We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I've been coming here since 1990. I've always enjoyed the Hibiscus Lodge!

I've eaten here dozens of times over the years and the food is always good. The ambiance is lovely, and I've even been in a wedding here.

The Hibiscus Lodge is a real treasure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Jacqui W

My Fiance and I visited the Hibiscus Lodge Hotel for a three nights stay during his vocation to the Island. We really would have preferred an all-inclusive at the time we were booking but had to opt for something else. We were not dissappointed. The Lodge was absolutely gorgeous.

The scenery was breath-taking from the front to the back. The staffs were friendly and nice from the front desk to the life-guards. The food was to die for and the kitchen staff was even lovelier. We really didn't miss the all-inclusive. It allows us to enjoy the walks on Main Street up to the square.

The rate is extremely affordable for such comfort.
We really look forward to coming back again. The best little hotel in Ocho Rios

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mellissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I just got back from a few days at the Hibiscus Lodge. I had stayed there about twenty years ago and wondered how it would now measure up. It was great. Rooms 14 & 15 are perched on the cliff with spacious adjoining verandahs. It is worth the extra to stay in the cliffside rooms. The full breakfast that was included in the room rate was delicious and extensive. It was hard to leave.

The only negative is that the once beautiful coral reef has seriously deteriorated. While I saw many fish while snorkeling, there were very few of the beauiful corals that I recall from years past.

I didn't have a hard time finding it. Just go to the city center and go to the east. You'll first see a sign for the Bar with swings. (They are fun, though tricky if you've had too much rum. )

Room Tip: Rooms 14 & 15 and other cliffside rooms are worth the extra expense and have huge verandahs over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank georgiajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

While visiting my partners family in Jamaica we decided to take a few days for ourselves in Ocho Rios. We spent a lot of time looking for a decent place to stay because most of the hotels in the area are large "all inclusive" resorts which charge around $400 a night which we were not interested in paying. We discovered Hibiscus on here and after reading a few of the reviews we decided to take a chance and book and I must say I'm so glad we did.

I've seen some people on here say that it's difficult to find but this is far from the truth, it's actually just off the main town centre road but luckily at the quiet end. The grounds themselves are beautiful and well kept and we spent a few of the mornings wondering around taking in the lovely flowers. The grounds are only second however to the stunning sea views. Hibiscus is most happily situated right on a small cliff and most parts of the hotel benefit from some gorgeous sea views. The hotel itself is made up of about 4 main buildings, and we stayed in a sea view room which was simply decorated but clean and practical for our needs. Do not expect any frills, but everything you need for a pleasant trip is provided (i.e. towels and extra sheets). We had a fabulous view and for us that was the main highlight. Yes you will get bitten, but hey...you're in the tropics GET OVER IT!

There is a great pool if you don't fancy a trip to the beach and the hotel offers you snorkeling facilities for a small fee which we made use of, better still you can access the sea from the hotel as they have a lovely jetty which you can hang out on or swim or snorkel. They also have a great tennis court and offer lessons at a price.

The service at Hibiscus is also a highlight. The staff are low key, in that they don't interfere or bother you, but if you need assistance they will do whatever they can to help you. We had an issue with our balcony door and we told them after we checked in and it was sorted the very next day. Breakfast at Hibiscus was also a highlight with wonderful traditional Jamaican fare which is accessible to all - we highly recommend the escovitch fish!

All in all fantastic value for a wonderful location and a more than comfortable stay. Ocho Rios itself is an expensive resort town but at least at Hibiscus your money is well spent!

Room Tip: Always try and get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsJBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very good love this hotel and well be coming back in may for a few night can't wait to come and talk with the parrot and just enjoy nature in all it's glory.

Stayed: July 2011
5  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

After spending 7 days in February 2012, we just did not want to leave. This is the Jamaica we love. Excellent rooms overlooking the Caribbean, an upbeat caring staff, one of the best restaurants in Jamaica and authentic Jamaican breakfasts right off the menu included. All at shockingly reasonable prices. Did we mention the meticulously clean rooms and 'botanical garden grade' quality of the on-site gardens? We'll be back many times in the future.
Don and Glynis

Room Tip: Better views from the second floors of the poolside rooms. First floor rooms more condusive to soci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Hibiscus Lodge is a nice place to stay in Ocho Rios. Additionally, the on-site Lemontree Restaurant is well worth at least one evening meal. The downside of this establishment is directions to get there. If you have your own car, DONOT rely on the website to get you to the right place. Additionally, the Jamaica maps showing its location are deceptive because they usually do not shown all the roads on their Ocho Rios pullout. So for us independent travelers, the Hibiscus Lodge is located about 1/4 mile west of the main town square on the "OLD" main highway which comes off the square and hugs the water. You cannot get to it from the main road (A3) which skirts the town square by a block.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#15 of 35 in Ocho Rios
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#20 of 35 in Ocho Rios
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sands
Ocean Sands
#28 of 35 in Ocho Rios
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 Main St | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £97 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing