We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a great time for a double celebration (birthday & wedding anniversary). Staff were lovely, everything with a "Yeah Mon" & a smile.
Accommodation very well presented, clean & wanted for nothing.
Great choice of restaurants, China Doll & Reef Terrace were outstanding for service, Kelly's Dockside & Kimonos were a disappointment.
Diving isn't challenging for the experienced but a great place for those wishing to learn, corals are a bit bleached with a lot of algae.

Room Tip: Butler service - get pampered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1967Jester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,953
    2,101
    791
    345
    222
See reviews for
340
6,665
43
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,562)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have just recently returned from what is probably one of my best vacations ever! The resort was lovely, the staff was friendly and helpful, there was always something going on if I wanted something fun, and there was always a quiet spot if I wanted some seclusion. This resort really has a great combination to appeal to all. I was specifically there for a wedding and not as a couple....but either way, it will be a fantabulous time!
I must give a big shotout to the Club Concierge crew - Racquel, Horatio, and Lydia! They made our stay and our friends stay (to include the bride & groom) magnificient. We visited/bothered/inquired with them on a daily basis, sometimes multiple times. They were always happy, helpful, and willing to go the extra mile to make our experience perfection. All of my future Sandals vacations will include the Club Concierge in hopes that I get a crew as half as good as this one. Although, I may just go back to Ocho Rios to visit the same crew. I will cherish the friendships that developed in only a week's time...always. Thank you again!

Room Tip: Read the descriptions thoroughly and look at the pictures. Do not expect anything outside of what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller Place, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just loved our trip to Sandals Grande Riviera in Ochos Rios! We had a club level beachfront view on the "beach side" of the resort and couldn't be happier. The ocean water was so clear and beautiful! The swim-up bar at the Club pool was awesome - especially the bartender named Lopez. He kept mixing us new drinks to try and made sure our glass was never full! It seems like all of the workers at this resort like their job. They all seemed to be very good workers, very friendly, and we did not encounter anyone that wasn't anything but pleasant. We did Dunn Rivers Falls and it was AMAZING everyone MUST do this!!!! The shuttle service was great back and forth. We ate at Neptune's which was Mediterreanean and on the beach. That food was good. We also ate at the hillside China Doll and that food was ok. We started to notice that the food quality isn't as high as we were expecting. They had TONS of choices of restaurants with large menu's but a few things fell flat - mainly the desserts. They were bite sized at best and definitely seemed like they weren't freshly made. The only other negative comment I have is that from the website I didn't realize that the resort actually has 2 parts and in order to get to the other you have to go on a shuttle because there is a main road that separates the two. I am so glad we stayed on the beach side. If we stayed on the hillside and had to take a shuttle to get to the beach, I would have been really upset. Thankfully it didn't impact us much.

Overall the resort has a lot to offer and tons of activities. The water is beautiful, the pools are beautiful, and its everything you would expect for a Sandals resort.

Room Tip: Definitely get a beach side room and a oceanfront room if you can manage it. It's so convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrshoneybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with how beautiful the resort and staff were! We went from 5/24-5/31, I suggest you stay as long as you can! There are so many restaurants and things to do that 7 days were just not enough due to travel time. We definitely want to return to this exact resort, hopefully sooner than later! My husband and I met so many wonderful people, guests and staff, that made our trip even better! Jamaica is the best place to go, we partied and we relaxed! HIGHLY recommend this resort! Yea mon!

Room Tip: Butler service is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I had such a great time on our honeymoon 5/17/14. The resort was beautiful and the staff were so friendly. The bartenders made great drinks and made us feel welcome. Specifically Ricardo Henry. He remembered my drink orders each time I came in and had great conversation with my husband while making sure that everyone had the beverage that they ordered. Ricardo was so professional and genuinely friendly. During our stay we were able to catch some shows. They were amazing and the "playmakers" were so energetic and fun. One playmaker that stood out for us was Mikaela Coote. Mikaela made us feel so welcome at the resort and made our experience fun. She showed some of us how to dance to songs that played and kept us fully entertained when ever she was around. Mikaela has such a sweet personality and bubbly spirit. I am so thankful that sandals takes the time to hire great staff. Although I couldn't mention everyone we met, our experience with all of the staff was pleasurable. Because of this, my husband and I will be back to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caressa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I arrived arrived Sunday, June 1, after only 2 hours of sleep the night of our wedding. Needless to say, we were very tired and ready to get to our room to relax. We were greeted immediately by a sweet woman who offered us lemongrass washcloths to refresh after the bus ride from the airport. We were then taken into the hotel and greeted by our butlers. Honestly, I don't even know where to begin about our butler, Robert P. He has been an absolute God send. He has made sure we've had everything we've needed before we even ask him. We are on day 4 of our 7 day honeymoon and as each day passes, we love him even more. My husband and I feel like he is one of our close friends. He is such an excellent butler and has the greatest personality! He is truly a gem and has sold us on Sandals resorts. Mark and I've already decided we will be back to this resort and other Sandals resorts for future vacations. Robert is truly an exemplary employee of this resort. Honestly, he is the kind of employee every company wants working for them. We cannot sing his praises enough!

Room Tip: Must choose the butler suites!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslet, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for our 5 year wedding anniversary and had a blast trying all of the different restaurants and activities. This a great place to relax and socialize with people from all over the globe. The nightlife isn't as wild and crazy as cruise ships we've been on but that wasn't necessarily a bad thing. Overall we had an amazing trip! Thanks in part to our new friend Mikaela 'Playmaker' Coote :) She went above and beyond to make sure we had a good time in Ocho Rios. We will definitely be coming back for round 2!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank system21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,384 reviews
54.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,405 reviews
63.0 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
6,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Destinology, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing