We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sand Castles Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
US$606
US$528
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
US$437
US$424
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
US$78
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$993
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$683
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
60
81
67
33
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
81
67
33
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate ownerturtle parkbeach accesscraft marketdunns riversupermarketmargaritavillenightlifeblast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed in apt D19,this is a a owner operated condo. It is well maintained and cleaned.There
is daily service for tidying the apt. The beech is accessed from the back gate,which has a camera in place to alert security,who will let you in and out. It takes a few minutes for security to walk from the front, so you need to wait, but they come. There is 24 hour security on property.The bar and restaurant is closed., but there are many eating places,and 2 supermarkets in walking distance.
It is quiet,but we felt safe. The outdoor pool is cleaned everyday,does need painting. Apt has working ceiling fan in living/dining,and working A/C in living/dining/b/room. Has seaview.

Room Tip: Best to book with private owner. As those are usually better maintained.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at sandcastle "resort" Dec 23-31 2012 . We are very thankful for the reviews we read as we knew what to expect and what not to expect from the facility. First of all we stayed in a privately owned unit A31. 2 BR 2 bath unit. Small,quaint but in need of repair. When we arrived we were greeted by a young lady who showed us around the unit and told us how to work the hot water heater button. She also stressed to us that the prison like door that led to the upstairs patio should ALWAYS be locked before we leave. (Kinda scary) for the first day the upstairs did not have cold water therefore we couldn't flush the toilet or take a shower. We called the owner the next morning and she had a maintenance man there in a timely manner. Though we have a feeling the girl who met us had to know this was an issue as she was also the housekeeper and the bathroom mats were soak and wet when we arrived AND the same maintenance man was there when we arrived. Yet it was not fixed until we called the owner. There are NO amenities at this place. No continental breakfast,no room service,no bar...no fun. As a matter of fact after talking to a couple from NY we found that nearly the whole facility was closed down due to not meeting habitable standards. LOL..except for privately owned homes like we rented. There were ants upstairs,some fixtures and fans did not work in the home and the stairs were falling apart and we all almost slipped and fell several times going up and down them. The "resort" was centrally located and you could walk to restaurants,shopping and grocery stores. You did have free entry to the beach behind the facility but you had to show your key and walk around 3 blocks as there was never anyone at the gates of " resort" to let us out the closer back way. There was a pool but why use the pool when there is a beach. It felt more like a rundown apartment complex rather than a "resort". We did not find ANYONE ever at the front desk and got all of our questions answered by the security guards.
Overall we enjoyed our time in Jamaica but NOT at Sandcastles and we will never stay there again. The owner was very nice and even bought my mom a bday cake and brought it all the way from Kingston but it just does not make up for the poorly maintained facility. The sandcastle resort website is very much false advertising! This is not a resort this is a centrally located rundown apartment complex. I just thank all of you who posted comments as we kinda knew what we were getting ourselves into. I gave it two stars for location and pleasant owner nothing else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here BUT if you insist rent privately
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lexy23_505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2012 returning for the first time in fifteen years and what a sad difference! In 1997 this was a lively, well kept hotel with direct access to the beach. Now it is an empty shell with no life. The bar and restaurant have closed and the pool in not in use. The pool area has no tables or sun loungers. The gate onto the beach directly opposite the hotel gate has been walled up which means a walk along the path to the public gate- not far but annoying with an elderly, infirm relative.The gate from the hotel was also locked and unmanned so it was hard to get out without a long wait and it was impossible to get back into the complex without another long wait or by walking round to the front of the hotel. This meant walking through a public car park, out onto the main street and round to the front of the hotel with all the street vendors and taxi drivers approaching us which is not what you want from a hotel located on the beach! The bar on the beach was also closed when we were there and the swimming area has been roped off to allow swimmers to swim in water so shallow it hardly covers your knees. All the tour companies seem to have pulled out so there were few visitors to this hotel complex. Our apartment was OK- clean and comfortable but there was no hot water the whole time we were there.The complex was also very empty. I think we were the only people staying in our block so it didn't feel very safe and the walk ways were dark at night.The gardens are still beautiful and well kept. This resort could be so lovely as the location,gardens and beach are so beautiful.The local area has improved since our last visit, with more entertainment, bars and restaurants but this hotel needs major investment. The access to the beach needs to be improved and the owners need to get together to address the problems.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks with boyfriend and had an amazing time. The apartment was clean and offers everything you need when you're on holiday. The owner Jen provided us with a jamaican mobile line which meant we didnt have to worry about crazy phone bills when we returned. The housekeeper Stephanie came on more or less a daily basis and is a lovely woman. Apartment offers fully equipped kitchen, pc with internet, stereo, cable tv, etc. Lovely sized bedroom and separate living area. Literally 2 mins walk onto the beach which is just behind the complex. All at great rates. Only downfall is that since we went in October it was very quiet on the complex so most things such as bar and restaurant in Sandcastles were closed but being in the centre of Ocho Rios you really dont have to go too far for anything. Going back next year and I know exactly where I'm staying. Room D13.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I booked this room with the owner who does not live in Ocho Rios. Not one time did she tell me that the air wasn't working properly. We were suppose to stay for 3 nights, but didn't arrive until the next day, so it would have been two nights. When we arrived. we meet with the owner's private housekeeper who was very nice, polite and helpful. She gave us the key and we gave her a deposit of $100, which we would get back if everything was alright with the place. We started to unpack and realized the the air wasn't working, just making noise. We figured that we needed to let it warm up a little bit, so we left out. When we came back, still no air. So, I decided to take a shower and realized that I could not even fit in the shower. I had to leave the shower door open, because it wasn't big enough for me. We called the housekeeper and she said that she would call the owner. She spoke with the owner, but we never heard from her that night. We told the housekeeper that we wanted to leave immediatley, but unfortunately, we had to leave the next morning. It was such an inconvenience, not only for us, but the housekeeper who had to take a taxi to come and get the key back that next morning around 7am. We didn't here from the owner until 2 days later. I asked her to refund my money into my account immediately, because we needed it to help pay another room. Not once, did this owner say that she would help us with any other accomodations or transportation funds for that matter. I never received any apology email from this owner, so it was very obvious that she did not even care. We paid for transportation from one parish to Ochie and from Ochie back to the same parish, which was very expensive. I took pictures and can forward them to anyone who wishes to see what our nightmare was about.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Queendom1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews