We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Lake Forest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed for 6 nights. To be fair, the first night we got there, there was no one else staying in the hotel. So needless to say, the service was amazing. The all inclusive nature of the hotel is great, but the major selling point to me and my girlfriend was the location. Its a few miles off the beaten path of the rest of the resorts in Ocho Rios and the private beach that it over looks is absolutely breathtaking. There are small jetties to walk out onto and jump off into the beautiful crystal clear 80 degree water, gorgeous white sand, and the beachfront bar is literally feet away from the beach lounging area. Our room was to be expected, but who cares about the room. It did the job just fine. The staff was always nice and professional and we were treating like gold once the staff caught wind that it was our one year anniversary together. They took extra special care of us and even reserved a table with the best view each night we went to dinner. As the hotel got busier and more guests showed the service never declined. The menu at the hotel restaurant was great. At least three to four things to choose from each day being different from breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We seriously decided a few days to not even venture out into Ocho Rios because we felt so at home and relaxed at the hotel. We had everything we needed, food, booze, our room, the beach, and activities.

The only thing I would say negative about the hotel is that they don't actually offer all that is said on the website when it comes to the all inclusive water sports. The snorkeling is really the only thing that is available. The kayaks didn't have oars, and there were no catamarans or sailing boats as advertised. But the snorkeling is amazing and the reef not too far out from the hotel beach is breathtaking.

All in all, an amazing trip, we will never forget. We will always remember our nights at the beachfront bar with Smiley. The self nicknamed bar tending genius who makes a killer drink and manages to make you laugh.

Room Tip: Tip the staff well the first night and they will remember that the rest of your stay. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelgayle, Director of Sales at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thanks a lot for those wonderful reviews, i will pass on your comments to "Smiley" our Bar Tender extraordinaire.
i will mention your concerns about the water sport issues to our Chairman.
Thanks again and we look forward seeing you again.
Remember to bring some friends on that visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    133
    103
    63
    102
See reviews for
85
221
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Ok. So you don't have included the scuba diving or jet skis, but fantastic beach and pool, excellent rooms with great ocean views. Food was not available 24 hours but when it was there was more than enough and good quality. Never went hungry. Staff went out of there way to make the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelgayle, Director of Sales at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks for your kind comments, we continue to try harder as we move from 3 to 4 stars. We look forward having you again, remember to share the fun with your friends, bring them the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Actually attended: last week of February 2012 (had to select July 2012 since we could only go back as far as July 2012 in the drop-down asking when we attended the resort).

We booked Shaw Park instead of a 5 star because we knew we would be doing a lot of travelling around the island, so we weren't too picky about what our room was like and we just wanted a resort that was small and authentic Jamaican.

We were not disappointed. Yes, the grounds and rooms need a lot of work and the food was repetitive and sparse at times, but frankly for a small 3 star, it was exactly what we were expecting.

The resort is very small and intimate. All the rooms are oceanfront. Ours was literally steps from the beach and bar! Perfect! And since it was so small, there was no waiting in line for drinks or food and there were enough loungers for everyone in the resort to have 2 each! LOL The pool was tiny and deserted most of the time as everyone spent their time on the beach.

If you are looking for a party resort, this one is not for you as there is no entertainment or nightlife to speak of. They have musicians playing after dinner, and one night there was karaoke until 11pm at the beach bar, but the disco maybe had 20 people in it after 11pm!

That was fine for us since we weren't there to party all night. We were there to relax and unwind, as well as to check out the sights and culture around the island.

We didn't do any organized excursions, but we did hire a car and driver to take us (and another couple we met at the resort) around the island for some authentic jerk chicken and to visit the Blue Lagoon and Bob Marley's homestead. We did some shopping in Ocho Rios as well and met a lot of really nice people.

Our drive Fritz (we call him Fritz the Cat due to his cat-like moves manoeuvering through the treacherous roads leading up to Bob Marley's and manoeuvering around the roads. They drive like NYC cabbies in Jamaica! It was great fun!

Shaw Park will always hold a special place in my heart since I got engaged there! My now-husband proposed to me in the gazebo on the dock at dusk on my birthday. So romantic!

I think we'll be back again. Maybe for our 5th wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: They are all oceanfront, so I don't think you can pick a bad one. However, closer to the main lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisahLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelgayle, Director of Sales at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thanks for your honest reviews of our wonderful property. We have taken note of ALL your comments and I can assure you we always have our guest in mind. Please come back and bring your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Decent hotel with an excellent private beach. Quiet and relaxing. It is not a 5-star but offers good and clean rooms just on the beach.

One of the disadvantages is that it does not offer wi-fi apart from a restricted area in front of the reception and that the food could have been better and more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yiannis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelgayle, Director of Sales at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Wonderful comments, we will be looking into getting 2 more WiFi repeaters so we will have coverage through out the property.
Thanks and look forward seeing you and don't forget to bring some friends so that your stay can be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent a week at the Shaw Park from 5/19 - 5/26, along with 4 other family members. We booked the trip thru Vacation Express and had direct flights from Cinci to Montego Bay. Upon arrival at the Shaw Park, we were quickly checked into our rooms. During the check-in progress, one of the staff came up to tell us they had saved some dinner for us since we arrived after 10PM. We went to our rooms, dropped off luggage then headed down to the bar. Even though the bar normally closes at 10PM, they readily accommodated us and no one acted put out. Come to find out, there were a TOTAL of 10 guests at the hotel! All of us had come in on the same flight - it was like our own private resort! No the rooms aren't perfect, and no there aren't activities beyond kayaking available, but we knew that going in. We took cards and played euchre every evening after dinner. The rooms are clean, there was plenty of hot water and the air conditioning is cold. You couldn't ask for a more beautiful location on the beach, and there are no locals wanting you to buy stuff from them. I didn't use the pool, but it's a good size and one member of our group preferred that over the ocean. There is no ocean view from the pool, so I stayed on the beach! Shaw Park does have groups that come in, but we didn't find that to be a negative. One day, a group of about 60 middle school kids were there. Their parents had bought this trip for them as a reward for a good school year. The kids were very polite and it was fun watching them have fun! Another day there were a few groups from the cruise ship there. Again, not an inconvenience, but something new to watch.

Food: Most days it was ala carte. We did have a lunch buffet a couple of days, and for breakfast 1 day. The food was good - better than most all inclusive places I have stayed at. There were usually 3 options for lunch and dinner, always a salad and always dessert of some sort. I had red snapper cooked a couple of different ways - very good! Breakfast consisted of eggs - including omelets, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, juices, French toast, pancakes and always some traditional Jamaican dish.

Staff: They are what make this resort! Anthony Morgan - the day time kitchen mgr is wonderful! He's not only personable, but will do anything he can to help make your stay enjoyable. He's also a published poet (in the US)! One day, some of our group wanted cheeseburgers for dinner... he made it happen! He makes sure you're being taken care of and if you aren't, he does it himself. One member of our group wanted chewy bacon, the rest of us crispy - that was remembered and done. They set a table with 6 seats for us for breakfast and dinner - like our own private seating area. Conroy at the bar is very good - again, personable and obviously enjoys what he does. Darren was also very pleasant. We locked ourselves out of our room 1 morning - no problem - the front desk just gave us another key and we took it back when we got into our room. They made sure we got to the buffet while there was still food when groups were there. I don't think I've ever stayed at a place where it was always service with a smile - regardless of what staff member you were dealing with.

If you're looking for a place that offers all the bells and whistles and rooms that look like something out of a magazine, this isn't the place for you. But, if you're looking for a nice quiet vacation on a beautiful beach and a staff that appreciates your presence, then you can't go wrong!

Shout out to our original group - Mary & Pat from Columbus, & Mary & Kent from Covington - and hello to all of the Shaw Park staff who made our vacation memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank krv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelgayle, Director of Sales at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Wow! it sure felt great reading your your review, I have taken note of all your concerns and have pass on the compliments to the staff.
We hope you will consider us again for your next vacation.
Thanks again, and we look forward serving you and your group in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed with 3 other family members at this hotel. Other than sunning oneself on the the beach there was nothing to do there. The advertised amenities were non-existent, indeed, the advertizing was false. The pool was filthy and unuseable. There were so many mosquitoes, you couldn't be out at night (where all meals were served) without being 'eaten alive'. Food was limited and mediocre at best. The wait staff was friendly and accomodating, especially a bartender named Smiley. This did not apply to the manager who was arrogant and unresponsive to requests and complaints and publicly disrespectful to his staff. Bar supplies were in short supply (no lemons, limes, club soda & cheap liquor). I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mebparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelgayle, Director of Sales at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We thank you for your comment and hope that despite this bad experience you did have a relaxed stay with us. We continue to improve the quality of service and the product we offer and that the hotel is know for over the years.
As for your comment relating to the Manager we have passed your comments on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I went here for my birthday...hoping the reviews were not true...well !!!!" they are. .i had a terrible birthday and lost lots of money.. When i checked in..i only saw 2 other ladies in the resort..food that should of been stored certain tenperatures wasnt...the boss hides in his office...did not come to address my concerns...they offered me a different room...no way...the rooms are so outdated...do not trust the pictures ..it worst than it appears...i actually caught a early fight home. .no way i would of laid in there beds / ate there food / left my belongings unattended....vacation/ birthday gone all wrong...:(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank deaddddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelgayle, Director of Sales at Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
We thank for taking time out to record your experience here at our wonderful property. I have passed along the comments that are serious, and wish to make a correction to one of these. The pictures that are posted any where on the internet are true of the property, if you have found one that you believe is not, please bring it to my attention.
I would like to apologize for us not been able to meet or surpass your expectations, as you are aware, we are aware we cannot please all our guest but we certainly try as hard, I refer you to those other reviews here that we certainly did meet their needs.
Thanks again, and hopefully we will be able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
83.3 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rooms Ocho Rios
Rooms Ocho Rios
#14 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#19 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
83.4 mi away
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
83.4 mi away
SuperClubs Rooms on the Beach Negril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#13 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Park Beach Hotel And Spa
Shaw Park Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Hotel Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing