We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed 27 January 2012

If you want constant entertainment, waterslides, & luxury accommodations, don't go to Shaw Park! However, if you want a relaxing, refreshing vacation away from mobs of people, a beautifuly beach, friendly staff and good food, by all means go to Shaw Park Beach Hotel. This is an older hotel, with the maintenance woes of an old hotel, but the staff does its best to make everyone comfortable. Every room is an ocean front room, first floor rooms open out right onto the beach. I was on the second floor with a lovely view of the Caribbean & shoreline. While the hotel has 94 rooms, there were only about 35 people staying at the hotel when I was there from January 9 - 14. As a result, I made some wonderful new friends. The staff is friendly & helpful without exception. The bartenders are always happy to mix whatever concoction you can dream. This was my first trip to Jamaica and I found everyone welcoming and friendly, happy to tell you about their country, but enough already about Bob Marley!

Room Tip: Avoid room 249.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BathshebanDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

my first impression was nice , lots of history in the decoration ,bedroom was clean and bed very comfortable , the staff on a whole were amazing seriously very warm and friendly .
there was a manager that was always shouting at the staff in front of guest this made us feel very uncomfortable not very proffesional .
The food was average , we got very nice food when one of the cruise liners docked and visitors came to the hotel to eat ,
the hotel is perfect if you dont want to do any activerties, i was with my niece but it was very boring for her the pool was always being cleaned and did not look very inviting , luckerly we had a few excurstions planned
i did appreciate that it was not to packed , as seen in other hotels where towels are put down early as to secure a sun lounger
would i go there again , maybe if certain improvments are done, but i would look elsewhere first

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank cindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Amazingly Surreal vacation

My husband and I stayed at the Shaw Park Jamaica over the Christmas and New years holiday 2012 and enjoyed the most fabulous all inclusive vacation we have ever been on.
The resort itself has the charming allure of an old colonial mansion. The staff is friendly and the food is delicious authentic Jamaican cuisine.
The view is simply majestic. All the rooms face the ocean and are literally a few steps away from the beach and the main bar.
Furthermore, this resort attracted the most wonderful, brilliant, and funny guest I have ever met (you know who you are ). We met so many amazing people and would stay up late discussing politics, sitting around the bar, or adventuring together into Ocho Rios.
This resort is best enjoyed by couples who aren’t interested in a luxury plastic Beverly Hills hotel. Shaw Park has a rustic charm more dazzling than any cookie cutter resort.
Because this resort is so small, you have a chance to make friends with everyone there. And It was so quiet at night that it felt as though we had rented a private mansion with a few friends.
If you plan to go off the resort the best way to do this is to walk five minutes up the road to the highway. From the highway you can catch a cab (cabs have red license plates) for $1 each compared to the $20 cab straight from the resort. The same goes for if you want to take a day trip or tour. It's better to talk to a cabbie and get a reasonable price because the tour groups are quite expensive. And I can assure you that taking the local cabs is completely safe.

My husband and I had a fantastic time and met fantastic people. That being said, the air-conditioning in our room didn’t work, the pool was closed the entire time, and the hotel didn’t have an a la carte restaurant. These things didn’t bother us as my husband and I are experienced travelers. However, if you are looking to stay in an American style hotel with all the amenities this resort might not be for you. But if you love a relaxing ambiance, great people, rustic charms, and great food, then the Shaw Park is where you should vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so it really doesn't matter which room you stay in. However, if you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Christina112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

6 of us went there last March 2011 and it was the worst trip we have ever experienced. We are not 5 star hotel people but we are not budget hotel people which is exactly what this was. In fact we had to pay an extra $250.00 per person to leave this dump and upgrade to the Riu in Ocho Rios. Needless to say, when we returned we wanted our money back for some of it. The hotel did not reimburse us one cent. Do yourself a favour and don't waste your money going there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Just spent chritmas and new years (10 days)2011-2012 at the Shaw Park because once your there you have no choice. place looks great in pictures but in real life very run down with original paint,carpet & furniture. musty odour in rooms,pool closed for chemical treatment for entire stay,run out of certain alcohol on 2nd day and never replaced,breakfast and lunch the same everyday,dinners were good,most staff were good not all (general manager).Rooms looked clean but deep cleaning required(ceramic floors scruubbed or power washed) carpets looked original & disgusting.All furnishings inside and outside on patio very old,no towels until 7 at night,no entertainment at all, no sun on the beach unless out on 1 of the peers,no bugs to be seen. Over all the place is maybe a 1 star rated hotel but that might be a stretch.This resort is very,very,very falsely advertised. There is no restaurant selection available, only 1 place to eat .There are no renovations done or being done to this place at all ,as written in some of the advertisements.Would not return even if it was free,and we weren't expecting anything fancy.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. No photos available because nothing worth taking pictures of
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Snowhound12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel was fine. I had a great stay .I made some new friends due to the small numbers.New years was so much fun.The staff was excellant. The food was good and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maggie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

K, I will start with the good stuff by saying that the staff is VERY friendly, the bedding is clean, and that the food is excellent. It is very inviting when you first walk in to the small, yet open, lobby. That's about it for the good.

This place is in MAJOR need of some fixing up! Everything needs some form of attention. Floor tiles are cracked and appear old and dirty. The gift shop and discoteques are joke. The rooms are NOT as they appear on the websites and do not include what is listed (ie. a fridge). About 20% of the light fixtures through-out the resort do not work. The pool was unable to be used for the entire stay, which is ok because you cannot see the ocean from it anyways. The lobby chairs and couches are stained and dirty. The deck chair cushions are dirty and most have mold. The beach is not very maintained and gets deep very quickly. Such a bad first impression that we tried to find another resort. By the way SUNWING DID NOTHING TO HELP AND WAS 100% OF NO USE TO US! They wanted us to eat what we paid here and pay full price for another resort for the remainder of our stay.

I understand that you cannot fly thousands of miles and just say that you do not like something and expect to get ot all resolved for free. But this place is very very very falsely advertised!

So, would I come back? To Jamaica? You bet! To Shaw Park Beach Resort? Only if the cleaned the place up. Are you Resort Owners reading this? The government is going to spend millions on this area, maybe you should spend some too.

Will I ever use Sunwing again? NEVER! Our Tour Rep was also of no use to us and did not even come to see us. Next time I will use Noli Tours again.

I understand that one must always experience stuff for themselves and that you can't listen to every negative thing you read. But please know that you work hard for your vacation time, so spend your hard earned money somewhere else. Jamacia is awesome and the people are always happy, just do not stay at the Shaw Park Beach Hotel and Spa.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rsagert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.7 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#17 of 35 in Ocho Rios
275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marine View Hotel
Marine View Hotel
#31 of 35 in Ocho Rios
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#20 of 35 in Ocho Rios
323 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Sands
Ocean Sands
#28 of 35 in Ocho Rios
91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chrisanns Beach Resort
Chrisanns Beach Resort
#12 of 35 in Ocho Rios
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#13 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £134 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Park Beach Hotel And Spa
Shaw Park Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Hotel Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing