We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perrrrfect”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 March 2009

What a wonderful hotel. From the owner of the hotel through to the management and staff, everyone was so warm and friendly. They made our holiday so special. All styles of rooms are excellent.

I could not and would not want to fault anything with this hotel.

We did go and have a look at other hotels in the area and this is most definately the best.

If you want vibrant night life this is not the hotel for you. The evenings are quiet. Guests do generally go to bed after dinner eventhough the hotel band are very good and there is an excellent bar service.

I do recommend the all inclusive package, it is very cost effective.

We did go on a few trips around the area and did flavour Jamaica. We found that the locals are very helpful and friendly. The market stall people did not intimiadate you at all, they were keen for you to see they produce, and If you decided not to buy that what fine.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2009

The Jamaica Inn doesn't come cheap but is very classy. Superb private beach - with no hawkers hassling you! - in which we swam every day. The food was superb at every meal and the staff friendly,charming and polite. Nice rooms with balconies or verandas looking out over the sea.
I have one cavil -when we arrived, tired and three hours late due to a flight delay, and having pre- booked a (very nice) car transfer as part of our package , just as soon as we checked in, after the first welcome, the woman on the reception desk immediately challenged us in a not particularly friendly way as to whether we had pre-paid for the car ! I assured her we had but she was very sceptical, and said we should have had vouchers and that she would have to check up ( this was a Sunday so she couldn't do it right then). It kind of put a sour taste to the start of our holiday - this was even before we'd been offered the welcome cocktail,remember! I was really worried we'd be up for extra charges. Luckily there was a computer in the hotel lounge and I was able to e mai l the holiday company I had booked with the next day and they informed the hotel the transfer WAS included. We had spent a LOT of money on this holiday to celebrate a 50th birthday ( we are not rich!) and paid extra for an all inclusive food and drinks deal and I feel it would have been classier for the hotel to query this matter with the holiday firm who dealt with our booking package FIRST rather than than challenge us directly just as soon as we arrived. We never got any apology about this either.
Apart from that we had a lovely time !

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vintagefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Hidden Gem

Extraordinay service
Great beach, food, and staff
Will definitely return

R and D
Boston, Ma

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

I love Jamaica Inn, this is my 2nd trip and I'll definitely be returning. I was there with a friend for just one night to break the journey back to Kingston. This place is pricey but worth it. I only have one complaint - for somewhere with so much understated elegance I cannot understand the manager's decision to accompany dinner with a loud live band playing bad reggae covers. It really hits the wrong note.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Fikoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

We researched resorts in Jamaica using Tripadvisior.com and a travel agent, and were very pleased with our choice of the Jamaica Inn. If you are looking for action, this is not the place. In fact, we only left the resort one time during our week stay, as Ocho Rios left a little to be desired in our eyes.

But if you are looking for relaxation, great service, peace and quiet, a beautiful vista, GREAT food (and we know our food!), and a decent value, this would be a good fit for you. The waitstaff was wonderful and personable. The rooms relaxing and the rooms' verandas exquisite. The couples' beachside massage was a must-do. The beach and its' hammock-for-two was spectacular. We enjoyed using the hotel's Sunfish and various other water activities available.

There seemed to be a group (a "clique, " really), of various other guests staying at the inn at the same time as us who had been to there many times before and were quite chummy with the owner and staff. I suppose, that they are a testament of how wonderful the resort is? Regardless, we enjoyed our visit and would recommend the Jamaica Inn.

Stayed: November 2008
4  Thank sunnyslope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

By far the most spectacular and amazing place I have ever been to. From the superb attention to details of the rooms, the dinning, the beach, the after noon tea, to the warm and kind, and yet respectful of your privacy staff, this resort rates highest on my well experienced travel log.
Whether you want to connect to the loved one you are with, meet the other guests, or just be on your own, this is the place.
We came for a week, and I was not ready to leave when the time came.
It is luxurious and grand yet simple and unpretencious. it has amazing warm and friendly atmosphere and yet, private and secluded.
the food was excellent, the views unbelievable, the private beach a dream come true!
many of the guest return ever year, and now I know why.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank worldd_ttraveler_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

I heartily endorse the glowing reviews of the Jamaica Inn. As another visitor in November, we enjoyed the company of one of the two owners. The location is wonderful, beautiful uncrowded beach with lots of room between guests under thatched umbrellas. The beach was bigger than most at much larger resorts I have visited--Ritz, Four Seasons, etc. The rooms are classic, no frills, with charming verandas and balconies with upholstered furniture. There are no TVs or radios or inroom internet access. But then, why go to such a beautiful location to stay in your room. In addition to the beach, the food was a high point--not low end British food as another guest has written. An admitted foodie, I enjoyed dinner every night, the beach barbeque in particular. As the owner commented to us, the Jamaica Inn is not for everyone. But, if you want a wonderful beach, relaxation, decompression, good food and time to reflect and enjoy other persons' company, this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dcmark74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £266 - £620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing