We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating my Dad's 80th birthday”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I spent 5 lovely days in Jamaica at the Jamaica Inn celebrating my Dad's 80th birthday in April 2014. The hotel is lovely, the beach amazing, the food simply delicious, and the sercie seond to none. I really felt pampered the whole time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Jamaica Inn was an amazing family fun adventure! They have one of the best beaches in Jamaica with beautiful blue water that was just the perfect temperature for swimming. The service was amazing and our favorite waiter was Johnson. He made our children feel so welcome and special. Patrice was our bar server and could not have been nicer to our family. All of the staff made us feel as though we were the only guests at the Inn. The band even let my daughter sing with them each night! It was a special treat. The Inn also has an adorable puppy named Shadow that the kids enjoyed! We stayed in cottage #6. The cottages were air conditioned, comfortable, amazing, and big! There was amazing snorkeling areas right at our beach and the Inn is close to other sites such as the Blue Hole and Dunns River Falls.. Overall we enjoyed this hotel very much and would definitely enjoy coming back again sometime soon! THANK YOU EVERYONE FOR AN AMAZING STAY AT THE JAMACIA INN!

Room Tip: The cottages are more expensive but bigger and provide more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jodiand1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Impeccable customer service. In fact the best I've ever had. If you're looking for a high-energy, party hearty atmosphere - go somewhere else. This is a quiet, classy relaxing, stress antidote in the form of a beautiful, intimate Caribbean beach resort.

For fun you can relax on the beach while Rupert brings you the best Planter's Punch anywhere, or try the great snorkeling right on the premises. Also, you can learn "real" croquet from a former champion (also Rupert). If you find yourself at the beach bar, and you really should, make sure to ask Teddy about the history of the resort - he's been there almost since its inception and has awesome stories.

For the most part the food is outstanding. In fact, I though it was all wonderful with the unexpected exception of the dinner entrees, which, in my experience, were oddly disappointing. I say oddly, because many of the appetizers and salads blew me away, but the entrees did only once - at the Tuesday lawn buffet. Those off of the printed menu, however, left something to be desired. In particular, I was very disappointed in the NY Strip steaks, which were tough and lacked flavour - as did the lamb. In fact, lamb is one of my favorite dishes and the only lamb dish that I've ever had that I wouldn't order a second time was the one at the Inn. It somehow had almost no flavour. I'm still surprised at this, since every other thing I had, breakfast, lunch, dinner, room service, tea - were all top notch. I'm told by my wife, however that her orders entrees for the "catch of the day" were outstanding. I'd like to see the "wow" factor of the entrees match the rest of the cuisine, but it's not something that should discourage anyone from staying here.

BTW, don't miss the fish feeding at breakfast, it's a blast to see what the local sea life does to the leftover toast and breads from the first meal of the day.

Oh, I almost forgot, the new fitness center is outstanding!

Room Tip: When choosing, it's easy to want one on the beach, but they tend to have more sand on the floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamaicaInn, General Manager at Jamaica Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Robert L,

It was wonderful meeting you and the rest of the family. Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with Rupert and Teddy as well as our appetizers and salads. We are very sorry to hear that our entrees were disappointing to you. We were actually experiencing difficulty in accessing the cuts that we are accustomed to on the island but our purchasing manager has informed us that he has found a source that has them in stock. Hopefully next time you will experience the same “wow” factor with your entrée.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our new fitness center as we are always trying to think of ways that we can improve our guest experience but yet keep the same charm and style that you have enjoyed over the years.

Looking forward to welcoming you all home.

Warm regards,

Kyle Mais
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Really beautiful beach. Staff was great and view of sunset from the cottages was the best. All in all one of the best small resorts in Jamaica for a real quiet and relaxing time. A must
visit and clean getaway from all the all-inclusive hotels

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saleem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you are looking for a quiet beach escape with great food, excellent service, and local entertainment every night, this is THE PLACE! Skip the mega all inclusive resorts for this upscale resort that also offers an all inclusive package. The white sand beach is a a few giant steps from your room. Most of the staff at J inn have been there 30 us years and Teddy the best bartender over 50 years! I have been a guest 4 times and will plan to return again. Splurge on the Premier Veranda room, they are
fantastic! 'Jam Inn fan' Mari R

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mpr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Jamaica Inn manages to keep all of the traditions of the past while keeping an eye on the future. Tables are set with the full set of silver cutlery, wait staff are friendly yet formal and meals are a time to slow down and savour each course.
Warm smiles and choruses of "welcome home" greet you each and every time you pass a staff member. Owners and managers are hands on and never fail to walk the beach to ask if all is well, sit down for a cocktail with you or casually chat at the bar.
We loved every minute of this exclusive resort! Perfect for our second honeymoon.
The beach is a small, secluded-from-other-resorts cove of off white sand--the biggest beach in Ochos Rios. The ocean is perfect for wading, swimming and doing water sports. Ask Albert to arrange a boat tour with Little Children to go to Laughing Waters Beach where Dr. No was filmed. It is like a little Dunn's River Falls and far more private!
The pool is warm and perfectly placed beside the bar and ocean.
Planter's Punch is served at 11am so that you can set your clock by it--not that there are any clocks or TVs at Jamaica Inn and we found this to be a pleasant way to relax as our bodies found their own schedule during our two week stay!
The food is very good and we enjoyed having breakfast delivered (for a small fee) to our balcony each morning. The lunch menu is extensive and you are sure to find something. Each evening, the dinner menu changes and we were spoiled for choice! Drinks are fantastic with premium liquors and the house wines were very good. (We chose the all inclusive meal plan. We used the dine-around-option once and went to Miss T's restaurant in town. The locally inspired food was delicious! Also, if you are not on the all inclusive plan, say yes to the beach BBQ on Tuesday evening. You won't be disappointed.)
Upon arrival, we were upgraded to the Cowdray suite on the second floor of the main building. It has a very large bedroom with high ceilings, a walk in closet and a full size bathroom. Our balcony was the largest at the Inn. Our rooms were spotless and staff kept it well stocked.
However, what really makes Jamaica Inn the best resort on the island, is their staff. Say hi to Kitty, Kirk, Georgia, Lachlan, Dane, Robert, Kamar, Alvin, Albert, Teddy, Rupert, Eric and Kyle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cookinguptrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff is amazing. The property is peaceful and quiet. It was the perfect mom/daughter vacation. If you visit and the turtle hatching excursion is available, make sure you attend. We also saw the owner on the property everyday which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank AhkibahK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamaicaInn, General Manager at Jamaica Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your review AhkibahK. We would also like to give our sincerest gratitude to all reviewers that have posted a review of us on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed our property and embraced the peace and quiet and peace of mind that we do try our utmost to offer here. It is wonderful that you were able to witness the amazing act of nature with the Turtle Hatching. Our summers into September are a very special time for us when we are often able to offer this experience. Each and every time is so special for us to see.
Our owners Eric & Peter have great passion for the Inn and our valued clients and we are happy that they make themselves available to chat when they are on property.
Again, thank you all so very much for choosing Jamaica Inn and we look forward to welcoming you home.

All the best,

Kyle Mais
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £264 - £780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing