We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
108
115
28
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
115
28
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalmond treebreakfast was includedswinging barincluded in the room raterooms are cleanjamaican breakfastocean viewclose to townport antonioocho rios townackee and saltfishour honeymoonweddingreefgourmetbartender
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Just got back from my stay at Hisbiscus Lodge and I loved it there, will def go back! My dates were from 30th April 2011 till 14th May 2011.

I'm 34 years old and my girl friend (not in a gay way, lol) that I went with was 30 years old. We both like to party so I was a little worried after seeing so many romantic reviews but it was a fantastic hotel.
It's located on Main Street and very close to lots of restarants, shops, bars and Ocho Rios market, although Main Street is pretty busy and hectic most of the time, you immediately relax once you step back into the Hibiscus Lodge grounds! The gardens are truly stunning, I can see why so many people get married there! Amnesia Nightclub is 5 mins walk away and if you wants to go to other clubs like Oceans 11, Margaritaville and Baywatch you can get a cab from Main Street for $100 JA dollars which is like 70p!!!! :-)

The rooms are clean and decent size, I would say a good standard 3.5 star hotel, the grounds are more like a 4 star though. Our room had a shower and no bath, not really a prob for me but i know they do have rooms with baths so maybe just request it when your booking if you really need it. Rooms also have TV and cable, full air con and a ceiling fan.
There is security on the front gate at all times and all they guys there are lovely! Will miss ya Dave!
They also have a lovely pool, jacuzzi and tennis courts.
Now for the breakfast in the restuarant, what can I say, ackee, saltfish with jonny cakes is just amazing, Ioved breakfast and the staff are great especially Renee, Chevez, Jimmy and Andre! They also serve lunch and dinner there but I ate out during the day, if it was anything like their breakfast it will be great!

if you have any additional requirements, just speak to reception, they will always do their best to get you whatever you need!

Just want to say a massive thanks to Dave, Steve, Mr Dixon, Tony, Bobo the parrot, Renee, Chevez, Andre, Jimmy and a special thanks to Tony for sorting out my transfer to the airport on my last day! Sorry for any names I missed!

LOVE YOU ALL,WILL BE BACK SOON!

Samantha. P. xxx

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, lovely sea views!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SamanthaSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The Hibiscus Lodge turned out to be a great choice of hotel whilst staying in Ocho Rios. It's set in beautifully landscaped gardens with winding paths and meandering streams. The first impression from arriving was that perhaps the building facia was in need of updating. But once you walk about the grounds we found that it was part of the character of this lodge style retreat.

It must be said that the staff were all very friendly, helpful & polite from the front desk to the cleaners to the meal servers. In fact it was the meal servers that made breakfast a particular treat each morning. It was a well cooked and varied Jamaican menu hand served silver service style. To top it off the breakfast room has a great sea view to take in too, something which we never tired of each day.

There are 2 choices of rooms available. Pool may be okay. But if it's available go for the sea view. We had an uninterrupted view overlooking the sea and an immediately in front of a coral reef vantage point. The room was a good size with bath, shower, air con and cable TV. The best part was the floor to ceiling full glass window & sliming doors looking out to sea & horizon. This can be taken in by a full length balcony with chairs & table in relaxing fashion.

Location wise, Hibiscus Lodge is located at the eastern most point of the town. There are plus and minus points to this. Firstly there is a beach a short 5 minute walk further east. It's small and is good of you want to get away from the usually large & busy beaches. You can still hire a jetski from there also. The hotels location means that you get to explore more of the town and not just the commercialised end. So you experience more of what Och Rios has to offer. The whole town is small anyway, so you can quite happily walk it's length & take it all in on foot. Or you can order a cab if that's more convenient. Staying in a more central hotel would mean you probably won't see all that the real town has to offer esp if you're staying in an All-Inc hotel.

All in all the Hibiscus lodge was a happy surprise a excellent value for money and great & helpful customer service. It even has a private tennis court with an optional instructor on hand. The rooms were clean and had all that you need for a pleasant and comfortable stay.

Tips: do check out the Jerk Centre for the very best jerk chicken and the Dunns River Falls. Margaritaville is great for a drink and Island Jerk is the best fast food chain in Jamaica. Look out fir the local favourite Juicy Patties too.
The bar was cool, if a little quiet, but no complaints. You get to sit in swinging chairs and take in a delightful open air sea view.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chucky-theTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I had my wedding at the Hibiscus Lodge Hotel, it was so beauitful, with the help of the staff, my day when well. special thank to Marlene and her crew.
Mr. and Mrs Saunchez

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank merlene_t_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Our family returned to the Hibiscus after a 8 year hiatus, and we were thrilled that the Hibiscus was just as we remembered. The grounds are immaculately kept, the staff is like family, and the food was fabulous! The security gate was new, and would help new travelers feel safe. Donald greeted us with a smile and gracious hospitality each time we exited or entered the grounds. The morning breakfast (either American or Jamaican)was cooked to order, and the baked-fresh pastries were still warm each morning! Mmmmmm good. If you are visiting Jamaica for the first time, don't buy into the all-inclusive's gimmicks to scare you to stay in your resort. The Hibiscus is right off the main road, but once you enter the grounds, you will feel like you've entered the Garden of Eden. The rooms are air-conditioned with ceiling fans, but we never once used the air even though the temps were in the mid to high 80s. The ceiling fan kept the room well ventilated and the front balcony always captured the sea breeze. If you are looking for a quiet, simple and relaxed vacation, and a placewhere the staff treat you like family, check out the Hibiscus.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TDG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We didn't stay here but had breakfast here every morning....the staff were most helpful and kind and the breakfast was delicious with stunning views. We were in search of a breakfast just as good but wasn't able to find it elsewhere.
If we were return to Ocho Rios, we're definitely staying here!!!

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank missparaminuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews