We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great vacation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Morgantown, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great vacation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was our second stay at Grand Riviera. Our first stay was in the Villas with a wedding party before they were all butler rooms. This time we stayed in the Great House to be closer to the pool and spend a little less time waiting on and riding the jitneys. The Great house rooms were nice, but not nearly as big as the villas. It worked out great for us. Close to the pool, food and bar. Our only complaint with the room was not enough drawers for our clothes. The rooms are also not as quiet as the villas, so if you like to turn in early I would recommend picking a different room. We did not go to bed early so it was no problem for us. Our goal this time was to take better advantage of all the restaurants. Everyday started with the breakfast buffet at Sabrina's Marketplace including a perfect omelet from Chef Dwayne. The evening meals were all amazing. We needed to stay longer just to try more things from the menu's. I would highly recommend trying each restaurants signature dish. The only complaint is that if you want to eat at Kelly's Dockside you have to stay in a butler room. We were not aware of that until we tried to make a reservation. The other complaint is that almost all of the poolside loungers are reserved in the morning and a large number of them are still unused by lunch time. We heard a rumor that the butlers do that for their guests. One great thing about the pool was Marlin! Thanks for your help and thanks for finding and returning things we left at the pool. The spa was very good. We got the couples massage on this trip and it was even better than expected. We discovered that the saunas and steam rooms are free to use. The property is beautiful and clean. The evening activity's are very entertaining. The returning guest dinner was very good, but don't forget to bring all white for that. Most of all the people that work there are some of the most helpful and friendly people we have the pleasure of meeting. We have already booked another trip back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your review of Sandals Grande Riviera. We're so glad that you had another great stay at our resort. Our staff works very hard to offer an amazing stay to our guests and I'm more than happy to know that you enjoyed the superb hospitality. We look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,685
    2,014
    748
    331
    211
See reviews for
301
6,329
43
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We were reluctant to book our honeymoon in Jamaica but we are happy to say it has been our best vacation ever!
We indulged and booked a butler suite. There was lots of room, the room was spotless, our fridge & bar was always stocked, and our pool was well maintained. The only complaint we had with the room was that I did not find the bed easy to get in or comfortable to sleep in.
every need was met or exceeded by our butlers Shanadeen & Delrose. They were friendly & always had a smile and warm greeting for us. They made all our dinner arrangements & personnaly escorted us to each one. Every night there was a surprise with our turn down. Their simple gestures were very much appreciated! Shanadeen was with us the most & she was excellent at anticipating our needs - after returning from an ATV excursion, she ran a hot bath for us with rose petals & candles before picking us up.
The food was amazing although we only managed to get to 7 (of the 15) restaurants. Every dinner consisted of a minimum of 5 courses and there was a vast selection to choose from.
Getting an ideal spot at the pool was effortless & the poolside service was quick. The nightly activities were fun - we especially loved the chocolate night :)
All the staff were friendly & eager to assist. There was no pressure to tip.
We would go back again in a heart beat but would make sure to bring our golf clubs!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabbygale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Flew into Kingston Airport, excellant service until we arrived at the 'pick up desk', were politely informed that our bus was waiting to transferus to resort 2 hrs away !! Not true, it turned out to be 3 hours with no toilet stop, and no water available, and the suitcases had to be put on the mini bus via the WINDOW. The beach is a short ride by bus to the other part of the hotel, was lovely and small not a full beach, you then had to walk over several stairs to get to the slightly larger beach which could be noisy at times. Most of the restaurants where located at the other hotel again transfer by bus, ( 5min max). Wasn't impressed with Kimonos Restaurant, gents must wear trousers, didn't think this was necessary as i didn't see it as an A La Carte Restaurant. Beach party great. Butler service - having spoken with other guests, not everyone is treated the same, it depends on who you have, however we had 2 butlers (this is the norm) our Butler Damien was amazing and funny, will not mention our other Butler but was very disappointed with his manner, not a people person !!! Room was lovely the beds are amazing however some may have difficulty climbing onto the bed therefore footstool would be an advantage. Our room was maintained by Loretta and her standards were amazing, she was simply fabulous !! Beach bars don't open until 10am, therefore you need to take your own water with you as we headed to the beach early to get a bed. Go for breakfast at the Reef, it has an outdoor sitting area overlooking the sea and the service was fast and efficient, don't look for anything too quickly they certainly work on Jamaica time !!!! Overall it was lovely have stayed at other Sandals Resorts and would just like to see this one run more efficiently and as excellant as the others.

Room Tip: Cannot fault our room whatsoever, the views were lovely and leafy !!!! Request a footstool to get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I am so sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are known for providing luxury while meeting the needs of all of our guests and sadly, during your experience, it seems this was not the case.

We have noted your dissatisfaction with some of the included services of your stay and the General Manager has been alerted. Again, thank you for your review. We are always appreciative of any client feedback received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We went back to the Riviera for the 3rd year in a row. We booked a butler room because Sandals had made the decision that all the hillside manor rooms would have butler service. We quickly realized that we could not make dinner reservations-the restaurant refused to make a reservation from us, it had to be done by our butler. We also realized that our dinnertime was at the butlers discretion since he had 8 couples to service and it took about 20-30 minutes to get a couple to the restaurant. We ended up eating dinner at times which were very inconvenient for us. The butlers would show up while we were eating breakfast and insist on annoying us when we did not want to talk to them.There were 2 butlers assigned-one for mornings and the other for afternoons. When we asked the butler in the morning about our dinner reservations he had no clue. For one dinner reservation the restaurant had no record of the reservation. On the last day, our butler told us we had a reservation for 6:00 at the Bayside. He choose not to accompany us to dinner which was unusual. When we arrived we found that the restaurant was closed for a wedding party. We went next door and had to wait an hour to get in. It appears that the better quality restaurants with limited seating get booked up with butler reservations making it very difficult for anyone else to get reservations unless they arrive when the restaurant opens.
Many of the services that were gratuity free such as making reservations, stocking your refrigerature and bar, getting seated and your first glass of wine, etc are now controlled by your butler who expects a gratuity. Our vacation was certainly more stressful, hurrying to get ready for dinner after a day of golf and a quick swim. While we like Sandals and the more specifically the Grand Riviera, we think that management has made a gross error in converting all manorside rooms to butler service. We are also concerned that occupants of rooms on the seaside are now second class in terms of restaurant service.
One last point is that we saw the quality of the drinks deteriorate over the 3 years. Although they use a better quality liquor, the drinks are not blended and the mix is terrible.
The one thing that is still superior is their golf.
We are definitely planning to find an alternative destination next year. My wife insisted on asking a number of other couples about their experiences. Our neighbour had insisted that they did not want a butler.Most of the others we spoke to were not impressed.

Room Tip: While the service was good in restaurants the butlers were annoying. The drink selection was good bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dgc1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We're so sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. This is certainly not our standard and we would like to correct the situation and make things right. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to turn this around and offer the luxurious experience for which we are known.

Thank you for your feedback. I look forward to making contact with you regarding this matter very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Pro's
Stayed in the Bamboo Grove section again & it was great. Many thanks to Anthony & James & Andre for my Non Alcoholic specials.
Dania for her service friendliness & special treatment at the Bayside, Kenroy for his hugs & help. Marvelie for her happy greeting either at Bayside or Anthony's
The omelettes at the egg station were wonderful each morning
Tyrone, Tiffany & Divya at soon come back desk. ONE QUESTION - is there a reason you give 3 treats to 2 people as a welcome gift? We flipped a coin to see who got the odd one on both trips.
THANKS TO ROCCO FOR HELPING WITH MY INTERNET SERVICE MY LAST 2 days!!
Last but not least much appreciation for our ROOM STYLIST "Sandra" This was the second time she has looked after us. LOVE YOU FOR YOUR SUGAR BABY.
CONS
Miss having a book exchange. This is the first Hotel we have been to (including 3 other Sandals) that did not have one.
2 room keys when 2 people register instead of one would be great?
Please start making people aware that this Resort is NOT wheelchair accesible or for anyone with mobility issues. We have heard several complaints on the issue & I am sure the resort has as well.
This year there were 2 elderly people that were very disappointed when they arrived as they had such a hard time getting around & some things they just could not do.
In Jan 3013 there was a young couple we felt so sorry for. He was in a wheelchair & they had to use the Service road to get to the beach. There was so much he wanted to do & could not. His wife told me this was their 1st trip & they had planned it carefully with their travel agent & were not told of the restrictions. She also told me HE HAD 30 TO 60 DAYS TO LIVE, AFTER THEY GOT HOME. How sad that this was the wrong resort for them.

On a much lesser note - we celebrated our 25th Anniversary at Sandals St Lucia. Whe we got to our room after dinner there were balloons - flower petals - candles & a cake waiting for us. This year was our 30th & someone dropped a cake off around 3 oclock in the afternoon.

Will miss all the great staff we have met but are trying Whitehouse next year due to mobility.
Dee & Ken

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3309 it the Bamboo Grove Bldg.close to everything but back from the beach noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deekenOntarioCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We're so thrilled to read of your excellent return stay at Sandals Grande Riviera. It gives us a great feeling to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations yet again.

Thank you for your review and important suggestions for improvement. We can't wait to welcome you back for another amazing experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a fantastic holiday with first class service. Thank you to our brilliant butlers Oshane and Damian who made our holiday really special. Loved the surprises and nothing was too much trouble for them. All the staff were so friendly and welcoming. Thanks to Annia in the Polo Lounge who always knew what we wanted to drink, Dwayne (omelette maestro!) who got chillis in especially for me for my omelette and Danielle at the pool bar.

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking a butler villa as they are away from the main buildings. The butler experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShoneyMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Sounds like you truly had an awesome trip to Sandal Grande Riviera. We always love to hear of the amazing, memorable experiences that our guests have with us. We pride ourselves on the excellent customer service of our friendly staff and they will be so glad to hear of your kind mention.

Thank you for your review. We can't wait for you to return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Cumberland, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

ARRIVAL: My wife and I stayed at Sandals Grande Riviera from 2/21-2/28. We arrived at Montego Bay and had no issues getting to our bus to the resort. The bus ride from Montego Bay to SGR is about 90 minutes but they made at stop and a roadside bar and restaurant for about 30 minutes. We would've preferred going straight to the resort.

ROOM: When we checked in we were informed that there were no Great House Ocean View rooms available. They upgraded us to a suite that overlooked the Great House entrance. Our friends that we traveled with had the same issue. They booked an Ocean Front room and none were available so they were placed in a butler villa at the very top of the resort. The only building farther away from the ocean than their villa was a security post. Anyway, later that week we were offered to switch to our booked rooms, but we didn't bother. We enjoyed the larger suite even tho our view was the front entrance and the constant shuttle buses and our friends enjoyed the quiet and the butler service of their villa. Our room was nicely decorated and clean. Our only complaints about the room were that hot water was lacking at 6pm and that housekeeping wanted to turn down our beds every day at 5:45pm while we were getting ready for dinner.

FOOD: I think that we made it to all but the French restaurant during our week at Sandals. The food was typically quite good, but not great. Desserts are almost always lacking sweetness ,which seems odd in a country that grows sugar cane. Best dessert was a bread pudding at the buffet on our last day. I really enjoyed the lamb chops that I had at 2 different restaurants. Jerk chicken is terrific.

GOLF: It's about a 15 -20 minute ride to the golf course, but well worth it. It is not maintained at a country club level, but it is in good condition. The layout is interesting with plenty of elevation change and character to the holes. The greens are difficult to read and putt because they are so slow. Our caddies were good, but I really dislike the way that they "read" greens for you. Pointing the flagstick at a place on the hole is not how you give your read. You should point to a spot for me to putt toward. The course and the caddies were much better than the caddies and golf course at Runaway Bay.

RESORT: If you have any mobility issues this is not the resort for you. There are steps to go up and down to get everywhere. Very well maintained and clean including walkways, lobbies, pools etc.

The good the bad and the ugly:
GOOD: nice resort, nice golf course, food, premium drinks (crown royal),Great House pool is terrific. Loved the jerk chicken at the grill next to the Great House. Annalee took tremendous care of us at the Polo lounge.

BAD: If you are on the Great House side you must ride a shuttle to the Riviera side to get to the water. If you are in a villa you must ride a golf cart jitney down to the Great house to board a shuttle.

UGLY: I had my kindle fire stolen from the chairs at the Great House pool. When we realized that it was missing I went to the front desk to inquire about lost and found and reporting it "missing". About 30 minutes later a security man arrived at our room to get a report from me. I wrote down what happened and took him down to the pool to show him exactly which chair we had our stuff on. I told him that if they look at security tape they should be able to see what happened to it. He didn't seem very interested. I never heard another word from anyone at the resort about it. Not even a courtesy call that they were unable to find it.

Room Tip: The ocean side is much more active at night than the manor side. You cannot walk from the Manor Hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LongJakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We're happy to read that your stay, overall, was very enjoyable. As you know, we always strive to offer amazing vacation experiences and anything less than perfect calls for improvement on our part. It seems we did not meet your expectations in a few areas of our service. Please accept our apologies for this experience. It is certainly not the standard for which we are known. We want to ensure that our future guests do not share the same experience. Therefore, your feedback will be sent to our General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to showcasing our true luxury and stellar service during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
62.9 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems and Destinology so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing