We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was a second vacation at a Sandals. We spent last week there. We enjoyed our stay but there were some things that were a bit disappointing. First, we had "Concierge" Accommodations. They provided absolutely no benefits or service to us. The office was always too busy and the wait to see someone was too long. Either stick with a standard accommodation or jump up to " Butler". The brochure says in- room bar set up includes liquor. My husband asked several times for a bottle of bourbon and waited 2 days before he got it. However, the dinner restaurants were lovely. The service wonderful. The food - just OK. The room was lovely, great view but needed a fresh touch up. Housekeeping was sloppy and stingy with the bath supplies. I could not even get a second shower cap. The days were fun and lazy, with great bar service at the pool. If we decide to go back to a Sandals again, we will try another one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,797
    2,048
    772
    337
    218
See reviews for
316
6,471
43
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Food is good, resort is nice and the rooms clean but it's the friendly staff that make this resort! Lennox Minto is the best bartender ever- he is SO friendly and knows his drinks! He is so good at his job that the wedding party we went to Jamaica with requested him personally to help out at the wedding! This guy laughs with EVERYONE and makes you feel special!

Keep hiring these great people because they make your customers very happy! They treat you like family and that's awesome!

Room Tip: Any room is good! Don't spend your money on the higher priced rooms.... all the rooms are awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cryssie780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We're so happy to read that you had such an amazing vacation at Sandals Grande Riviera. We always want to exceed the expectations of our guests and ensure that they are enjoying themselves during their stay. Lennox Minto will be encouraged to hear of your kind mention. Thank you so much for your review.

We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed at this resort the first week of February. We have travelled to quite a few different countries and resorts usually staying in a 41/2-5* places. I would rate this one based on service at a 31/2*.

First the goods the grounds and pools are very picturesque and well kept. This resort has many hidden little gardens and quiet places that makes it not seem as busy!!! Food was fantastic we did not have a bad meal and if you love to eat this is the place (breakfast buffet however is the same every day but the a la cartes are amazing)!!! Drinks were okay but missed the drinks that we had gotten made at other resorts with fresh fruit, these were all made with mixes.

The part that sets this apart from a 41/2-5 * was the housekeeping (we usually had to call to get our room cleaned), no towel art, and for turn down service never chocolates, mints or art left!!! The little things that they need to be a true 41/2-5* resort. I had to run after the lady the one day that cleaned our room to replenish shampoo, conditioner, etc. Especially when you had booked the club sandals (concierge level). The normal concierge service you have at other hotels is not at this hotel, it has been replaced by butler service which you pay dearly for.

Water sports and diving was great, this was very well organized. The only complaint I have is the whole week we were there the glass bottom boat never went out??? Lots of resorts in Jamaica include a catamaran cruise or 1 excursion they included none of this stuff!! We are beach people and love to walk the beach and you cannot do this here (just for your info not a complaint as that is just the area).

Overall Jamaica is very picturesque and a great place. Not convinced this is quite up there with the other Sandals, but with little improvements can get there. Staff overall are extremely friendly and willing to help!! Based on the room and service we got I was not overly impressed by this resort have received much better service at other lower hotels!

Room Tip: While the Honeymoon Hidaway Garden Villas are a nice room, the view from our room was the roof of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyns179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
I'm so sorry that your experience at our resort did not quite meet your expectations. We always want to offer our guests the best in luxury vacations and stellar service. We are disappointed that this was not the case for you during your stay. The General Manager has been alerted and he has assured us that he will notify the management team and staff to ensure that future guests do not have a similar experience.

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon for a vacation that will surely exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Sandals Grand Riviera was one of the best places I have been and like wise for the experinces I had there. The activities they had for guest to enjoy on a nightly bases was second to none. They even made me feel like I was at home to watch the superbowl. The ammenites are exellent especially the Spa. I had a butler suite so this made things even more spectacular. Oren and Gay-ann made life very easy for me and my wife. Lennox Minto, and Kimesha Farquharson are just a couple of staff that made the experince a great one. I will absolutly be coming back again.

Room Tip: The butler suit villas are the best. you will absoulutely not have to worry about anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiMarco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Grande Riviera. We're delighted to read that you had such an awesome time at our resort. We are so happy that we succeeded in creating that luxury romantic experience for you. You enjoyed every minute of your vacation and it was a pleasure sharing the experience with you.

We look forward to your return for an even better stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

First and foremost, the people of Jamaica are amazing! Some of the friendliest people I have ever met on this earth. The property was nice and great deals going on right now. I would highly suggest the butler service (very affordable at this resort). They met us right in the butler lounge when we arrived and from that moment Alvroy and Ryan exceeded expectations! They met every need and often went above and beyond. Please do not abuse these guys/ladies, they work hard and are some of the friendliest people on earth. Make sure that you tip them at the end of the week, they do not work for free nor should they (don't be a cheapskate). Honestly, everyone from the grounds crew to kitchen staff were great! Kilraig (sorry for the spelling) down at Kelly's Dockside is an amazing waiter, guy could have his own restaurant. If you want a fun night go down there a few times, guys are a blast. Alex the bartender provides superior service and has a smile on his face while performing (great drinks, thanks). Dwayne is the omellete king down at the Sabrina's breakfast buffet. This guys makes omellettes as if he is doing open heart surgery! If only a majority of Americans worked this hard. You hear alot of people talking about Jamaican time and there slowness, however, I would put these guys head to head in competition with any American for a service industry job. If you are even thinking about Sandals, just listen to your wife and book the trip! You will keep going back! Thanks for another great trip!

Ryan

Room Tip: Select a butler level if you would like to relax, if you want to party get a room on the ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBWindham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Grande Riviera. It sounds like you had such an amazing stay with us. Alvroy and Ryan are two of our best and I'm so happy to hear they both made your stay such an incredible experience.

We look forward to you visiting again with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Creek, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The service at the Sandal's resort in Ocho Rios was incredible! Everyone that works there is exceptional! We stayed in the Butler's village and had 2 butlers taking care of us. Their names are Ray and Andrew. Both were friendly, helpful and always there when we needed something. They set up a romantic dinner on our balcony one night and made it very special for us. Thank you Andrew and Ray! The other outstanding employee was a waiter in the Mannor restaurant, named Jason Aikens, he was so caring and gracious! thank you Jason for being there for us on a very difficult night (due to family issues).
My advice to the hotel itself is; the bed frames are very high off the floor and has a wooden frame around the mattress, when getting in and out of bed the frame scratches your thighs as you slip over the wood frame, could be fixed by adding a pad on the frame. I covered it with a piece of fake sheep skin and the maid put it in with the laundry and although we tried for 3 days to get it back, they were never able to find it. The other thing they could add to the rooms is DVD players, we like to sit at night and watch movies, but no DVD player. And for the cost of the room they should provide free wi-fi, but nope to that too.
My favorite part was having our own pool shared with only 3 other rooms, we like quiet and privacy and we had it. The service at this resort made up for all other short comings, we would stay there again if we ever go back to Jamaica.

Room Tip: If you like privacy then stay in the butlers village, you share a pool with only 3 other units and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Grande Riviera. We're so happy to read that you had such an amazing vacation with us. We always strive to go above and beyond to please our guests and I'm glad we were able to meet that goal during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york pa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I have been to all Sandals Resort in Jamaica and this was our first stay at SGR. We weren't sure we would like this huge, spread out resort but we found it to be extremely nice. I thought I'd prefer the beach side since we are serious beach people, but again, we loved the hillside butler villa shared pool with one other couple because it was so private and quiet. True, you had to take butler golf cart to the Manor building and catch a van to the beach and Riviera side, but there was absolutely NO waiting for any of the transfers for the entire week that we were there. Waiting for shuttles would have been a real deal breaker!
I think if we would return, we would definitely stay in the butler villa suites again - loved the quiet and privacy in our villa. We visitied with newlyweds who were staying in the Romeo and Juliet Suite and it was awesome.. (so were they!). I've never seen accommodations quite as unique.

Our butlers, Damien and Alrick were excellent. There when you needed them, but not "in your face". Butlers are definitely the way to go at any Sandals Resort, in our opinion.

Food was quite good, service and friendliness of the Jamaicans cannot be topped anywhere.

We will be back!

Room Tip: For quiet and privacy, butler villa rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Grande Riviera. We love to hear feedback from our guests, especially when the stay was as stellar as yours. It was an honor to have you with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing experience in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
63.0 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,780 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing