We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mystic Ridge Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Ocho Rios B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at Mystic; the location is perfect. It overlooks the ocean and depending on the room you are in, you can see the cruise ships when they are in.The room amenities are very modern. I had a 2 br suite and was able to cool and have dinner on the balcony overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aradene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked an all inclusive 4 star with Sunwing Vacations to Ocho Rios, Jamaica - Mystic Ridge Resort. We were shocked to see the state of the resort. The 4 star we expected turned out to be a "no star". Not only the staff of the resort but even the Sunwing rep claimed it was not a 4 star and definitely not inclusive. We were duped!!!

Since check in was 3:00 p.m. and we arrived at 1:30 p.m. we were charged for lunch!! The all inclusive turned out to be almost non-inclusive. There was only a small kitchen and not only the state of the utensils being used but also the meagre buffet breakfast (4 chafing dishes) contained items that were questionable. We had a choice of either that or an omelet with 2 slices of bread (the toaster was finicky) and a dollop of butter nothing else. The fruit salad (only melon bits floating in some liquid) was set in a punch bowl covered with cling wrap! Since we were to have the almost inclusive!! we were offered a lunch menu of 2 chicken items, goat curry and fish and for dinner there was another selective menu where half of the items were not available. Imagine eating this repeatedly for 7 days. The bar was non-existent. One soft drink or alcoholic bev, if available, was provided only with meals. We were grocery shopping to meet our needs in Jamaica. What did we get for our vacation - a whole bunch of mosquito bites which are still itchy!!

Room Tip: Buyer Beware when selecting Sunwing Airlines!! Do your research well. This was my first and last tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Syl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Having celebrated anniversaries in London(UK), Molokai, Nags Head and Munich, we are getting pretty picky. Ocho Rios in general and Mystic Ridge in particular were perfect! The grounds are spectacular and as meticulously maintained as a sultan's palace. There is a large freeform pool with a swim-up bar featuring underwater bar stools. Perfectly manicured walkways meander all through the property, which comprises individual buildings of eight or ten units each. The views are fascinating. The trades blow evenly but unobtrusively along the ridge. Downtown "Ochie" is an easy walk, although the climb back is steep. The location is at the heart of everything, and there is plenty to do, but there is no traffic or nightlife noise. The staff, from the manager all the way down to the groundskeepers are congenial in the extreme and genuinely happy to be of service if a guest needs information or assistance. The bartender in the Red Plum lounge is particularly happy to meet you, even eager to teach you a little of the "patois" which is a variation on pidgin. One is encouraged to experience some local culture and custom by visiting Prospect Plantation, in addition to Mystic Mountain Rain Forest Park with its chair lift and "bobsled" ride. From the moment we arrived to our convivial and prolonged farewells, we were made to feel welcome and appreciated. My wife and I observed and agreed that there is truly something for everyone, from a pair of honeymooners, through parents of strong active youngsters, all the way to seventy five year old empty nesters, all of which we have been. I can guarantee that if we run out of new spots to explore we will head right straight back to Mystic Ridge, and encourage family, friends and neighbors to visit ND VACATION THERE.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben_Theretoo406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Well disappointing to say the least... when i first got there they had messed up the reservation. So they wanted to charge me more than double the price for the extra day i originally booked so i had to leave a day early and find my own accommodation for the last night.

First of some of the staff are very rude including the manager (except the chefs and room keeping) and have an attitude problem and didn't want to take responsibility for any of their mistakes.
They don't have a First Aid Kit at the reception, it is locked away with the manager and when someone had an accident the manager was out of office so was unable to assist. I'm sure that is against the law.
They have a pool and no jacuzzi (lifeguard said has not been used in over 5 years), their pool bar is not in use, no entertainment and not allowed to play music poolside.
We was told that most of the rooms are privately owned and people actually live in them so the owners don't want no noise and Mystic ridge only own 24 rooms in the hotel.
While we was there they booked a wedding and notified us 12 hours before and closed the pool at 12 in the afternoon and was out of use until the following morning.

The manager said they don't do all inclusive and you can't book all inclusive online but if you look on all the websites it offers all inclusive. So breakfast was included but lunch and dinner we had to get from outside the resort.

The breakfast is supposed to be buffet but is managed by the chefs who dishes your food and rations it and you have to continually ask for more

One of the most dangerous things is they do not have regular access to certified taxis 24 hours so when you go out its up to you to find your own transport. A couple of ladies went out and got verbally attacked by a local for refusing their approach while walking back to the resort because the resort couldn't offer a certified taxi. It could have been a different story so very thankful but not to Mystic.

The only good thing about staying at Mystic Ridge is it is a great location, near town centre and some nightlife and bars and the rooms are very nice size, clean and refreshing.

Room Tip: Double standard room, ground floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah221987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a comfortable, affordable spot to stay in Ocho Rios. If you have business in the area and do not need a room on the beach, this is a great place. It is away from the strip, on a steep hill. This location gives you a nice view of everything, and an excellent opportunity to increase your activity, if you can and/or desire. There are usually one or two cab drivers in the lobby if you need them. Bus station (Knutsford) and the Jerk Center are a quick walk down the hill or a US$5 cab ride up or down.
If you do need to go to the beach, there is a free van that will take you there.

* The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating, but seemed to have some challenges with their telephone systems at times.
* The room was clean,but not spotless!! The housekeeper came late our first day and did not sweep or mop until the following morning...but dusted, spread beds and changed towels. The remote on the TV was not functional at first. Staff addressed it quickly. Unfortunately, many of the channels are not available.
* Wifi service is very poor and unreliable
* Grounds are beautiful. Pool with swim up bar is nice, but seemed underutilized (pool closed at 5PM)
* Restaurant (June Plum) serves breakfast each AM ( included with stay), with choices of traditional specialties or an omelet made to order. I did not eat there for lunch or dinner, it may have be available. In general, we sought meals off premises as there were so many choices close by.

Overall, this is a very nice place. Everyone was very accommodating. It was very convenient. Although I may prefer stay in an all inclusive beach front on my next visit, I was comfortable there. I did not want to leave. I would return to the Mystic Ridge Resort, without reservation!! (pardon the pun)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

When we arrived, the room we requested wasn't available so we were allocated a first floor suite (about 15 steps) which was a nice surprise.There was a fitted kitchen area with a full sized fridge/freezer, hob, microwave, kettle and coffee maker.There were also tea bags and utensils etc, a nice sitting area and a balcony which could be accessed from the bedroom or the living area. The balcony had a nice view of the sea and part of the town centre. The tennis courts were about 20 metres away from the suite.

The bedroom was clean, the air con worked well and there was a good sized wardrobe. The beds were larger than the average single and the sheets were well laundered. I only found one TV channel (I don't often watch TV on holiday) but other guests had more choice. The bathroom was nicely laid out with a good supply of towels which were changed daily but only hand soap is provided so bring your own toiletries. There is a switch for the hot water which instantly heats up and never ran cold but it was so hot outside that I didn't need a really hot shower (some reviews said the water ran cold). The whole suite was thoroughly cleaned.

Breakfast is provided at the on site June Plum restaurant-there is a choice of eggs, toast, porridge, salt fish, yams, boiled dumplings and fruit. You can only have certain combinations so the menu might be a bit limited for some. However there is an unlimited supply of water, fruit punch and coffee and the service is attentive without being overbearing. We had dinner in this restaurant on the night we arrived and a few dishes were unavailable but the staff made up some alternatives which was really nice. One day when leaving early (7am) the kitchen wasn't open. A takeaway breakfast was boxed up for us so we could go on our day trip.

The location is great-yes the hotel is up a rather steep hill which will be challenging for anyone with average or limited physical ability but it's more than walkable- afterall I managed it after 3 weeks without any exercise! Nearby, there is Mystic Park and bird sanctuary. Turtle Park aka Turtle River Gardens is just across the road. There is a duty free shopping complex called the Taj Mahal where you can shop duty free and change money. A little further on is the Island Village shopping complex with about 30 shops, cafes and a beach at the end of the complex. Margaritaville is in this complex. for anyone who wants to party locally.The Jerk centre provides really tasty food at very cheap prices. A little further on is the craft market, supermarkets and other shops which are very reasonably priced. Evita's and Ruins at the Falls restaurant are virtually next door.
All of the above can be walked in about 10 minutes and the Dolphin swimming park and Dunns Rivers Falls is a short drive away as are many other attractions.

The pool is lovely to relax by and there is a pool guard present to ensure safety. There is also a pool bar. The complex is an hotel and also has some privately owned apartments. I was told that the complex was 80% full but it felt very quiet and relaxing when I was there and I didn't really see that many people.

There is an on site taxi service which I don't think the hotel advertises. Mr Green, Singh and the team will get you to where you want to go quickly and safely. They're not as cheap as a local cab but will offer a service tailored to meet any specific requests. My thanks to Renardo and Martel who did a top job carrying my heavy suitcase on arrival and departure.

All in all, this hotel is a great place to relax in or go out and about from There are so many things to do nearby. The staff are friendly and accommodating. It's more like a home from home. I would definitely recommend it and would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room near the mountain if you want to hear the waterfall or a room with a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sol-soprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It was a great weekend with some friends from reservation to check in to departure. The rooms are very nice and the property gives a calm and relaxing feeling. Has a great view of the town of Ocho Rios.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 25Happytraveller1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.8 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
246 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#16 of 35 in Ocho Rios
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Sands
Ocean Sands
#28 of 35 in Ocho Rios
91 reviews
4.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,765 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Ridge Resort

Address: 17 DaCosta Dr, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £74 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern gated complex complete with swimming pool, bar area, restaurant and tennis court. Air conditioned rooms with jacuzzi with king and queen side beds. Can sleep up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mystic Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crane Ridge Hotel Ocho Rios
Mystic Ridge Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing