We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL FABULOUS”
Review of Jamaica Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamaica Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“STILL FABULOUS”
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Having just read a review of the hotel saying it was not worth it and generally criticising almost everything I had to post my review. My husband and I had out third holiday here in December and can't believe how anyone could find fault. It is truly SUPERB, from the moment you arrive till you drag yourself away. We so look forward to returning to this idyllic place where nothing is too much trouble to the fantastic staff. Please don't change a thing here, it's perfect as it is.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ayeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    118
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
141
860
42
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Complete escapism so relaxing. Incredible beach just steps from your room. Some of the best staff I have encountered on my extensive travels. As a vegetarian was delighted to see a different vegetarian option on the daily evening menu. If you can drag yourselves off the beach then you are perfectly placed to do some great activities nearby. Would recommend this gem to anyone in need of a recharge.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alinic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

As other reviewers have mentioned, the Jamaica Inn is certainly not everyone's cup of tea. However, if you are looking for a luxurious, tropical retreat where you can forget the stress of everyday life, it is nearly impossible to top the Jamaica Inn.

From the moment you arrive after the 1 hour drive from Montego Bay, you are greeted with an amazingly friendly and conscientious staff. Casual luxury is the best way to describe the Jamaica Inn...you feel immediately at ease, yet also appreciate all the special touches with the beautifully manicured grounds and immaculate rooms. I stayed in a Balcony Suite and, let me tell you, as soon as you see the balcony, you are going to want to live on it for your whole stay. Every room has an amazing view of the beach, so you really cannot go wrong. Plus, the place is not one of those gigantic resorts, so you never feel too far away.

Once you've settled in, time seems to disappear, partly due to the welcome lack of televisions and clocks. I mean, you are on vacation to relax, right? The freedom to do whatever you want whenever you want is a bit overwhelming at first, but give yourself a day to adjust. When one of your biggest decisions of the day is whether to read on the balcony or go to the beach and sit under a palm tree, you know you are close to paradise.

The food is wonderful. I didn't go for the all-inclusive plan and, unless you plan to eat and drink A LOT, I don't think it's necessary. Breakfast is served in a wonderful patio area that sits right over the ocean and the staff will remember your preferences after your first meal with them. Dinner was equally impressive and held outside on another patio with a live band. The menu is on par with a fine dining restaurant in any city...plenty of variety and lots of local ingredients.

The beach is picture-perfect. As soon as you see it, you will understand why the locals regard it as one of the best on the whole island. Soft sand that is manicured daily, uncluttered lounge chairs under palm-tree umbrellas and wonderfully attentive staff make your time on the beach unforgettable.

Leaving the Jamaica Inn was the worst part of my stay, but, by that time, all the staff knew my name and personally invited me back. The Manager, Mary Phillips, is a kind, welcoming person that you are sure to see when you check-in and when you leave. She is the epitome of a perfect manager...engaging with guests and personally checking on the grounds and service.

The Jamaica Inn will not disappoint for a relaxing retreat. If you are looking for a ton of activities on-site or lots of people, then please look elsewhere and stay at one of the large resorts in Montego Bay or Rose Hall. The Jamaica Inn is a special place and the guests that have been there and understand it will surely want to keep it that way.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tigerm208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomhogfan
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

What a spectacular trip my wife and I took to Jamaica. Mandy always dreamed of going to Jamaica and touring Dunn's River Falls (dare I call it a bucket list item?). So it was exciting to reveal the honeymoon plans.

I spent many hours on this very site researching different Carribean resorts and narrowed it to Jamaican resorts. The recommendations I received from friends/family/and travel agents were to Sandals or Couples resorts. But, I was set on the Jamaica Inn after reading the rave reviews from guest after guest.

We had a good flight to Montego Bay and was greeted by Michael, our driver. He was very knowledgeable and courteous. He was also the first person we heard say "Yeah, mon"! He offered us complimentary beverages on the way to the resort and told us a bit about life in Jamaica.

When we made it to the Inn, the whole staff was friendly and accommodating. We ran into our only problem right at the onset. We had requested through our agent to be put in Premier Varandah Suite, beachside (rooms 41-48). Instead, we were put into the ocean side Suite 20. After a call to the front desk, we were promptly moved to the room of our request where we remained our entire stay. Miriam, the manager, was very sweet and apologized for the mixup.

The rooms were more than satisfactory. The bed was comfortable and the verandah was simply marvelous. Everyday the housekeeper would fill our water jug with ice water. She would also replace the water pan used to get sand of our feet. A folded swan towel was on the bed each day and turndown service was done while we were dining. The neighbors at time got a little loud, but usually quieted down in the late evenings. Sleep wasn't a problem, at least.

The wi-fi internet was hit/miss for both of us. We were accessing via our smart phones, but contstantly had problems out where our rooms were located.

We did have issues with controlling water temperature to the bath. Even though maintenance were twice sent to work on it, it seemed no matter where we had the temperature set, it was either way too hot or way too cold. We learned to deal with it and figured if that was the worst problem, we'd be doing great.

It was cloudy for a good part of our stay, unfortunately. But we did get enough sun on the sunny days to get a nice tan/burn going. The beach is amazing. HUGE compared to other, larger resorts nearby. Every morning the workers would clean up all that washed ashore (except shells) and rake the beach to smooth out prints. Smurf and Mike were the main lifeguards we enteracted with. Very cool folks. They were never crowded and we always got to sit out in the chairs right in front of our rooms. Late morning we got a complimentary Planter's punch or fruit punch. The Planter's "punch" is aptly named as the rum is a'plenty in them!

The dining was 5* all the way. I gained 10 pounds in the week we stayed there, no lie. Winston and Johnson did a great job as waiters. The Tuesday night buffet on the beach was my favorite meal of them all. The Saturday night lobster meal was Mandy's favorite. We ate all our breakfasts and most of our lunches there, as well. The corner table for breakfast/lunch presents a spectacular view of the sea and seaside, especially on sunny days where the water is turquois. It was enjoyable watching the staff toss uneaten rolls in the sea for the fish to eat. The reggae band when everyone was there was top notch. They played plenty of American music, too. The lead singer was quite talented with range of styles, the drummer played very complex rhythms with ease, and the bass player was smooth as silk walking up and down the bass.

The boat trip to Dunn's River Falls was wonderful, though the seas were a bit choppy that day. The Skipper (Tony) and Gilligan (Marvin) were fun to ride with. It felt special for us to come up seaside whereas the other resorts get bused in. We had a wonderful climb up the falls and the guys were waiting for us back at the bottom.

The KiYara spa was excellent. We upgraded to the moonlight couples massage. 75 minutes of pure heaven! Well, except for my gaffe when I slipped on the steps and broke my glass of champagne and bruised my arm (it had just rained)! The crashing waves below the massage room was a perfect touch to an already wonderful experience. I recommend it to anyone!

We got to meet the infamous Teddy, who has been the bartender there for 52 years! His son (waiter) has worked there for 39 years, too.

If you ever need to go anywhere or want to do anything? Just give the front desk a call and they will hook up a driver to take you.

RECOMMEND:
Boat tour to Dunn's River Falls
Dolphin Cove Experience
Margaritaville for food and shopping
moonlight couples massage
have at least one candelight dinner on your verandah
have at least one lunch on the beach
order at least one Dirty Banana drink

Be sure to keep plenty of single dollars for tips outside of the Inn. Baggage handlers will carry your bags 50 feet and ask for "respect" (tip). Only gave a dollar a bag. Also be careful when away from resort. We got asked to buy drugs numerous times. Sales people and beggars can be particularly pesky too.

I hope one day we can return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomhogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We went to the Jamaica Inn to celebrate Christmas and our 30th birthdays and loved every minute of it!!! Everything was amazing. When we asked for water and red stripe in our room, it came within 10 minutes!! The staff is beyond attentive to your wants. The food is amazing! I would go here if you simply want to relax and enjoy good food, nice people and beautiful scenery. It's a very romantic place at night with the band playing and you can dance under the stars. Also, do the moonlight massage if you can. It's such a unique experience and we loved every minute of it- the spa is amazing!!! The beach is big so you don't feel crowded with other people. Teddy- the beach bartender is awesome! He will make sure you are well taken care of. We stayed in one of the Premier Veranda Rooms and the water literally came up to the balcony- we watched the sunset in our room every night and listened to the waves as we went to sleep. We are already looking forward to our next trip back!!!!

I would say the only downside is the workout room if you are a fitness buff- it definitely needs some updating but you don't really go on vacation to hit the gym.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank beachlady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Mary Phillips is a gifted manager. The staff - everyone of them - were intent on making sure we were happy and satisfied. The groundskeepers, barmen, waitstaff, cleaning crew, drivers, beach/pool staff... everyone greeted us with a smile, a wave and a cheery hello.
This is a place to re-group and relax. There is no pressure to do anything, but there is plenty to do if you are so inclined. They will arrange dive boats, fishing trips and other excursions. Or, they will just leave you to the beach or your spacious verandah where lovely rum punches are offered just before lunch. The rooms are all facing the water with gorgeous views of the grounds. The beach and the lawns are meticulously kept and the privacy of the Inn is complete. It felt like we were at a very special hideaway.
And the spa! Second to none! Be sure to have a holistic massage in the treehouse. You won't soon forget the feeling of COMPLETE relaxation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

This was our third trip to the Jamaica Inn and each time it gets better and better. From the second we got off the plane until the day we left, we enjoyed paradise at its best. The staff is fantastic, our cottage was incredible with views that make National Geographic's pictures look dull and boring. The food is right up there with any 5 star restaurant we have ever been to. If you are looking to get away and enjoy a QUIET and relaxing vacation, the Jamaica Inn is the only place we would recommend. We have done extensive traveling and have decided that at this point in our lives, it makes no sense to try any place else. This is the paradise we have always been looking for. We are looking forward to going back within the next 6 months. Thank you Jamaica Inn for making our vacation as enjoyable as ever!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
84.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
61.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
8.7 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,548 reviews
53.1 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
57.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Property: Jamaica Inn
Address: Main St, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Green Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jamaica Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1950, Jamaica Inn has consistently been ranked as one of the top resort hotels in the Caribbean. Jamaica Inn is a small, elegantly timeless resort located in beautiful Ocho Rios, Jamaica. With just 52 suites spread over 8 acres, there are sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea from every suite. This property boasts a 700-foot premier private beach, which is often considered to be the one of the best in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel Ocho Rios
Jamaica Ocho Rios
Jamaica Inn Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing