We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice relaxing vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

I went to this hotel from March 16th to 23rd. Very nice relaxing hotel. The room we had was very clean and had hot water everyday for my boyfriend and I to shower. The food was excellent!! Brakefast was pretty much the same everyday with an eggstation, pancakes, sausages, bread, cerel, fruits ...very good. Diner and super was great too. Something different everyday! As somebody said on another post, there's only one bar opened at a time. So during the day it's the beach bar, and at night it's the 'discotheque" bar. Drinks offered at the bar are good. You can nicely ask the bartender for more or less alcohol.

There was absolutely no entertainement in the hotel. So the nights were pretty quiet. I wouldn't recommand this hotel if you're the "party" type of person, unless you want to go downtown. I wouldn' recommen it also to families with young children as there's absolutely no activities for children in the hotel. There's was a family with a girl about 7-8 years old when I was there, she seemed pretty bored everyday!

Activities outside the hotel are organised everyday but are very expensive. I suggest you take a cab and make your own activities. There are 2 shuttles going downtown living the hotel twice a day.

The beach is private and very nice! Lots of chairs. Free activities are offered on the beach like kayaking and snorkeling.

The only negative thing about the hotel I thought was the staff... Not very friendly, don't smile at all. There's this one girl at the bar that seems pissed off everytime you asked for a drink.... But putting that aside, this was a very nice vacation. I would recommand this hotel for couples who want a quiet getaway. We paid 630$ each for this trip so it was a very good value for the price.

feel free tio contact me for more informations or pictures.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    133
    103
    63
    102
See reviews for
85
221
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

So I planned my vacation and was referred by Expedia. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life. Dinner was horrible, I waited and waiter came to offer a drink when I was leaving the table. The rooms were filled with bugs, Balcony was disgusting. At breakfast long line with little old man with big wart on his face taking his own time to make the eggs. I left the line without eating breakfast. I had to leave after a sleepless night terrified of the bugs in the ceiling and mosquito bites. I was promised a refund after leaving after one night but they later stated that I had to be charged. Luckily for me I went elsewhere and had a marvelous time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

Toronto
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

Well, i can't say my vacation was the greatest. The peopel that manage that hotel is very lackadaisic. Every thing is done very sloppy. The only good service you got was the ones that you tip for. The food is disgusting and poorly made, no variety considering it is the carribean and some of us would appreciate a change in meals a bit of their culture i should say. Some of the room are disgusting and people stop saying what you pay for is what you get like i read on some of the reviews. It was freaking expensive and it should be money well spent. Instead i spent my first day in the room crying because the accomodations were horrible and the manager even more inconsiderate. The building is very old and it shows in the plumbing when the toilets are overflowing. The drinks were poorly made not enough alchohal and the entertainment was boring more like putting me to bed my nine, not really what i expected. Please people do your research. It is rated as a 31/2 star i think it's a 1 star. Oh and if you can buy jamacan money before you go so you wouldn't get rippied off very important to know. We learned the hard way. The trips they have are even worse especially the one that says they are 200 species of ferns you will be lucky if you find one. The dunns river is great i enjoyed that, the only thing i must have enjoyed. I hope this helps you to make your decision. I will never go back there. the people who give great reviews about the food or accomodations are the one who were to drunk to notice that they were tipping way to much that's why they got good service or they were stuck reading or using their lab-top to notice these things. The gym Equipmewnt don't work just incase you thought you might have an early morning work out.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bequia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

Ernest "Ernie" Smatt, owner of Shaw Park, needs some lessons in customer service and how not to "falsely advertise." The website boosts about several bars. In actuality, one bar is open at a time and there are only 2 bars. Plus, the bars run out of rum and do not stay open until their designated times unless you pay the bartender extra. The beaches were nice, except there were no services provided.... Unless, a crusise ship had come into town. Then the beaches were over crowded, but they had the reggage music playing, as well as people on the beach offerig drinks, food, etc. Free Wi-Fi from your rooms did not exist

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENLANGLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Small, friendly and quiet. This is one of the oldest resorts in Jamaica. It's kind of stepping back in time. The buffet has several choices at every meal; kind of like visiting friends who like to cook. A couple cruise ship tours came to thew resort while we were there; fun to people watch and the staff coped well with the increased guests.

Music at the bar and restaurant is also a trip back in time, and at a volume low enough for normal conversation. Nightly entertainment was fun. The beach bar closes at 10 pm, which was fine with us.

The staff are actually allowed to bring their brains to work so any request is given their best effort. The bar tenders are good at their job and there's a nice variety of drinks. Of course it's Jamaica, so you should adjust your wait meter for the slower pace, but that's why we went there.

All in all, good value for time in the sun with someone else doing the cooking and cleaning.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geekinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews for this hotel but for the price we paid, it was well worth it. My first impression of the hotel was that it was a little bit dated but what made up for this was the fantastic service, amazing food and beautiful beach and ocean views. If you are looking for a huge resort with all the bells and whistles then this is probably not the place for you but if you are looking for a nice quiet and relaxing stay with ocean views where you are steps from the beach than this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripGal_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

Dont go there. I had no hot water my whole time.I had 2 use another room or lose my balcony.It was scary at night goin down a long hallway up another flight of stairs.I had 2 keep returning the key after every shower.That was inconvient,Looked nothing like the website.Everything is old.The food and music was American I thought i was still n the U,S.The staff was cool but 2 me if u was black they didnt really notice u until u started tippn better.Make sure u hav snacks bcause once the kitchen closes u wll starve.Dont go through the hotel 4 enjoyment the cab drivers will take care of u.They are the best. All inclusive Hell !!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolate7184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
83.3 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rooms Ocho Rios
Rooms Ocho Rios
#14 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#19 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
83.4 mi away
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
83.4 mi away
SuperClubs Rooms on the Beach Negril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Cutlass Bay, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#13 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Park Beach Hotel And Spa
Shaw Park Beach Hotel Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Ocho Rios
Shaw Park Hotel Jamaica
Shaw Park Beach Hotel & Spa Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing