We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Coming from Cornwall it seemed something of a wheeze to book a weeks break at The Jamaica Inn!! Unfortunately we were unable to get flights into Montego Bay so flew into Kingston. Having been told the journey was only around an hour to Ocho Rios, we found that nearly 2.5 hours later we were getting close!! The hotel had arranged a car and our driver was courteous and well informed - the journey long!

The hotel was not what we were expecting, even though we had studied the website carefully. However, in the warm sunshine of the next morning things looked totally different. This hotel comes with lots of history - many famous people have chosen to stay here and some who cannot be named still do! The hotel has been in the same family for many years and many of the staff have worked there for most of those. Teddy who runs the beach bar is a delight and loves to recount tales of celebrities from days gone by - Churchill, Marilyn Munroe, Errol Flynn and other Hollywood greats! The staff make this hotel the special place it is. You feel far more like a house guest than a paying guest, Mary the GM is around most days to say hi - checking that everything is OK - no detail is overlooked and and an invitation to meet for evening drinks with Mary and her staff on the terrace is a joy.

The position of the hotel itself is superb. Nestled between two promentaries is a beautiful sandy beach shelving gently into the sea. The boats from neighbouring hotels come in close to the shore to show their passengers the renowned Jamaica Inn, the hotel built around a beautifully manicured croquet lawn at the back of the beach. We had a deluxe balcony room which had a lovely terrace that opened out onto the lawns - a great 'outdoor' room in which to take afternoon tea in the shade or a cocktail at night.

We were on a short break so didn't venture out much - only taking a boat trip up the coast to Golden Eye. We passed many of the large group hotels on the way. We saw nothing that would have made us swap the gentle, chilled vibe of Jamaica Inn. Complimentary Planters punch bought to your sunbed mid morning, lunch served under your beach umbrella and cocktails made with fresh fruit to take back to your balcony in the afternoon!

The hotel is not glitzy and shiny, but promises a level of comfort and care that anybody wanting a totally chilled getaway break could not fail to enjoy. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firethorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2009

My wife and I traveled from Oklahoma to the Jamaica inn at the end of July 2009. The grounds are beautiful, the beach is amazing and the staff treated us like family. Everyone went above and beyond to accomodate our every want or need. The rooms are gorgeous. We even spent time with the manager and her adorable dog and one of the owners took time to speak with us about our stay and take a couple of pictures for us before we left. I would highly recommend the Jamaica Inn and we plan to return in the future with friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachLuvnSooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

In today's world of bureaucracy-driven mediocrity and chain-like sameness, it is refreshing to find a unique place of relaxation where tradition and elegance trump all. My husband and I just returned from our tenth anniversary trip, and as selective consumers, we are not easily impressed. However, we were blown away by the Jamaica Inn. From the moment they picked us up at the airport (professional driver, cold drinks, letter from the hotel), it was clear that service is the mantra at this grande dame. The setting is beautiful...the hotel is immaculate...the food is delicious...the cocktails are divine. And the key ingredient to the success of this property is the people. You will be hard pressed to find a staff member who has been there fewer than 10 years. Whether it's your housekeeper Sadie, your bartender Teddy or your croquet "coach" Rupert, they love their jobs and it shows. On the whole, the suites are not large, but they're elegant and comfortable, and the verandahs are the draw anyway. The verandahs serve as extensions of the room (complete with couches and chairs), which helps to enlarge your living space. We started our stay in a balcony suite and ended in a premier verandah suite directly on the water (you could almost touch the water from your verandah), and both were wonderful. However, if you can swing it, go for the premier verandah suite on the water--we fed the tropical fish in the morning and had our own ocean view throughout the day. There are not a lot of activities per se, but you can be active. We took out the kayaks the hotel provided, we snorkeled on the reefs in front of the hotel, we swam and played croquet. We also enjoyed reading on the quiet beach (helped by the library of books you can borrow) where you often are offered complimentary drinks and are free from the "hawkers" selling their wares on other beaches. There is a nice beach bar and an evening-oriented elegant bar by the dining room. There is a small fitness room (one elliptical, one bike, one treadmill plus some free weights) which does the trick but it is quite hot. We chose to walk/run outside of the resort because it was a bit cooler. We did not choose the all-inclusive plan (the suites have a small refrigerator so you can self-cater), but we did enjoy the meals we ate at the Inn. In addition, we enjoyed local restaurants for dinner, especially Toscanini. The managers are on site all of the time and really get to know the guests--not just at the weekly manager's reception. In fact, they already know many of the guests because there are so many repeat visitors. It was amazing to my husband and me to see the camaraderie and loyalty of so many people. This is a close-knit community--perhaps even a family-- where you are welcomed whether this is your first time or were here two months ago (some guests were). We've been to several islands and many resorts around the world, and we enjoy the variety of different experiences. This is the first time we've left a place asking ourselves "when will we return?" The Jamaica Inn makes a lasting impression and thus far is our siren of the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

My husband and I wanted to honeymoon at a special place that would not have major crowds but be a smaller, romantic and unique resort. We found that at the Jamaica Inn. From our arrival where we greeted warmly, to our departure when the General Manager and the owner personally said goodbye, it was a wonderful experience. As other reviews have said, this is a serene and beautiful place with amazing rooms and views, friendly staff and great service. It's a place where you can truly get away from the busy every day routine, have breakfast in your verandah every morning and dine under the stars every night - should you feel like it.
Our goal was to visit a very special -and most importantly- unforgettable place for the start of our lives together. We certainly accomplished that goal. All the people and the beauty of Ocho Rios and the Jamaica Inn were a part of that. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnysrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We specifically chose Jamaica Inn to get married and honeymoon because it advertised excellent service, privacy, serenity and a fabulous location. We quickly found, however, that the website doesn't do justice to the actual experience. Our expectations were continually exceeded on a daily basis. The Premier Verandah Suite facing west over the water offers a priceless view of the Caribbean sunset each night. The food equals any you would find in the finest restaurants in any large city. The service...what can we say? The staff is very attentive and genuine...many came to be friends by the time of our departure. The best of the best, though, was Tina (our Wedding Planner). She attended to every detail and ensured that we truly had a magical experience. Our only job was to get dressed and show up! She literally took care of everything else. Even though we traveled alone for our wedding, Tina and the entire staff celebrated with us and treated us like family. We can't say enough about our experiences. After our wedding, we enjoyed 5 more days of honeymooning. We were sad the day we had to leave and are already planning our next trip. This place isn't for everyone, however. If you want nightlife and lots of activities, people, loud music, partying, etc.; this is NOT your place. If you want top-notch food, service, accomodations and friendly staff and guests. then book your stay now.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsBritt09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Jamaica Innfor 1 week to celebratte our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel is truly what they advertise "a small grand hotel". From the moment we arrived we felt truly special. Mary the general manager is unbelievable. We were treated as if we were old friends. The wait staff are all fantastic. I can't name them all, but Alvin, Kamar, Angie, Roshan and the rest, were always there to help. Teddy and his jokes are a real treat and Rupert knew what we liked and when to deliver it. This entire team works like a family.
The room was unbelievable. Our room was just like the picture on the online site. Being able to step out right onto the sand to our very own palapa was like living a dream. It was just what we wanted. Peace and quiet with nothing but the water, a book and a drink in our hands!
The restaurant was top notch. THe food was super fresh and prepared beautifully. When we were there the head chef had just left and the sous chef stepped in. Kudos to him, the food was delicious. We were never disappointed. On our last night there, Alvin was even able to get the curried goat ,which was not on the menu, for my husband. He couldn't have been happier.
The sunsets, the sand, the people....made it the best vacation ever. We will be back....
This place is truly a gem....and shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We just got back from an amazing 8 day trip. everything about the Jamaica Inn is top of the line. When we first arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome from Richard, Mary and even her awesome dog in addition to being informed we were upgraded to an amazing room just a few steps from the beach. Our days were spent with top shelf drinks made by the likes of the legends known as Teddy and Rupert and brought to us by an extremely nice waitress named Georgia who started each day by saying "no rum, no fun!". We started off each day with a delicious breakfast with an equally amazing view from our room. Lunch was served at our lounge chairs on the beach which we washed down with a great planters punch or pina colada. The dinners were extremely intimate starting with drinks and hor'devers on the terrace to the options of live music and gourment food under the stars or a candlelight dinner in our room. The weather was perfect and since it was off season we had almost the entire beach and sea to ourselves. one word of advice is to pack alot of sun screen as in the words of andrew our driver "Jamaican sun will crack yo skin" and no worries if it does because the onsite spa will strip you and scrub you down with a pina colada wash and aloe bath. the spa also is set with the most amazing view of the sea and the sounds of the waves breaking beneath you is extremely calming. Even though our 8 days went extremely fast in retrospect the Jamaica inn has a way of making time stand still during your stay. Everything about this place was wonderful and we highly recommend this place if you are considering a trip to Jamaica. Thank you to Mary and her wonderful stay for making this a vacation we will never forget.

ilan and Jen

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £267 - £784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing