We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unkept since the British left Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Chattanooga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unkept since the British left Jamaica”
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Shaw Park looks like it was nice when Jamaica was an English colony. It is run down and a dump. My wife and I booked this as a beach excursion along with a climb up Dunns River Falls. To start with the trip from the pier in Ocho Rios to the 'resort' was 45 minutes late. The drive though Ocho is an experience itself. This was our first visit to Jamaica. The resort is old and run down. The beach chairs were covered in ants. The beach itself is not tidy more of a gravel covered dirt pile. The entertainment was a limbo dancer. He was good but not worth the price of admission. We didn't eat anything at Shaw Park as nothing was offered. However being on a cruise we just ate on board. We would not book this location again. The bathrooms were horrid, filled with mosquitoes and the toilet was clogged. I can't even image anyone staying here as I actually thought it was abandoned except for cruise ship passengers using the beach. Call me cynical if you like but i suspect the positive reviews may be from staff and not genuine. If you would like more info feel free to email me [--]

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIssie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    134
    104
    63
    105
See reviews for
86
223
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Shaw Park Hotel is not a five star but has the luxury of peace and quiet for relaxation. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff provides excellent service. We found the food to be excellent and you have a good choice depending on individual taste, likes and dislike.
My wife , mother in law , cousin and myself decided to visit Jamaica and did not know what to expect, the people are friendly, good temperture between 26 to 30C. We had a wonderful time. There are lots on interesting places to visit. The hotel Manager Mr. Melton Ernesta, is very friendly and customer focus. He is transparent and always ready to help his guests. Humphrey & Sylviane from Ottawa

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, QC
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2009

It's definitely a 3 1/2* hotel. Run down. mostly made of wood with many coats of paint.
Beach was dirty when we got there, I guess being in a Bay doesn't help. They tried to keep it clean but not very successful. the beach was fairly long so we hung out at the other end for the first couple of days there as it was the nicest part. It was far from the bar though. I was expecting a nicer beach, had heard so much about nice beached in Jamaica, not in Ocho Rios, maybe Nigrel.
Food was good but at the end of the week it seemed repetitive.
Staff very nice, pool, nice and big
Room, ocean view, nice, clean but small.
Disco but so many older people staying there that there's never anyone in the disco
No nightly entertainment like at all other resorts I've stayed at. They had a signer in a couple of nights but they weren't that great.
what I really enjoyed was that there were no kids or loud, drunk people.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeekerTigger2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

Brockville, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

My wife and I and our friends (another couple) stayed at the Shaw Park from Feb 10 - 17, 2009.

I must admit when we booked we weren't sure what to expect. We've typically visited the larger resorts in the Caribbean and Central America, and the reviews and photos on TripAdvisor made it clear that Shaw Park was not that. But the price was right, and we're pretty easy going, so we went for it.

And something odd happened within the first few days we were there..... it won us over.

Part of it is its small size. Part of it is that it's clean and well maintained for an older property. Part is the food .... which in our opinion was awesome at every single meal.
But the biggest part was the management and staff.

The manager, Mr. Ernesta, made the rounds regularly, asking guests if everything was okay. He seems to really want to make your experience a positive one. Case in point - on our final night, he found out we were leaving early the next morning - before the kitchen opened - and so arranged for staff to provide coffee, pastries, and fruit to the eight of us who were leaving that day. AND, he came by to see us off and wish us well.

In addition to management, the real treasure here is the staff. They are among the friendliest, most entertaining, and most attuned to making your stay great that we've seen. Everyone, from bar and restaurant staff to cleaning staff and bellmen were fantastic. Shaw Park has assembled a first rate team that wants you to have a good time.

Is Shaw Park for everyone? No, probably not. If you need constant stimulation and the most up to date amenities, go somewhere else. Shaw Park is small, a bit dated in its decor, and located in relative seclusion on a small bay. Not everyone will like it.

But they are genuinely interested in providing you the best vacation they can. And my sense is they are really, really trying to build the business and improve the resort.

I hope people give this one a chance.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brock09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

My s.o. and I stayed here for a week this month. Our balcony was steps away from the beach. The hotel was very quiet and there were no more than two or three other couples on the beach at any time. The beach was groomed every day at dawn.

Our room was very attractive and clean. The bed was comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

I was unhappy with the food and bar. The bar had no tequila for three days. They made mimosas with white wine instead of champagne.

All meals were buffet style and boring. We had snapper three nights in a row{4 days total). If I see one more vegetable medley I'll scream.
They offered a special meal in a dining room for $25. I booked it wednesday for Sunday(there were no openings until then). When we sat down we were the only people in the place. The " prawns" were just normal shrimp.

If you just stay on the property this will be fine. If you like to walk around the neighborhood, forget it.
If this was in a better area I'd stay here and eat meals out.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

I traved here a few years ago. we got a awsome deal on it cuz it was very last min. 2 days befor we got thier ( we mised our other trip we had booked in advance so ended up here) This hotel is very good for older people looking for a quiet vacaion that you dont have to walk 20 min to get to the beach. It is very small the room that we stayed in was about 10 steps to the beach 5 to the bar and 20 to the buffe. NO WALKING. which was awsome. also you will NEVER have any trouble getting a beach chair. We whent witha group of 6. 2 15 year olds , 2 - 22 year olds and 2 - 40 year old. we all enjoyed it. Its what you make of it. This is by NO means a party resort. the night club is boring and all the bars are closed by about 1 in the morning. we mad our own partys though and had a great time. Food: best food i have every had on vacation. Overal for what we paid ($600pp incl flights) Totaly worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippy420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec (CANADA)
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Not sure why other reviews say there was a 3 hr ride and seemed surprise they state that.........?????
Upon our arrival aware that this was not a 4* hotel but to have bugs, doors did not close properly, bathroom awful sheets dirty then to make things ever worse we were not even in our room 10 mins someone came to our room door and offered pot ??? What is up with that???
We did not sleep the entire night could not wait till morning to book another resort so paid for a week stay there......then had to go elsewhere and pay again but the balance of our stay was AMAZING !!!!!!

USA

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLO1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
83.3 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
83.3 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
83.3 mi away
Beachcomber Club
Beachcomber Club
#50 of 81 in Negril
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
244 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rooms Ocho Rios
Rooms Ocho Rios
#18 of 35 in Ocho Rios
855 reviews
83.4 mi away
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#13 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Park Beach Hotel And Spa
Shaw Park Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Hotel Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing