We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 years later”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“10 years later”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

well i am back in the uk now after my 2 weeks holiday in this hotel, the last time i was there was 10 years ago,and to my surprise it was mostly the same freindly staff there which was wonderful,yes the place could do with a lick of paint and a bit of updating but the views are just amazing and close to every were so no need for taxis to get about,so for me and my freinds that out weighed the need for updating i would like to thank ivan who works there for bringing me my cup of tea every morning and donna who really wants to help and please every one.we were a group of 4 woman 2 of us staying in silver sea the outher 2 staying in the rio which the only stayed there for 2 nights the rest of the time they were with us and they booked a room and stayed at the silver seas so all in all a wonderful girly holiday were all back there in september WONDERFUL PLACE WONDERFUL PEOPLE

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saffiah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    88
    61
    21
    48
See reviews for
49
94
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just a cool place to be great location smack dab downtown Ocho Rios. If pot smoking offends you or if you are more the "all inclusive type" who wants all the amenities this is not the place to be. But if you want to be on the beach with great views a friendly staff that actually gets to know you and not afraid of mixing in with locals and interesting ex pats and seeing a little pot smoking going on definitely stay here.
Hotel needs a facelift , it is clean and functions but outdated ...but you can't beat the value for a place to relax. Donna and Patrick are two Canadian-West Indians who run the place and can point you in the right direction for places to go and see and the Ocho rios action is minutes away, craft market , the main food market where you can grab awesome fruit for breakfast pick up the local white rum or grab a taxi and see the island.
Although rates vary all rooms look down on the ocean with great views abd decent balconies and the pool and bar are laid back and lively. Hotel has wi fi but only in lobby area . I stayed ten days
straight and if you want convenience and seeing the real jamaica over luxury and all inclusives then check it out. Lot of European budget travelers .

Room Tip: Take second floor room at the end nice hardwood floor huge balcony overlooks the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've heard it's the oldest hotel in Ochi so I wasn't expecting a 5 star & for that price too. The place needs to be cleaned & painted. It could look so much better if they pay so much attention to details paint in brighter colour, add some life to the lobby. The gardens are a disgrace, they need to weed the gardens, they need to weed the back of the building going den to the ocean. There is no beach but that's ok. They just need to rake the walkway leading to the ocean. They have steps to go into the ocean which is full of moss. I was just fearful when I saw a little boy step onto it. They could provide a little fridge in the room. I had to drink everything hot. The bedside lamp was dull, tv didn't have a remote, there was no iron & the list goes on. I would never encourage anyone to go to the silver seas hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meloney92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

It’s my 2nd time at Silver Seas-- the hotel is most relaxing and the location is ideal—great location for walking to all Ocho Rios has to offer—Jamaican restaurants, clubs, casino, local bars and craft markets. The view is amazing view from all vantage points whether the lobby or rooms—I even had breakfast in bed delivered by Ivan from the restaurant every morning. For me, Silver seas is great—great price, great service, great staff. Looking forward to staying at Silver Seas the next time my company sends me to Jamaica.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

decent rooms clean and spacious,each room comes with two double beds.
big closet,interesting details and each room has a private balcony or a terrace with table and chairs.
easy access to sea front.
all rooms have a sea view.
internet in a bar and a lobby free of charge.
cable tv
daily housekeeping
reasonable prices
location is very good, mostly walking distance to everything you might need during your stay.
has a parking lot.
hotel has it own charm
but it do needs some renovating.
it is not a five star hotel but it is very good place to stay

Room Tip: all rooms are the same.two double beds with terrace or balcony with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellie_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Silver Seas is the oldest hotel in Ocho Rios, having said that. It is in the perfect location. All rooms are ocean front. The hotel is not fancy by any means. The hotel is old and rustic, but it has a real charm to it. It is clean and the staff are amazing. Donna and Patrick are the perfect hosts they are so friendly and helpful, constantly making each person feel as if they are the only ones there. They take such good care of you. I would go back again and again.

Philip Dawson MBA

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phil9810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Spent 3 days in February at this hotel and loved it. The view from my room was the best. The staff was warm and helpful i cant wait to return and will book at this Hotel again.No need to go anyplace else they have a bar and great resturant right there. Also a nice beach.

Room Tip: Across from this hotel is a great bar and restaurant with great Jamaican food and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.9 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#15 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#21 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Seas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Seas Resort Hotel

Property: Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Address: 66 James Street | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Seas Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Resort Hotel surrounded by private tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Seas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Seas Hotel Ocho Rios
Silver Seas Ocho Rios
Silver Seas Resort Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing