantastic, all we had to do was step out of our front door and there we were standing on the sand. The cottage was cleaned every day and the bed always had two swans sat on it, made out of towels and decorated with flowers.

We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary two days after we arrived and received a complimentary bottle of wine.

We went all inclusive and enjoyed the all-day menu including lazy lunch times on the beach and had a different menu (3 courses) for our evening meal which we ate at the restaurant and listened to a mixture of popular and reggae music sung by either Dalton, who also played bass guitar or Merrick (Weds & Fri). I must give a mention to the other band members, Geoff (drums), Mr Brown (keyboard) and Russell (keyboard).

We found the beach to be the best we have ever been on, not only was the sand very nice but there was enough space between beds to give you the privacy needed. We also took advantage of the free water sports (kayaks, paddle boards, snorkelling) and a complimentary massage at the spa. If you are not too tired after a day’s sunbathing, you could try your luck at a game of Croquet with the resident Croquet champion, Rupert.

It was also my birthday whilst we were there and at the evening meal in the restaurant, all the waiters sang happy birthday to me as they neared our table and I was presented with a cake with candles on it. Dalton, the singer then finished it off by dedicating his favourite song to me. Little gestures like this really did make the holiday special.

All the staff were very friendly and attentive throughout our stay, would just like to mention a few who stood out – Sherline (PA to the general manager), Alvin, Robert and Ryan (managers at breakfast / evening meal), Donald, Kirk and Larkin (breakfast waiters), Dane, Johnson, Melvin and Romayne (evening waiters), Rupert (barman / beach waiter), Winston (barman), Georgia (bar). A special mention to Kemar (barman), who was outstanding. He was the only one who when serving us a drink, left the wrapping on the end of the straw. He also offered us extra hors d’oevres, drinks and napkins before we needed to ask.

The resort management are fully aware of their heritage and also of sustaining their beautiful surroundings. One element of this is their close affinity with Mel Tennant aka “the turtle man” who is working tirelessly to preserve the wild population of turtles that lay their eggs on a beach close to the resort. The phone will ring with a message that a nest is about to hatch, and the resort manager arranges a mini bus trip to meet Mel and experience an incredible hands on (literally!) experience of watching baby turtles hatch and make their way to sea. A trip not to be missed.

Overall, this was a very special resort, with a great attitude to making every day of the holiday special, from the first “welcome home” to the last “you have to go back so that you can come here again”. It had a different feel to it which was a great mix of laid back attentiveness. Don’t expect wall to wall marble and power showers, but instead enjoy the comfortable feel of a resort that continues to mature well and still has a certain aura that was present when Churchill & Monroe, amongst others, enjoyed the same ambience.

Just go there!

Room Tip: Luxury veranda or cottage cause they are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thesparrows17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

It is almost a year since I stayed at the Jamaica Inn and looking at the pictures brings back many fond memories. I spent eleven days in one of the garden rooms and it was a dream come true. For many years I had wanted to stay at that beautiful hotel and it was even more beautiful then I had imagined. It has the prettiest private beach in Jamaica, sheltered by romantic cliffs and surrounded by a tropical garden with palm trees and flowers. The architecture is classical british and has an air of elegance. At the same time the ambiance is very warm and welcoming. And of course the service is impeccable. Most of all I enjoyed the people who work there, their friendliness and caring ways. Looking forward to staying at this exceptional hotel again before the end of this year - I am missing you Jamaica Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagmar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everything about the Jamaica Inn contributes to the wonderful experience you will have if you stay here. It is a boutique style hotel with amazing views, great service and delicious food. I wish I could stay here every year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VA_RunnerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Jamaica Inn is magical. Everything was just so perfect. From the staff to management to ownership we felt pampered. The location was close enough to town for us to walk in daily. We really loved the way time seem to stand still as the staffed performed their daily task like clock work. I wouldn't change a thing and will be returning annually.

T. Kingsland

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TKingsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for the first four days of our honeymoon, in a Veranda Deluxe Suite. We were so pleased that we stayed at the Jamaica Inn, as opposed to one of the high-end chain hotels close by. The hotel has great character, is well maintained and sympathetically modernised (but not too much). The rooms, with most of the living space being outdoors, are lovely.

The staff are effective and polite but also have the Jamaican "yeah mon" laid-backness.

There's a good range of activities on offer but sadly we didn't have the time to take advantage of all of them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

"Welcome Home" is the motto that greets you upon arrival to this beautiful small, quiet resort and it truly becomes your home away from home. The general manager, Kyle, welcomed us when we checked in and regularly touched base with all guests every day.
We stayed in a premier verandah suite in the west wing with its outdoor living room overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Each morning we ordered breakfast to our room and enjoyed feeding the tropical fish from our balcony.
The beach is beautiful with plenty of space for everyone to relax without intruding in each other's space. Servers can bring you lunch right to your lounge chairs if you wish which we took advantage of every day.
Food at this resort was surprisingly excellent with the dinner menus changing every night with a good variety of choices. Service during dinner was exceptionally good. We did find the beach service was inconsistent...some days we were offered drinks from the bar throughout the day and lunch menus while other days the servers were MIA.
The resort offered a must see excursion to visit a nearby beach and meet Turtle Mel, a leader in sea turtle protection, to witness baby sea turtles hatch and to ensure they safely make it to Sea. It was an amazing experience and it was good to see Kyle and the Jamaican Inn team support this cause.
To sum it up, this boutique small resort is perfectly suited for people who just want to unwind in peace and quiet on the beach. It has a charm that you need to experience to understand. Thanks to the Jamaica Inn team for an excellent vacation and special thanks to Shadow the puppy for always putting a smile on our faces.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smrtnz012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
51.3 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Travelbag, Destinology, Holiday Gems and Hotels.com so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing