We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to see beauty of Jamaica!”

Blue Mountain Bicycle Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.00*
and up
Blue Mountain Downhill Bike Tour with Transport from Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see beauty of Jamaica!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My sister and I had a great day seeing the parishes of St Ann and St Mary, hearing about the culture and history of Jamaica and experiencing the beautiful, lush Blue Mountains. We were also well fed and watered at brunch and post lunch. Best bits of the tour were cycling down the Blue Mountains taking in the stunning views and bathing at the little waterfall. Don't be put off if you can't cycle, just make sure (when booking the tour) that you ask for a tandem bike and the tour company can provide a proficient cyclist and the tandem. I would definitely recommend this tour and definitely do it again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blancacita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    89
    24
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't let the "bicycle" part scare you! It's ALL downhill!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My son and not-so-fit boyfriend were cajoled into taking this trip and it was so much fun. Much more enjoyable than the bumpy jeep safaris I've done. It's quite a drive from Ocho Rios (about 2 hrs) but once you are at the top of Blue Mountain, enjoying the ride down in the cool, misty air - you forget all about it.
The guides are really great, the photo ops - amazing! And really, really good coffee at the breaks.
The bikes are not in great shape, but they did the job! They say they have tandem bikes but only one or two so don't count on that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnetteinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic day - highlight of the holiday!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The ride from our hotel (Clubhotel Riu, Oche) was long though entertaining as our driver/guide gave us lots of interesting local information on the way. When we finally got to the mountains the bus ride up again was very informative, we found it amazing how the local communities managed to build their homes way up in the sides of the mountains with no regular or main road - jaw dropping!
Brunch was available and a good light, but fairly substantial meal. We also had a talk about how the coffee bean arrived on the island and then how it was cultivated, harvested and ultimately processed to produce the wonderful world known, Blue Mountain Coffee.

We were then issued with helmets and arm/knee pads and were soon off on our mountain bikes. the option was there to take the bus back down if you wanted, you still had a great experience, or as in one of our party, you were not so confident on the bike, rode tandem with one of the guides.

It was a great experience, the thrill of riding down the mountain with the cool breeze was awesome. The youngest in our group was 11 and she rode up front for most of the time. Some of us had initial run ins with the bushes, but soon got the hang of handling the bikes. It was a fairly big group of us (around 30, I think), but the guides mades sure that each one of us was ok, stayed with some who were a little wobbly, but also gave good advice and information about the mountains and also our safety was uttermost. this included a guide either being further up front or behind the main party to ensure enought warning if there was traffic, giving us enough time to pull over to one side and dismount safely.

We arrived at the mountain springs where we could bathe or swim in the cool, fresh (life extending - we were told) clean spring water. It was so nice.
The only downside here was some of the locals who pestered some of the group for "a little change". Annoying, but they were harmless enough.

We arrived back at the hotel after a long, tiring, but wonderful and exhilliarating day! It really was the highlight of our holiday and so thanks to all the guides who took care of us all day long - nuff respec!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guyton, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Fun for the whole family...and its all day!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We all enjoyed our day with them. They were fun, food was absolutely fabulous and we were awed by the views. It was worth the long drive but our driver and photographer were entertaining.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 938Carole_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous Views”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The bus ride from the resort (Jewel Runaway) to the Blue Mountain site was considerably longer than our Sunwing Rep advised...she said 2-1/2 hours each way...we left at 7:30 a.m. and didn't get up the mountain until nearly 11:30, so it was a very long day sitting on the bus...but worth it for the views and to see more of rural Jamaica. Not for the faint of heart...the narrow winding Cliffside road (no railings) is quite an experience it itself. Well organized, with several nice rest stops in both directions, brunch and lunch served up in the Treetop restaurant with authentic Jamaican dishes. A long day but worth the experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Mountain Bicycle Tour also viewed

Kingston, Kingston Parish
Blue Mountains National Park, Jamaica
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Blue Mountain Bicycle Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing