We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed there one night with my wife while we toured Ocho Rios for a day. Its a decent affordable place to stay if you are familiar with the surroundings within Ocho Rios and need a comfortable environment to just chill and relax.

Room Tip: choose the ones with the the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aubyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We first discovered Hibiscus Lodge about 1990, and have been back every year since. It says a lot that many of the staff back then are still there and greet us with "welcome home" when we first appear. We have our favourite room, but I'm not letting on which one it is.

The breakfast is something to look forward to each morning. We now try to enjoy a pre-breakfast snorkel - breakfast is even better after this. Down the cliff path, use the little platform at the beach to launch yourself into the water, and take a tour of the "inner reef", protected by the "outer reef". OK, as a reef , the inner one is fairly dead, but new coral is appearing, and there are always lots of fish at this time of the morning. A great prelude to breakfast! And the annoying jet-skis have yet to appear!

The tropical gardens in which it is set have their own appeal There are other tropical gardens in Jamaica, but I have yet to find a comfortable (or any) hotel set in them..

Looking forward to our next visit!

Maurice Jordan

Room Tip: Each room has its own charms, apart from room 27 (there is no room 13). Until you get there, it seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maurice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Best hotel so far, Im here now 010514..Very clean rooms, probably the best view of the ocean in the area. If your visiting or spring break this is the place. I stayed everywhere for the last 5 years and finally found paradise. Food is excellent..and I eat 4 times a day. Nice pool..walk down path to the ocean with a private beach, very clean…I heard that there going to do Waverunners and diving….Can't wait for that. I was surprised that they have animals on the property…heaven..a very large walk around safari / garden…heaven again..Very secure..shopping is 1 minute walk down the block..The owner is super friendly and caters to every guest..that's hard to find here. Internet is fast, showers are hot, rooms are clean, food is excellent..heaven again..price is very reasonable..there are cheaper, but not as nice as the Hibiscus lodge. frankiyamaha.com

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are to die for…very quiet…you are in heaven. All the other rooms are just as good…b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankie_Yamaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

nice, clean rooms,
ocean view in most rooms,
nice garden and pool
friendly staff,
good restaurant with ocean view where the breakfast is also served (also local food/breakfast available)
small cosy bar area

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I was a little disappointed with Hibiscus Lodge. The reviews we’d read and pictures we’d seen whilst researching promised great things but our room was very small compared to the two hotels we had stayed in prior to this one. Admittedly the others were more like apartments than a hotel room but on the whole the room just didn’t live up to our expectations. Though the room had a powerful air con, the fan didn’t work, the light switch in the storage cupboard didn’t work properly, the draws smelled musty and had cobwebs, there was no mosquito net, there were signs of damp on the wall and no phone in the room. The lack of a phone wasn’t really an issue but when we enquired into why one was not provided we were given some rubbish about preferring guests to interactive with staff face-to- face and encouraging open dialogue. If they had said they were afraid of it getting nicked or it had been nicked, I might have believed them.

The room came with a great sea view and lovely private balcony which you had to go through the doors of to get to the room’s front door. This was located next to the outside dining area which was ok but both the balcony and front doors looked very insecure like they had previously been broken into and poorly repaired, the lock looked a bit flimsy too. The insecure theme continued when we discovered we have to pay a refundable deposit for absolutely everything: remote control, room keys, beach towels, safety deposit key. Annoyingly there was no safety deposit box in the room and instead we had to use one located in a small, messy back room behind the reception. This, however, was a long thin deposit box big enough to fit documents and that was all. Since we didn’t trust the security of the room, we hid some stuff in the car (not advised) and carried the rest with us everywhere (also not advised as Ocho Rios can be very crowded with hustlers trying to get your attention at every turn).

Breakfast was included in the price of the room and we were impressed with the food and service. There were more Jamaican than Continental breakfast options but I enjoyed the mackerel (tinned) in tomatoes sauce and callaloo dishes, definitely the best hotel we stayed at for breakfast.

Hibiscus Lodge is in a great location if you’re looking for a variety of thing to do nearby, so you don’t need a car. There are some great restaurant, lots of craft markets and shopping areas, tours and activities and beaches nearby. There is also a local park – Turtle Park – but we didn’t make it that far down. Ocho Rios Bay Beach is about 10 min walk from the hotel and you have to pay JA $700 for adults to get in but it’s really nice place to relax, try some water sports or just top up your tan. It is also a cruise terminal however so the beach and Main Street can be full of tourists from the cruise boat, which is huge and blocks some of your view if you sit at the wrong end of the beach.

For a taste of Jamaican dishes done well, I recommend Miss T’s kitchen. I had the best oxtail stew I have had other than my mum’s and my boyfriend had a really nice curried goat. Or for fast food, Jamaican style, try Mothers (it’s a bit like KFC which you can also find in Ocho Rios) or Juici Patties for the best patties.

All in all, Hibiscus lodge offers a good location, with beautiful views of the sea and beautiful grounds, habited by a caged talking parrot and doves. It tries to offer a taste of luxury on the higher end of budget prices but I think it just needed to work harder to make us feel safe and on the maintenance of the room. Wifi was available in the room which worked well. It doesn't have a beach but instead a platform-like area with a mini waterfall and access to the sea but I wouldn’t recommend swimming here if you’re not a seasoned pro swimmer, it felt a little too exposed for my liking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lamstockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

On our round trip of the island after visiting family high up in the hills we came across this hotel and stayed for only one night . It was amazing, the room was spacious, super clean, bright and had breathtaking views. Breakfast was included and it didn't dissapoint. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Would have loved to stay longer but our tour wasn't over and we moved on but will return in the future.

Room Tip: Had 2 rooms, both were great, one had pool and seaviews, the other had seaviews 'only' which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Hibiscus Lodge is a gem close to the heart of Ocho Rios. It is one of the most scenic properties, well manicured lawns. The views from the restaurant include the azure Caribbean sea, it is a most relaxing thing to see when you wake up in the morning.
The breakfast is authentic Jamaican and better than any continental breakfast I have ever head .
The hotel is close to Ocho Rios but not in the heart of the hustle and bustle.
Some of the rooms need a bit updating but they are clean comfortable. This a real value for money hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAnn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#23 of 35 in Ocho Rios
278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#14 of 35 in Ocho Rios
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
4.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
9,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 Main St | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £90 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing