We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect group getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect group getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We just returned from Sandals Grande Riviera last night and it was a wonderful trip! We were with a large group that was there for a wedding. The resort was beautiful and amenities were top notch! The Playmaker crew was a great group that kept us all involved and having a great time. Our favorite, Shawn-dee was exceptionally fun! He made sure we were having fun and told us about all of the great events that we needed to be sure not to miss! Find this guy and you'll be thankful later! He's a huge asset to the entertainment crew!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLH5712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,679
    2,011
    744
    331
    211
See reviews for
301
6,316
43
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,443)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a great time at Sandals Grande Riviera. This was our first time at a Sandals resort but we will be returning to Sandals resorts. The resort was a lot larger than we thought but very relaxing. We enjoyed all the amenities. The butlers main service was transporting us to the great house, at night they placed nice flowers and notes on our bed. We had a nice photo shoot, our photographer Ralston was very good. We enjoyed dinner at Kimonos and Kelley's Dockside- O'Brien provided excellent services. There were so many staff that provided so many great services. UNLIMITED FOOD, DRINKS, AND FUN.. Many great memories we will forever cherish!

The Cleveland's
Huntsville, TX

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pershelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sandals Grande Riviera Resort July 19-25. This was our first trip to a Sandals but we had heard great things about them so we decided to go for it. To give a short and sweet summary before going into details - the resort was beautifully kept, staff were extremely helpful and always courteous, and just about anything we asked for we were given. The food wasn't great but there are a lot of options. A few quick notes: You'll receive information that says no tipping on the property as it is all included however we ran into an issue of no cash because the bus drivers to and from the resort and the men who loaded our bags onto and off of the buses to and from the airport all expected tips. Everything else can be charged to your room which is amazing because you never have to carry your money on the resort. There is a 1 hour 45 minute drive from the airport to the resort. We recommend the club level concierge room on the beach side (we were in the club honeymoon hideaway villa (2055) and our room was absolutely perfectly located. We had several friends staying on the Butler side and while there were some perks, I'm glad we didn't pay the additional money. The club was plenty for us and they treated us like royalty! I highly recommend renting a beach cabana ($125 for the day) if you want a relaxing romantic day. The cabana includes your own private butler for the day - there are only 2 beach cabanas so be sure to book as soon as you arrive. The butler tip can be added to your room. We learned this the hard way. The gratuity for your spa services can be added to your room as well.

We had only 2 disappointments while staying on the resort -one of those was the food and the other was liquor selection. My husband and I have had the good fortune of enjoying some incredible food during previous vacations. We were expecting the quality to be about equal to the cruise we had taken however it was lower in quality and taste. There were many many options for dinner, the breakfast buffet was great (they had an omelet bar which I enjoyed), and we tried a few places for lunch. Having read many reviews before we arrived I was fairly prepared for the food. Again, there were many options but everything seemed to be over cooked or completely bland. Kelly's Dockside (book as soon as you arrive) had the best atmosphere. You are out over the water and there aren't many tables available. I recommend going here if for nothing other than the atmosphere. We went to Kimono's one night (Hibachi) and the chef, Jason, was very entertaining! We had a great group and we all enjoyed ourselves. For lunch you at least have to try the jerk chicken at Mariner's - that was my favorite lunch we had.

Our second disappointment - this was more my husband than me, was the liquor selection. If you're a scotch/whiskey drinker prepare yourself before you arrive that you will have to drink something else while you're there. They have Crown, Beam, and JB but that's about it. We really enjoyed the frozen mojitos at the pool and on the beach. They also have many great mixed drinks like the Jamaican Smile, drink of the day, and Andre - at the swim up bar (not on the beach side) made the days very entertaining. Just ask him to make you something, he'll be happy to oblige and do so while singing and dancing!

We loved everything else about the resort! It was absolutely beautiful. The beach isn't very large but it's very clean and well kept. We never had trouble getting a chair and rarely had to wait for our drinks or food. They have all sorts of activities each day so you can be as involved as you want. Again, I recommend the beach cabana and the beachside massage. My husband and I had a 90 minute massage and it was worth every penny!! Karen and Horatio were amazing. Sharon at our cabana took great care of us. She wasn't constantly at our side (so we could have some privacy) but she always walked up with fresh drinks or snacks at just the right time.

We are looking forward to our next stay at Sandals!

Room Tip: Club Level Concierge Rooms are the way to go. Include wi-fi and room service but without the cost of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Zinger1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
84 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Despite the pr photos, guests are a mix of ages The staff is what makes this resort special - they are helpful, friendly, personable and engaging, making butler service seem an unnecessary extravagance (useful if you are with a group, though). They will do whatever they can to make your stay a good experience. Otherwise this a typical very good quality large gated resort (service buildings and surrounding photo shopped out on the website) Buses run about every 7 minutes to take you between the three main areas.(You can't walk from the Riviera beach side to the Hillside/villas/Great House, and although the beach club is quite close to the lobby there is no direct path, so it is a long walk.) There is in lots of walking as the restaurants and bars near the beach and activities are on several levels as the property runs down to seaside. Our room on the Riviera side (where most of the resort is) was excellent, nice view. Restaurants are good, especially Kimonos (best view) and Valentino's; a few are enclosed and air conditioned (we were there during an unusually hot spell), most are open with overhead fans. The parties are pretty well done. The evening shows were lively and fun in the ampitheater. Take the free snorkel trip - you won't see a lot of undersea life in Jamaica, as the reef is dead, nothing worth a paid side trip. Side trips/tours available at the tour desk are good.

Room Tip: Riviera Bamboo building has nice views of the center of the property (tropical, winding paths, koi p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week at Sandals Grande Riviera and loved every moment. Our Butler's Charlette and Debbie were amazing and made every day something special and memorable. This is our 4th stay at this resort and it just get's better and better! From accommodations to service to meals every aspect of our vacation was wonderful! Hat's off to Sandals, we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bottineau, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I can't say enough about this trip - it was fantastic! From arrival to departure - it was a trip of a lifetime. We were there to celebrate my sister's 30th birthday, there was a group of 10 of us, and the Sandals' staff took such great care of us all! Our butlers, Michele and Calicia, were absolutely fabulous! They quickly learned our habits, likes and dislikes, and made sure our time at Sandals was the best it could be. I could go on about the yummy food, great service, beautiful facilities, our amazing private villa and pool, the fun entertainment and excursions, and the cheerful staff, but it was really all the special memories and moments that I'll take from this trip = our private pool party hosted by our butlers, my roommate ordering the best room service for breakfast every morning, learning how to swim in the ocean, climbing waterfalls!, our chefs at Kimono's singing to us, the bartenders staying open an extra half hour so we could play more in the pool, my friend getting caught by the PlayMakers during Zumie Zumie, my sister learning awesome reggae dance moves, my sister and brother-in-law getting a romantic suite makeover by our butlers, our drivers always remembering us!, sharing girl time on the float in the Caribbean, crashing a wedding reception, and meeting so many friendly people! And that's not all! This trip was worth every penny - I would highly recommend it to everyone. It was a couple's resort - and I was single! - but it was such a great experience that the whole couple/single thing was easily eclipsed for me. I'm definitely going back to Jamaica, and would love to go to another Sandals resort. Triple thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at Sandals Grande Riveria. This was our 2nd sandals trip. The only thing I was disappointed with was the layout of the resort and the lack of beach front. I think the size of the resort is a little misrepresented, the resort is very large but you have to take a bus to various parts which I find a little inconvenient we just prefer to have everything within walking distance.
The atmosphere and upbeat attitude of the staff truly makes the experience. Our room was nice and kept tidy and stocked promptly every day. The restaurants were all wonderful. We loved the Hibachi (again the staff make the experience)

Our favorite time was spent at the Riveria pool bar. The bartenders there are so much fun! The service they provide is quick, efficient, and are always eager to please! (A big thanks to
Michael, Tyrone, Andre, and Pedley)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meradr0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
62.9 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,707 reviews
45.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.1 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems and Destinology so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing