We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely secluded villa with private beach, but in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eden Sands Villa

7 am at Eden Sands the water is flat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7 am at Eden Sands the water is flat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
7 am at Eden Sands the water is flat
Miss Barbara aka 'Miss B'
Miss. Barbara's domain
Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SRAinSA
San Antonio, TX
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely secluded villa with private beach, but in the heart of downtown”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This villa was perfect for our family (Mom, Dad, and 2 adult children in their 20's). We only had 3 days there - wished we could have stayed longer. The master bedroom had an attached bath and the other bedroom with 2 single beds had the bath across the hall. It seemed like the bathrooms had recently been redone. The "family room" had two couches (actually a day bed and a futon) and a dining table with a large television. We even got to watch some basketball one night - seemed like all the regular U.S. cable channels. Wifi worked well too, both inside and on the porch. I think my favorite spot in the house was the back porch, with a comfortable day bed and a table for 6, or else relaxing on the chaises by the water. We split our eating times between the inside and outside tables.

Miss Barbara was there the afternoon we arrived with a Jamaican curried chicken, and then she planned the rest of our meals with us. I would have liked to go shopping with her, but we didn't have time, so I just gave her the money and she took care of everything. Her cooking was delicious and so nice to have it taken care of (didn't realize that she was going to make ALL our meals, even the last day when we had to leave early). I did spend some time in the kitchen with her a few times, trying to learn some of her tricks.

Melissa, the owner, was very good at answering all my questions in advance, and stopped by while we were there - very nice and professional young woman.

I liked that the house seems so secluded, but is actually in town, and is only a 5-10 minute walk to the craft market, the souvenir shops, and another 5 minutes to where the cruise ships disembark.

I also liked that Miss Barbara helped us arrange for a small boat to pick us up from our private beach and take us to Dunns River Falls and snorkeling. Even though our time was short, we tried to split the time between seeing the sights and enjoying the vacation home.

There were some nice touches that went beyond what was expected and made for a comfortable stay - like having a low tub of clean water and towel on the porch steps to clean sand from our feet, and having snorkeling gear available for us to use. A ceiling fan in each bedroom was nice too.

It was helpful that Miss Barbara and Mr. Milo were aware of how many cruise ships were in port each day and what times certain attractions would probably be busy.

This villa was a lovely place to visit, and it didn't surprise me when Miss Barbara told us that many guests come back for return stays. I would highly recommend it for a relaxing vacation in Ocho Rios.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for such a detailed and honest review. We loved hosting your family and hope to see you again in the future! One Love, Nathan & Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindi H
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Eden Sands Villa for 7 days. We had 6 people in our party, 4 adults and two children. First, Melissa was very responsive to all of the questions that we had and provided all the information that we needed and arranged everything for us (pick up and drop off at the airport, etc.) Melissa and Nathan both stopped by to say hello which was very nice. Now, Ms. Barbara! I can’t say enough wonderful things about her. She is an exceptional cook. She prepared authentic Jamaican food, and always did this with a smile. She became our friend and it was lovely being able to speak with her, she is definitely one of the reasons that we will return, just for her cooking alone! Christine, also did an amazing job. She also was an exceptional cook and cleaned the place immaculately! The property was very clean and exceeded our expectations. Dean and Kurt, the night security, also made the trip enjoyable! They were so friendly and helpful and always had the beach looking immaculate in the morning. Dean even sat down and had dinner with us on the last night. I truly felt at home and met so many kind and friendly people who truly made the trip wonderful and unforgettable. Oh, and the private beach was definitely the highlight of the trip! We had a wonderful time at Eden Sands and can’t wait to come back and would highly recommend anyone considering coming here to come!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
Hi Cindi & Matt,

Thank you for highlighting your experience at Eden Sands. We do look forward to your return!

One Love
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanie T
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Ready to go back ASAP!”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Eden Sands was an oasis! Great vacation...beautiful home, gorgeous beach and excellent authentic food and company with Ms. Barbara. My favorite spot was laying on the daybed on the porch...morning, noon and night! I am ready to return as soon as possible! Thank you!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private beach
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
Hi Joanie,
Thank you for your review we appreciate the kind words and we do look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!
One love
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine B
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and enjoyable vacation”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful vacation, the villa at Eden Sands was beautiful, located right on the beach, waking up to the sounds of the waves gently breaking on the shore is such a peaceful experience, the weather was warm and sunny, couldn't have asked for more. The food prepared by Barbara was outstanding, and Christine our housekeeper kept the place in pristine condition. The location is close to the town, in walking distance, but yet secluded and quiet. We will certainly be returning.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay at Eden Sands! We do look forward to your return

One Love
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place - would certainly go again”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent 8 days with my kids (20, 21, & 23). Had a wonderful stay. Very warm and friendly environment. Beautiful beach 20 feet out the front door with great snorkeling. We went diving and the dive boat picked us up right on our beach. Spent a half-day at Blue Hole (spectacular), Dunn's River Falls (a bit touristy, but fun). Miss Barbara felt like family - and she's a great cook, too. Helped arrange all the drivers we needed.
The people in Jamaica were very friendly and happy to see us.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
We are happy that the whole family was able to meet up and enjoy some time at Eden Sands. It was a pleasure meeting you and thank you for choosing to stay at our villa, we look forward to your return!

One Love,
Melissa & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bachmann1...
Fredericia, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Touch of Eden”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It has been the most wonderful month spent at Eden Sands. This is absolutely 1 of the best places in Jamaica to enjoy cosiness and relaxation at the beach. The entire family has really fallen head over heals in love with your beach front Villa.
Now it’s not only the place itself but just as much the people that are here on a daily basis taken good care of the guests - we have bonded with Miss B, Milo, Christine and also Kirk - and we were very sad to leave. We call it "Our home in Jamaica".
The food prepared by Miss B is simply the best and her company was wonderful also for the kids even if they couldn’t understand all that she said. Tuna salad prepared by Christine is a must have when visiting Eden Sands. Milo with his stories, music and the fact that he bought presents for the kids was a true act of kindness.
Melissa & Nathan for taking very quick action if something needed fixing and for making us feel extremely welcome in your Villa. Thank you.
Hopefully we will find the time and opportunity to take the long trip from Denmark to Eden Sands once again to experience the Jamaica and people that we love.
One Love
The Bachmann's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private beach and surroundings
Liked least: Loud music coming from the Restaurant/Hotel next door
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Dear Bachmann Clan,
Eden Sands truly enjoyed hosting your family. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and glad you got to experience this as your home for a month! We do hope you come back to stay in your 'second home' in the future.

Skål,
Nathan & Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario S
Woodland Hills, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pure Paradise”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is my second time staying at Eden Sands Villa in Ocho Rios. I had to return because my first visit was so enjoyable and peaceful. Both times I have traveled alone and I always feel safe when I stay here. Ms. Barbara is a wonderful lady and she makes the most delicious authentic Jamaican food. During the day she accompanied me to the local crafts market and we did some shopping. I also got to enjoy a long canoe ride along the shoreline. I go to this place to relax and enjoy my alone time. I read books, get in and out of the water all day, and enjoy great food. This is such a great place to travel with friends, family, or alone. I hope to return again next year…and possible have my wedding there!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cooking and the cleanliness of the villa.
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
We always enjoy when our return guests come home. We look forward to helping you to plan your wedding, it is special to us as we also go married here!
One Love
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing