We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazining/Breathtaking/Oasis/Perfect/Romantic/One Of A Kind!!!”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazining/Breathtaking/Oasis/Perfect/Romantic/One Of A Kind!!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2010

After spending the first half of our vacation at a large all-inclusive we wanted the remainder of our trip to be nothing but laying on the beach under the sun. The Jamaica Inn offered that and much much more. The positive reviews on Tripadvisor and other sites are 100% true about this place. The facilities and grounds in itself are amazing and brings back the charm of traveling and staying at a top-notch hotel from days long past.
Every-room overlooks the private beach with a its own balcony or terrace. The furnishing are top grade with beautiful wood furniture and a spacious bathroom and walk in closet. There is nothing more romantic than having a bottle of wine with your dinner while the sun sets on your terrace overlooking the blue warm ocean!
The beach in itself is worth the trip. We have traveled to many places in the Carribean and this is by far the nicest beach we have been to. The sand is white, the water is shallow warm and blue. You can grab a pair of snorkles and swim off to the nearby reef and see some beautiful fishes...And it is literaly only fifty feet from the Beach-bar! We saw more fish there than we did renting a guide to take us. Toney, the local fisherman took us out on his boat for some evening fishing one day. Fifteen minutes into our excursion I caught a twenty pound Kingfish and the chef was kind enough to cook the fish for me for dinner. Nothing better than eating something you caught two hours before...definetly one of the highlights of the trip for me. Thanks Toney!
Like previously stated, the hotel is top notch, the beach amazing and meals were spectacular. But what sets this place apart is the staff and management at the Jamaica Inn. This is a family business and has been so since the days of Marily Monroe and Hemingway. Peter and his brother run the Inn now with the help of Mary. We had the pleasure of meeting both Peter and Mary during our stay. That is a common theme there, the staff are exceptionally helpful and seem to know who everyone is that is staying with them....always a smiling face will be my lasting impression of the staff. And of course Teddy the legendary mixologist at the BeachBar for over fifty-two years! Teddy is an encyclopedia, storyteller and the maker of one of the best piña colada I have ever drank....he Man has stayed with the same employer and spent over a half century doing one job...you can trust him with your drink! YouTube him - the Man is not only a Jamaica Inn institution but a Jamaican institution.
With all this said, please keep in-mind that the Inn can be expensive and not for everyone. But for the price, you are staying at one of the nicest hotel in the Carribean, on one of the best beaches, and spectacular food. Also, if you are expecting a place where MTV will host their next springbreak party this is not the place for you. The clientele at the Inn are repeated customers who want a low-key place to enjoy a Red Stripe or two under the sun! The Inn will always have a special place in my heart since it was on their terrace a few nights ago under the beautiful sky overlooking the ocean that I proposed to my fiancé. Thank everyone for your hospitality at the Inn, as we are planning our next trip back already!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chau81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    118
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
139
849
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We transferred to Jamaica Inn from Strawberry Hill, Kingston (also highly recommended). The first glimpse of the sea through the open plan reception area was magical. As we checked in the receptionist knew where we'd just come from and within seconds we were also greeted by Peter, the owner. Only a few moments later, Mary, the manager came up to introduce herself and I & I the resident spaniel. A warm and personal introduction to the ambience that pervades this hotel. It is charming, elegant,intimate and friendly. That personal touch continued throughout our stay.

Nothing disappointed. The rooms are wonderfully relaxing with their views and proximity to the beach and sea. The food is varied and classy. The beach and sea are paradise and uncrowded and free from the hassles of a public area. The staff an service are impeccable. Guests are encouraged to mingle as if at a country house party but without feeling under any untoward pressure.

We took a boat trip to the falls with Tony and Marvin and were treated as VIPs, being guided up personally unlike all other groups who were in a chain of 20 or more. We hadn't asked for this and so it was clearly down to where we had come from or who had brought us.

Clearly many guests were regulars which added to the overall atmosphere of relaxed bonhomie.

We can't wait to go back. Whilst there's always an attraction in trying somewhere new the fact that with Jamaica Inn you know how beautiful it will be, how unspoilt the beach, how well you'll be treated, makes an irresistable call.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PapaBirdWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I am writing this review on our last day of our 10 day stay at the Jamaica Inn with my partner. The trip was a birthday gift to me from my other half and from the moment it was booked in 2009 I have waited with great anticipation as to what the Jamaica Inn would be like. It was our first ever stay in Jamaica only having been here for a day trip off a Celebrity Cruise back in 2006. Peter, my other half read about the Inn in a Sunday Times review piece and knowing I love the luxury of boutique hotels thought he would treat me in great style to a stay here. Thanks to the Volcanic Ash incident our first attempt to get here was aborted but thanks to Caribtours (our tour operator) and staff at the Jamaica Inn we were able to travel the following week which was greatly appreciated given the circumstances

We arrived as weary travellers on 24 April and here we now are on the 3 May, rejueventated, rested, totally pampered and very grateful to the whole ambience of the Jamaica Inn which has made our stay so memorable. Our room No 30 is a superior balcony suite and when we awoke on the Sunday after arriving in the evening we opened the balcony doors to enjoy the most fabulous vista of the idyllic beach and blue shades of the carribean right on the doorstep. Everyday we have taken in this view of the private beach, which is never crowded, there is so much space and the lovely sunbeds, beach towels in abundance...., sea water sports, beach bar, great bar and beach staff mean you want for nothing when you are there. The ocean just invites you in for regular refreshing dips and although a small, but adequate fresh water pool is available just behind the beach, the sea swimming in the safe secluded sandy bay is the best I've experienced.....it even beats my memories of Mauritius, Barbados and Cayman Islands where we have enjoyed similar opportunities.

Our suite although not one of the biggest or luxurious certainly lives up to the 'welcome home' ethos the hotel creates every part of your stay - we viewed all the other options of rooms yesterday (all have fab sea views), from suites to private cottages (all possibles for a return stay which is definitely the way we are thinking at the present time), but even when Mary - the very attentive and professional General Manager offered to upgrade us to try the luxurious Cowdray suite we realised the location and facilities offered in room 30 were all we wanted. The balcony has a luxurious sofa to lounge on in the afternoons, we have enjoyed breakfast on our terrace and the fridge has been stocked with our favourite drinks and we have grown to love the familiar greeting and daily chat with the lovely housekeeping staff who have looked after our room so well, so moving would have taken us away from that...... The white and blue decor complemented by the dark antique furniture with the fresh flowers, candles and luxury towels make this a real haven. i loved the dressing room facility and although the bathroom is a little dated (however all the other rooms we viewed had newly refurbished bathrooms so our guess is this is likely for our room eventually) - it was fabulously clean and everything accommodated for. The only suggestion I would make is possibly the fitting of a better hairdryer which can be used away from the bathroom and this is only personal as I have long hair which takes a while to dry and therefore means the other half cannot have his time in the bathroom without me?

I dont feel I have enough time to really give this review of the Jamaica Inn justice really except to say that if you value high level customer service, that lovely feeling of being part of a small community (some guests have been repeat visitors for many years and some of the staff such as Teddy & Donald worked here for nearly 40 years!!) and want to chill out, rest and enjoy paradise this is the place for you. I loved the fact the building is steeped in history (Marilyn Monroe has stayed here and Noel Coward often used to frequent the bar to name a few!) and has a wonderful elegance, antique and colonial feel. If you want all mod cons, purpose built facilities then maybe this is not the place for you, but I would find it hard to understand anyone who fails to have a wonderful time here.

We have enjoyed the spa facilities, a sunset massage for two overlooking the ocean - fantastic...... we especially loved the boat trip with Tony & Marvin from www.sunshinewatersport.com who are the hotels preferred supplier in this area - they did a personal trip for us to Dunns River Falls, Laughing Waters and took us to some snorkelling spots - looking after us every step of the way, making sure we got ahead of the cruise ship customers who take over Dunns River falls when a ship is into port - Tony basically is a 'man in the know' and having just completed our first every fishing trip with him this morning (he motivated us to get up at 6am!) where we caught 4 large tuna fish, one of which the hotel is cooking for us tonight - we would certainly recommend his services.

Another highlight of our stay was our garden tour with Mr Henry the head gardener - he personally took us around the lovely gardens and thanks to his lovely presentation of the gardens made us really appreciate the beauty of this tropical island plus all the effort that goes into the fine landscaped lawns of the Jamaica Inn.

Afternoon tea is served daily on the terrace of the Inn, and you can even have it served in your room for a $5 charge - we did this on more than one ocassion, watching the ocean and enjoying our books. Tuesday Evening is the night your are invited to a welcome drinks party on the lawn and Mary and her team make you feel most welcome... We particularly enjoyed chatting with Charlene (Mary's assistant) and Nicole (Marketing Manager) who recommended things we should do, talked about life in Jamaica and their enjoyment at working for the Jamaica Inn.

It is not often you meet the owners of a hotel, but Peter Morrow one of the co-owners came and introduced himself early on and he is often seen mingling and chatting with guests around the Inn. Mary (and her sidekick 'I&I' a beautiful impeccably behaved black spaniel) are great hosts and nothing seems too much trouble and it is clear that Mary motivates her team well to ensure that the customer journey whether you are a loyal convert of the place of a first timer here, you are given the same warm smiles and levels of service.

i know some people will say that well you pay for luxury - but yes this is luxury with a difference, service, smiles and chat all seem so genuine and it is hard to describe how nice it feels to be part of a place that welcomes you to that extent. I could keep rambling on, but special thanks to all the staff who made our stay here so memorable, especially, Smurf on the beach, Johnson, Alvin & Chin at breakfast, Teddy at the beach bar (cocktails recommended), Patience at afternoon Tea, and Georgia with the lovely fruit/rum punches at 11.30 - need I say more??? Can't wait to plan the next trip....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Son21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armonk, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

I just had to write and let you know that our recent visit to Jamaica Inn
was truly memorable.
Mary philips ( the manager for the last 9 years) and the staff (and owners Eric and Peter Morrow) are to be congratulated on maintaining the incredible style that has been evident on each of the 10 times we have visited since 1988.
Ms Philips' personal responsiveness to several requests was most appreciated.
The food service was without doubt the best it has ever been and the
fact that one could order a la carte was much more user friendly
especially with changing eating habits these days.
Of course we all miss the amazing buffet lunches of yesteryear but my
nutritionist is very happy!!!
I also appreciated the fact that the piano was recently tuned!!
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rheath9142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Years ago, while sitting in a jacuzzi in snowy Vermont, I heard some people talking about the Jamaica Inn. Their description of the hotel piqued my interest, and I've wanted to visit ever since.

I finally got my chance last month, and it definitely lived up to my expectations. The Jamaica Inn is a lush, beautiful and very classy place -- a perfect little gem that's great for rest and relaxation.

The setting, grounds and gardens are lovely (and the hotel's blue color quite unique); and the rooms are charming and comfortable. The outdoor terrace attached to our room was a particular treat. With its couch, reading lamps and large sitting area it had the feel of an outdoor living room. I was perfectly content to spend hours there, just hanging out, relaxing and taking in the tropical view. (Note that all the rooms have these large terraces, in one form or another.)

I would also add that the service at the hotel was impeccable -- the best I've ever experienced anywhere. Most of the staff have been with the hotel for years (always a good sign). Their love for the place really came through and they were always extremely helpful and gracious -- without being obsequious or obtrusive.

The Jamaica Inn is infinitely nicer than the gargantuan all-inclusives one sees on the island (or the Couples San Souci down the road, where the management rudely declined our request to take a walk around their grounds). As others have noted, it's got old fashioned charm; however it's the kind of place that will never go out of style, because its beauty and ambiance are classic.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bequia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Jamaica Inn has old school charm that maintains it's original personality from the 1950s. Each room is private, spacious and has postcard-like views from your terrace. You won't find an unhappy customer here, mostly because the clientele has been returning for 20+ years. The owner, Eric, was friendly and intriguing and Mary, the Manager, was in a whole other league. Mary went out of her way to invite us to events (a local polo match) outside of the resort, introduce us to other guests and give us insider info on where to eat and explore. The staff was truly exceptional. Toney, our boat Captain, brought us to local beaches, waterfalls and knows pretty much everything about Ocho Rios. He can be (and should be) hired from any of the hotels in the area (http://sunshinewatersport.com).

If you are looking for R&R, gorgeous pristine beaches (my first requirement), a fabulous spa and to get the feeling of old-world charm in a hotel, this is it!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsandsurf83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

The Jamaica Inn delivered on everything promised in the brochure, and had a couple of additional pleasant surprises. An ideal spot for anyone looking for privacy, and comfort. The hotel's staff and management paid close personal attention to us and made us feel very special, which I appreciated. This hotel is located very close to the cruise ship port town of Ocho Rios, but we never left the hotel as we were looking for relaxation and a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,528 reviews
53.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing