We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fisherman's Point Resort
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

My room wasn't ready when I check-in. New place but needed serious repairs. See pictures. The hotel didn't have a private entrance to the beach, so we walk about 400m to the entrance. The utensils were dirty and old. There were two forks keeping the kitchen window closed. The faucets were rusting. Fridge didn't cool anything

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    62
    40
    32
    43
See reviews for
39
35
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

I enjoyed my vacation staying at the Fisherman's Resort. There are plenty of good restaurants around. I really liked when i called in advance and I got an early check-in. As soon as I arrived there at 11:00 am my room was ready and the Manager as pleasant as she was took me to my room told me everything I need to know about my room. The staff is very nice and helpful. The pool is clean and the area is outstanding. The beaches were all around the area also. The only thing that I did not like about my room was that there is only one AC located in the bedroom, so when i step out into the kitchen ,dining , living room area is hot and there was only one fan. So as you can imagine when I am cooking in the kitchen is got extremely hot at times, so I decided to do less cooking throughout my stay. But I will surely stay there again. The housekeeping does a good job cleaning room and i always had clean towels. The area is a close to downtown Ocho Rios, and there are lots of stores that you can shop at. The ATM in that area also gives you US currency cash out the machine. They also accept USD currency in many stores throughout that area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinibeaconhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

My stay was pleasant, it's not the holiday inn but it a nice place to hang your hat if your not planning on living in your room. I wanted to see the sites not sit in my room. So to be honest the rooms were out dated and the place need to be painted but it was a good place to be safe and sleep. the beach is really close and all the shops were in walking distance. I could walk out my room and take about 5 minutes to get to the white sandy beaches. security was good and the people were very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guytravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willingboro, nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Just returned from Fisherman's Point Resort, and well as my caption says it needs to come off the website listings. First, my family was given a two beedroom #54 which had furniture that was so......soild that we placed the sheets from the beds on the couch and loveseat. The bathroom light was not working due to a short in the wire. The kitchen sink was falling off the back wall and the beds for an older person were so close to the floor that we needed a strong arm just to get up, from sitting on them. The loft had trash in it and well the air conditioner in the main bedroom wire was exposed and well even with the switch on it didn't work. The toilets look like ones you might had gotten out of the trash since the inside bowls were BLACK....

After complaining to the front desk or should I say DESK, the manager tried to compensate us by saying "If we placed a curtain up to the bathroom window and tried to fix the light, would you stay in the room". Well you know the answer, We were assigned to another two bedroom which was much better. Looking around the resort there are many Jamaican's that live there on a permanent basis,and well even the pool was dirty, the cats took over the children pools (6).The place is really run down, the beach pass was just a piece of paper that when it got wet oh well, just had to get another. There was nowhere to get chairs and towels from since the other hotel had seem to take over a section of the beach. Only one key and the lock look like you only need a butter knife to slip through the door to get in. I don't know how the websites can glorify this place when it's a DUMP. By the way we had only one towel and one face cloth for the four of us to used??????
The two clubs on the strip had music blairing until around 4 in the morning. All and All this is not the spot that some reviewers are saying is good to stay at. Please take your blinders off your eyes.

FOR YOUR SAKE PLEASE DON'T GO THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denise5732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

cali
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

the hotel was very close to the beach the shops, food even though we went out and bought food to cook in the room we did eat out a few times and the choices on the road were very nice the hotel staff was very helpful and a pleasurei have stayed at the fishermans five times and i have been very happy with my room every time .the kitchen for the most part has everything you need to do your own cooking you just buy the food i have told all my friends relitives about this diamond in the rough

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiedepree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

I have been going to Jamaica and Ocho Rios for the past 20 years. I have stayed at most places on Mallard's beach. My decision to stay at Fisherman's Point was location and affordability. There were no surprises for me as I knew the overall condition of the facility.

The rooms were in need of refurbishing but were clean and comfortable. Hotel staff could not do enough for use to ensure our stay was comfortable. If you are a beach person and live on the beach I would not recommend this place for you. If you are someone that embraces the local culture and just wants a comfortable affordable place to stay I would highly recommend Fisherman's Point. Yes I have stayed at far nicer places however I like the laid bad atmosphere of Fisherman's Point.

Across the roadway is Ocean's Eleven and Margaretaville for night time entertainment. Fishermans's point is located within walking distance of everything.

I will be staying there again on my return visit.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildabrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flin Flon MB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

The furniture was out dated and the first room they put us in was awful if they give you the room next to the parking lot and mini mart refuse before going in. When we asked for another room the next morning even the desk girl laughed and wasn't surprised. The phones only work internally and friends that were staying at Couple San Souci couldn't reach us as the number in the phone book was disconnected, good thing my black berry worked but then it was long distance and roaming for every call or text. The pool in the picture is not the one that is there. you have to walk through coconuts on the bay to get to the paved pathway that takes you to the public beach which closes at about 6-7 P.M. and you need a voucher from the front desk or you will have to pay a small amt. to get on the beach. The hotel itself after you get a decent room is clean and comfortable but not really what we had thought it was so it may have been our mistake. It['s all what you want but after 8 days in Negril at Rondel Village(EXCELLENT) it wasn't a great change for us

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lylay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#16 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#20 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#13 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marine View Hotel
Marine View Hotel
#33 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Point Resort

Property: Fisherman's Point Resort
Address: Turtle Beach Road | PO Box 6201, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisherman's Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fisherman's Point is an all-suite facility located close to the cruise ship docks in Ocho Rios and across the street from Island Village, home to Margaritaville Ocho Rios. Stroll the pristine sands of beautiful Turtle Beach adjacent this low-rise cluster of condos nestled into three acres of lush tropical foliage. Available are one and two bedroom condos, complete with kitchenette, cable TV, and private balcony with mountain or ocean view. Ideal for couples, families, and groups, this condo resort offers a free form swimming pool and a wading pool for kids, daily housekeeper, a restaurant and bar. Airport transfer and nanny services can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Fisherman's Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Point Hotel Ocho Rios
Fishermans Point Hotel
Fishermans Point Ocho Rios
Fisherman's Point Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing