We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Dryden, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I just went for our first vacation to somewhere warm. This didn't disappoint, it was sunny and warm everyday. The food was fabulous, we highly recommend Neptune and Soy. Both were excellent. The dive shop was friendly and awesome. DH learned to sail as well, for free.

We did a few excursions as well. We did the Blue Mountain Bike Ride, we wouldn't really recommend it. It was just ok. We did it because we were told how scenic it was, but because we were both so busy looking at the road so we didn't fall off the mountain, we didn't see much. We ended up buying the picture cd so we could see the scenery. We also did the swimming with the dolphins. This was awesome. When the lady at the desk asks you if you want to swim with one dolphin or two (ultimate swim) say one because she will give you a free upgrade. We told her that one dolphin was fine, but she said no we needed to swim with two and gave us both a free upgrade. It was so appreciated as the two dolphins were fabulous.

Watch out for upselling. The dive shop tried to talk me into doing more courses, they were friendly about it though. We were also stopped in the stairwell by one of the ladies that worked in the spa. She strong armed us into getting massages. We didn't regret getting them as they were great and we felt so relaxed afterwards, but we also did not intend to get one when we went. The only reason we did was we were stopped on the stairs.

Despite what other reviews have said, we never had trouble finding a couple of beach chairs. Sure most of them are taken by 11am, but if you aren't worried about being front and center on the beach, then you will still find chairs without much difficulty.

Our only complaints were the bed was so tall we had to climb into it. I am 5'9 and my husband is 6' and we both thought the bed was to tall. We also didn't like that people would put out their cigarettes in the beach sand and leave them there. The staff does rake the sand every night, but you still might find cigarette butts beside your chair in the middle of the afternoon.

Get Club Mobay or be prepared to wait at least 4 hours in line at the airport.

Room Tip: Bamboo Grove is where the beach is. It is also where the party is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady_Katka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
We're thrilled to hear of your wonderful stay at Sandals Grande Riviera. We strive to offer amazing experiences to our guests and I'm glad you had a great stay filled with luxury and fun. Thank you so much for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,679
    2,011
    744
    331
    211
See reviews for
301
6,316
43
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,443)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was our fifth trip to Jamaica and our third to this Sandals. Previously we have stayed at the Sandals Royal Bahamian and other resorts in Cuba and Mexico. We absolutely love this resort!! For each of our visits here we have stayed in the Butler Villas on the mountain side. Note the first year we visited this room category did not have a butler but the room was the same. Our butlers this year were Charlette and Analisa. They are absolutely wonderful people and we can’t recommend them highly enough. This is the second time we have had Charlette and she is definitely a huge reason why we return to SGR. Speaking of which, we have already booked our next trip for 2015.
The food at this resort is awesome. We are both vegetarian and never had any issue finding something wonderful to eat. In fact, we ate too much! The staff are the true stars at SGR. So many wonderful people! A special thank you to Lennox and Oswald, two fantastic bartenders at the pool bar on the Riviera side and to Monique at the Sundowner Deck. As well to Mario, the security guard who took the time to chat with us one evening because he was concerned we were lost. Our conversation that night, learning more about the Jamaican lifestyle and language was a highlight of the trip. You are all fabulous and made our trip extra special.
As many others have reported this resort is huge. There is a bus that runs every few minutes between the two sides. We never waited more than 10 minutes for one to arrive. The size of this resort is one of things we love so much about it because it has a spot for every mood you are in. If you feel like being alone and reading or partying at the pool with a large group or having a relaxing swim, you can always find the perfect spot!
We are counting the days until we return next year!

Room Tip: Butler Village
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller7170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
We're so thrilled to read of your excellent return stay at Sandals Grande Riviera. It gives us a great feeling to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations yet again.

Thank you for your review. We can't wait to welcome you back for another amazing experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just arrived home from our weddingmoon at the Sandals Grande Riviera. It was absolutely stunning. The wedding team was so helpful and caring. Thanks Ashalee. The food at our wedding was the best food I have ever eaten.
All the staff was so friendly. Food and drinks were great. Service was slower than our fast paced North American lifestyle which allowed us to enjoy our meal, our surroundings and each other.
The rooms were very comfortable.
We opted for the butler service. The first half of our trip we had less than adequate butlers. I spoke to Ashalee about it and instantly we had new butlers that spoiled us rotten. Thank-you Latoya and Debbie-Ann for helping to make our stay perfect.
This trip was worth every penny. We booked another trip before we left. We can't wait to return

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1paris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We're so thrilled to read that you had such an amazing Weddingmoon at Sandals Grande Riviera. We always strive to create memorable vacations for two people in love and I'm so happy that we were able to achieve that goal during your visit.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another incredible experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax, ns
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We're here now and enjoying it but not entirely what we expected. We're in the Riviera building which is our preference but it is the older section of the resort just so you know.
We're in Riviera Bamboo Grove Luxury which may or may not have a balcony. rooms on the second floor do not but we we're fortunate enough to be switched to the third floor -4311 which does and it makes all the difference. These rooms are clean but small and this category does not include robes and slippers, small but notable. Bathrooms really small typical hotel style. Furniture is nice but well used with wonky hinges etc.

The resort is spread out over a great amount of space which as everyone mentions requires shuttles etc. That part of it is kind of neat in that you can visit the other side for dinners etc.
The beach area is very small and if you're into beach walks, go somewhere else. In so much as it's small, for the amount of guests here it's not at all crowded. Drink service on beach is hit to miss. First day we were here I didnt know they even had beach drink service.
Very little shade on the beach area, no cabanas or whatever you call the grass hut shelters. You can rent a shaded bed for $125 per day, that's right, $125 but in fairness it does include a butler bringing you drinks and snacks and a 15 minute massage. Except for the massage, most other resorts offer these beds with drink/food service, free.

Multiple pools here which are nice, the pool by the Ochi Beach Club is the busy one in this area but also the dirtiest. One morning while walking around taking pictures was disgusted by the scum floating around the edges. The staff did seem to skim it before any guests got in but the water was still murky. I won't be in it.
This is our first visit to a Sandals and our disappointment comes more from the little things that are not included. Our impression was that Sandals was over and above all other resorts and to be honest, it lacks what we have experienced at Excellence and Secrets mostly in Mexico but also DR.
First day here I asked for 3 things which I thought were pretty minor and was told no to all three. I've never heard so many nos at an all inclusive. I really hope this doesn't make me sound like one of those whiny people but we expected Sandals to wow us compared to others and that's just not happening.

Hope you like Red Stripe beer, don't get me wrong, it's not bad but it's all you're getting for beer, Nothing else.
WiFi is $15 a day...I've never paid for wifi in a hotel.
Dinners are dress down which is surprising for a resort/chain of this caliber, this doesn't matter to me I'm just pointing out so you can know how to pack.
Food is good, absolutely no complaints here. Staff are friendly, buffet very limited.
They do include scuba diving here on an incredible dive boat and catamaran that belong to the resort. All water sports here are first rate with beautiful equipment and I believe some of them, diving for sure is included. Feel free to email me if you want a question answered while we're here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rickmcns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
I'm so sorry to hear that you aren't quite enjoying your stay with us. We would like to see how we can resolve this matter while you are still on property. I encourage you to reach out to our management team on resort. Please give us a chance to make this up to you. We always want to ensure that all of our guests are having a wonderful vacation and it would be nice if we were able to to turn things around for you.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to making contact with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Nice place, great weather, plenty to do. We had butler service and they were great! (Alrick, Damion,) All did a great job. They really were helpful, friendly and fun. The food was...ok. Went to Kimono-waiter came - did we want Japanese beer- then came back to tell us they were out. Kimono's is a hibatchi type and all the chef did was bang the utensils- on the grill- that's it. They have a fish buffet on Friday- big disappointment- everything looked good but just didn't make the grade. Cold food, lobster was a waste-just not good. Kelly's outdoor grill was good but the rest of the dinners were average. They really need to work on the food. The staff was very good- friendly, helpful- very nice. The views were great, water clear- nice place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fleahy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

First I would like to say that Sandals Grande Riviera is a wonderful place to enjoy a weeks vacation. My wife and I with her sister and husband enjoy every part of the place, from the food to the entertainment, to the things to do there. The best part by far was the staff. I can't name everyone, but Julio, Andre, Shakisha, O'Brian, Clarke, Deb are just a few names that come to mind. They took care of us from day one to the last day. We had a room booked at the Great House, and when we arrived they had moved us to the Riviera beachfront, very nice, we liked it a lot, and for moving us they gave a us a cabana at the Great house pool one day, nice touch. The catamaran to falls was just fantastic. We went fishing with one of the locals while the wives had a massage. Jamie's sport bar was a blast, then at night we danced till they closed. Can you say Red Strip and plenty of it. Yes the beaches are small, but plenty of room to get a chair and enjoy the sun. The pools were great, with swim up to bars where we found Oswald the bartender. After 2 trips up he called us by name and had our drinks waiting for us. One day we took a cab downtown $8.00 round trip very cheap, ask for Brian as your cab driver. We had a great time playing lets make a deal with the locals. We ate at 12 of the restaurants, yes getting into the reef, and Kelly's was a little tough, but doable. The reef was slow but a great meal, every other one was good service and reasonable time. We took a private transfer from the airport with Danny's Island service, a great move by us, we stopped and got beers and we made it there in 1 1/2 hours. The white part was wild, and the entertainment at the talent night was amazing. The staff can dance and sing. Overall it was a great time and I would go again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Riviera ocean side a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Terrible experience. My girlfriend and I both contracted bug bites and rashes from the bedding. We advised the manager and we were told "sorry." They even had the audacity to state that they hope to see us again soon. Not happening. For $600+ a night, I would expect much better customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jarrod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We strive to keep the highest standard of quality and service and we deeply regret if we did not quite live up to your expectations.

Regarding your concerns about the the bedding in our rooms, it is surprising to note that you had this type of allergic reaction. Please accept our apologies for this experience. While we have not had similar complaints, we are respectful of the opinions you have expressed and recognize that one person’s specific experience can only be judged by that individual.

We want to ensure that our future guests do not share the same experience. Therefore, your feedback will be sent to our General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
62.9 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,707 reviews
45.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.1 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Destinology and Travelbag so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing