We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really white water rafting but ok...ish.”
Review of White River

White River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Dunn's River Falls and White River Tubing Experience
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Private Blue Hole Excursion From Ocho Rios
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Private Dunn's River Falls and Tubing Combo Tour from Ocho Rios
Ranked #6 of 69 things to do in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get up close and personal with the Chukka White River Valley location, offering stunning natural beauty and historic landmarks. The clarity of the water at White River Valley and the consistency of the river flow make it stand out above other locations on the island. The limestone bedrock filters the river’s water so it remains crystal clear even when there’s flooding. Located in St. Mary, Jamaica, this location is home to beautiful wildlife and an extensive history. With the exciting zipline adventure and thrilling river tubing journey this location is the perfect piece of paradise when paired with the Blue Hole experience!
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not really white water rafting but ok...ish.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

To call this white water is a stretch. It was nice but a bit boring as we were looking for an adventure. It was expensive from Mobay at $70/ person with no lunch included but as we were left on the beach for 3 hours we had lots of time to spend our money on beer and lunch there... Not great. The river is lovely and my son enjoyed the rope swing. Take your sunglasses off although the kids will dive for them. We left a tip with the rafter for the kid for finding them but who knows....
Get a group together and use a taxi for the ride and then you won't be stuck on the beach so long and it should be a much better price. I did not get any response to email from any of the other companies so booked through Karandas Tours and they used the JUTA vans so all was well with that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank YvonneLynnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    238
    62
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful river tubing experience, but ...”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Did not expect it to be a loud and boisterous trip, as was expecting a calm and serene trip down a lovely river with nice scenery, with the occasional light rapid. We had booked this trip through the tour booking desk at our resort, Couples San Souci. I still give it a solid four stars as it was a very pretty river, the guides were safety obsessed and friendly, which was good, the scenery was amazing, the ride was mostly serene, and a cold beer in the middle of the trip hit the spot. Now the part that was unexpected was the loudness of the guides during the 1hour long trip, as they tried to make the trip exciting when it should have been left as is, since there were only a couple of areas where it could have been called exciting. To be fair, we were a big group, and at times the guides had to shout as we tended to be spread out. Chukka River Tubing was the tour company. Next time I would go in a smaller group, and I would focus on the fun aspect of the trip rather than preconceived notions of how I should feel after the trip, which for me was calm and relaxed. Unless of course calm and relaxing is what you want, if so would make my feelings known beforehand. Hopefully, that is not too confusing for a review ...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sohail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool Tubing”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a gentle beautiful blue river with tropical plants and birds The guides assist you to float the riffles and pools Halfway you stop where you can rope swing into a deep hole and purchase red stripe and souviniers We loved it and would definitely do it again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank livthedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fun time on the river”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I think we all enjoyed the Blue Hole more than tubing down the White River, but that is a hard attraction to beat! There are a few "rapids" but you shouldn't be afraid as they are very limited and over quickly. We tubed with a group of maybe 10-15 people. We had two guides that would make sure we weren't getting too close to the banks of the river, sing us songs, tell us jokes, point out historical places or interesting things in nature, etc. The water was refreshing (not as cold as the Blue Hole) and beautiful--you could see fish in it every now and then. It wasn't very deep in most places but the bottom of the tube didn't scrape anything either. I'd recommend water shoes--some people went barefoot and had a hard time walking to the bank for a midway stop (you can get Red Stripe, etc. for a few bucks about halfway through the trip). Also remember cash to tip your guides. Overall, lasted about 2 hours. I would recommend this trip if you are looking for something relaxing and entertaining but not if you are looking for a thrill ride or adrenaline rush. Great time for all!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tubes or Guided Raft”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We chose the tubes and our 6 year old daughter loved it. Water was great and there were very few people at 10am. The guide sang and helped out. He was not pushy but earned the tip. They offer a midway stop for beers and photos. - So next time we're going in the afternoon!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WHWmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White River also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to White River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing