We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply The Best!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eden Sands Villa

7 am at Eden Sands the water is flat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7 am at Eden Sands the water is flat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
7 am at Eden Sands the water is flat
Miss Barbara aka 'Miss B'
Miss. Barbara's domain
Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MistyJewe...
Barrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply The Best!!!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Eden Sands several times, specially in the last year 3 times each time for over a week. Most recently we stayed here for several weeks. We absolutely love it here. The Villa itself has everything you need, the bedrooms are very comfortable and each have their own air conditioning unit. There are several places throughout the villa to realx and take a nap. The Villa is equipped with wifi and Netflix which makes it feel just like home. The beach is beautiful and it’s amazing to have the beach all to yourself. The neighbourhood is safe and within walking distance to everything you may need. The Villa is tucked away, once the gate opens from the road you see a beautiful villa that surprises most when they see what’s hiding behind the gates.

Ms. Barbara and Milo are amazing and treat each and every guest as if they are family. I can’t say enough about each of them and they truly make our stays comfortable.

Ms. Barbara is always there to take care of any need you may have, she takes pleasure in assisting guests and she is always paying such close attention to details so much so that now when we come back she knows all our favourite meals and snacks and ensures she makes them for us when we are there. Ms. Barbara’s cooking is always the highlight for me she is an amazing cook. Ms. Barbara always has the most comforting smile and genuinely cares for every one of her guests and I love her hugs!!! She’s kind, warm hearted and genuine and I couldn’t ask for someone better to be there during our stay. She’s become like family to my daughter and me and we always look forward to seeing her.
On days that Ms. Barbara isn’t working Christine comes, Christine is just as amazing.... make sure to ask her to make her famous shrimp for dinner. My daughter is always asking me to make Christine’s shrimp when we are home but I can never make it as good as Christine.

Both Ms. Barbara and Christine treat us with such kindness and it’s truly a blessing to have met them!!

Milo’s work ethic is something I truly admire he’s always so quick to offer help when needed and he keeps the grounds and beach impeccable!! His smile is contagious and you can’t help but smile back when you see him. He’s so kind and welcoming to guests and takes care of any need the guests should have. My daughter loves sea shells, each morning when she wakes up and goes outside there is always a little pile of sea shells waiting for her as Milo collects them when he is going over the beach in the morning.

Both Milo and Ms. Barbara are a wealth of information on the area so if your interested in going out to do anything or looking for a recommendation as to where to go out for a meal please don’t hesitate to ask them for suggestions!!

Nathan and Melissa are excellent to interact with and are quick to address any questions or concerns. They are always available before and during your stay to address anything that may come up.

Eden Sands Villa has become a second home to us and we will continue to stay here each time we return to Jamaica.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwaine W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ochi Rios' Gem”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Eden Sands has been and will continue to be my preferred place to stay in Ocho Rios.

Why:
1- your own private beach, fully equipped with beach chairs, scuba gear etc..there's a small reef that's ideal for snorkelling
2-very central: middle of Ochi Rios in your own private perfect beach front escape
3-staff/service: Melissa/Nathan makes you feel quite at home in this amazing 2 bedroom beach house and are very responsive to any request to make your stay more enjoyable.
3- the food is amaaaazing, you wake up to the sound of the sea and the smell of sumptuous breakfast being prepared.

If you want that boutique island feel with top notch service and beach front private villa experience. This is the perfect place for you and your family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2018
Thank you Dwaine we always look forward to your return!

One Love
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRAinSA
San Antonio, TX
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely secluded villa with private beach, but in the heart of downtown”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This villa was perfect for our family (Mom, Dad, and 2 adult children in their 20's). We only had 3 days there - wished we could have stayed longer. The master bedroom had an attached bath and the other bedroom with 2 single beds had the bath across the hall. It seemed like the bathrooms had recently been redone. The "family room" had two couches (actually a day bed and a futon) and a dining table with a large television. We even got to watch some basketball one night - seemed like all the regular U.S. cable channels. Wifi worked well too, both inside and on the porch. I think my favorite spot in the house was the back porch, with a comfortable day bed and a table for 6, or else relaxing on the chaises by the water. We split our eating times between the inside and outside tables.

Miss Barbara was there the afternoon we arrived with a Jamaican curried chicken, and then she planned the rest of our meals with us. I would have liked to go shopping with her, but we didn't have time, so I just gave her the money and she took care of everything. Her cooking was delicious and so nice to have it taken care of (didn't realize that she was going to make ALL our meals, even the last day when we had to leave early). I did spend some time in the kitchen with her a few times, trying to learn some of her tricks.

Melissa, the owner, was very good at answering all my questions in advance, and stopped by while we were there - very nice and professional young woman.

I liked that the house seems so secluded, but is actually in town, and is only a 5-10 minute walk to the craft market, the souvenir shops, and another 5 minutes to where the cruise ships disembark.

I also liked that Miss Barbara helped us arrange for a small boat to pick us up from our private beach and take us to Dunns River Falls and snorkeling. Even though our time was short, we tried to split the time between seeing the sights and enjoying the vacation home.

There were some nice touches that went beyond what was expected and made for a comfortable stay - like having a low tub of clean water and towel on the porch steps to clean sand from our feet, and having snorkeling gear available for us to use. A ceiling fan in each bedroom was nice too.

It was helpful that Miss Barbara and Mr. Milo were aware of how many cruise ships were in port each day and what times certain attractions would probably be busy.

This villa was a lovely place to visit, and it didn't surprise me when Miss Barbara told us that many guests come back for return stays. I would highly recommend it for a relaxing vacation in Ocho Rios.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for such a detailed and honest review. We loved hosting your family and hope to see you again in the future! One Love, Nathan & Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindi H
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Eden Sands Villa for 7 days. We had 6 people in our party, 4 adults and two children. First, Melissa was very responsive to all of the questions that we had and provided all the information that we needed and arranged everything for us (pick up and drop off at the airport, etc.) Melissa and Nathan both stopped by to say hello which was very nice. Now, Ms. Barbara! I can’t say enough wonderful things about her. She is an exceptional cook. She prepared authentic Jamaican food, and always did this with a smile. She became our friend and it was lovely being able to speak with her, she is definitely one of the reasons that we will return, just for her cooking alone! Christine, also did an amazing job. She also was an exceptional cook and cleaned the place immaculately! The property was very clean and exceeded our expectations. Dean and Kurt, the night security, also made the trip enjoyable! They were so friendly and helpful and always had the beach looking immaculate in the morning. Dean even sat down and had dinner with us on the last night. I truly felt at home and met so many kind and friendly people who truly made the trip wonderful and unforgettable. Oh, and the private beach was definitely the highlight of the trip! We had a wonderful time at Eden Sands and can’t wait to come back and would highly recommend anyone considering coming here to come!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
Hi Cindi & Matt,

Thank you for highlighting your experience at Eden Sands. We do look forward to your return!

One Love
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanie T
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Ready to go back ASAP!”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Eden Sands was an oasis! Great vacation...beautiful home, gorgeous beach and excellent authentic food and company with Ms. Barbara. My favorite spot was laying on the daybed on the porch...morning, noon and night! I am ready to return as soon as possible! Thank you!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private beach
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
Hi Joanie,
Thank you for your review we appreciate the kind words and we do look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!
One love
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine B
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and enjoyable vacation”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful vacation, the villa at Eden Sands was beautiful, located right on the beach, waking up to the sounds of the waves gently breaking on the shore is such a peaceful experience, the weather was warm and sunny, couldn't have asked for more. The food prepared by Barbara was outstanding, and Christine our housekeeper kept the place in pristine condition. The location is close to the town, in walking distance, but yet secluded and quiet. We will certainly be returning.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay at Eden Sands! We do look forward to your return

One Love
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place - would certainly go again”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent 8 days with my kids (20, 21, & 23). Had a wonderful stay. Very warm and friendly environment. Beautiful beach 20 feet out the front door with great snorkeling. We went diving and the dive boat picked us up right on our beach. Spent a half-day at Blue Hole (spectacular), Dunn's River Falls (a bit touristy, but fun). Miss Barbara felt like family - and she's a great cook, too. Helped arrange all the drivers we needed.
The people in Jamaica were very friendly and happy to see us.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
We are happy that the whole family was able to meet up and enjoy some time at Eden Sands. It was a pleasure meeting you and thank you for choosing to stay at our villa, we look forward to your return!

One Love,
Melissa & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing