We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family”
Review of Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed 29 August 2013

When when son made the choice and I look at the reviews I was upset, we try to get our money back but could not. With that said they rooms is outdated but it serve our family purpose the staff was friendly our needs were met we even had the chef prepare special breakfast for us for a very low price. We enjoy the pool which was clean. The tv didn't work but they came and fixed it. The location is perfect. I would stay there again..the music next door was very loud and annoying since I am a Christian, but I know the hotel has no choice they say they have talk to them about it. But I am Jamaicans and I know how they can be about their music. I like the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reuni0n2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Located in the middle of Ocho, but no real reason why you would want to be in the middle of Ocho. Right next to one of the most disgusting, putrid canals you will ever see. Service is poor, rooms are old and decayed, there is just nothing good to day, except that the public areas are okay. And it's not even all that cheap. This should be a $50 a night hotel, and I actually paid $130. Just don't do it!

Room Tip: No room is good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoloTravelerPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I was looking for a place to stay for a week that provided me with room and bathroom and it did the job. The AC was good and the room had a kitchenette which was useful for snacks and keeping my drinks cool. The staff were very friendly and I did not have a reservation and was able to check in immediately. Being in the centre of the town was great as I was able to walk to all amenities. The room had not outside views but was very quiet and the parties that took place locally were not a bother.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKCJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

myself and some friends stayed at the hotel for two nights as we were down for one of my friend's wedding and we were the groomsmen. We are pretty basic individuals so were did not expect anything spectacular from the room - we just needed a place to stay. The only things we required was a working air conditioner and WIFI - however none of these requirements were not met.

Although the room did have cable in the room, not having a properly functioning airco made it very uncomfortable at times - as you can imagine with three to four grown men being in the room at any point in time. The units were noticeably old and in dire need of servicing.

As it relates to the wifi - we got the name of the router and the password but to our dismay, apparently the WIFI was not powerful enough to get to our room! This was a big inconvenience as I sometimes have to send emails from my laptop and my friend who has his own law firm has to answer calls from clients. we had to make due with the Groom's phone which allowed us to use the internet.

The pool was never full and that weekend was particularly hot so we were left to suffer in the heat in a room with an airco that did not work properly.

Would not recommend for a vacation - only for the purposes of having a bed for the night.

Room Tip: Pick a room closer to the front desk so you can get WIFI!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evon Theodore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Village Hotel in Ocho Rios from Oct. 19 - Oct. 28 2012. I found this hotel on a legitimate website and it is representing Jamaicain tourism.
The entire time we were there nobody ever cleaned out or treated the pool. The one day we wanted to go for a swim my boyfriend had to clean out the pool himself.
There was also repairs being done on the roof that we weren't informed of beforehand. We were woken up in the morning to pounding over our heads and little pieces of woods actually falling on our heads. We had to go and ask to be moved to a room away from the construction.
Now to the main point of my complaint. I understand that no one could have known that a Hurricane would have occured during my visit. But the Village Hotel was totally unprepared for this situation. We lost power during the afternnoon of Wednesday Oct.24. The hotel had no backup generator so the entire place was in darkness when nightfall arrived. There wasn't even any emergency lighting in the hallways. At 9pm we were given one candle because thats all they had. We were staying in a rooom with a kitchenette and on Thursday had to throw away all of our food because the fridge had been without power for one day at this point.Power was restored on Friday but up to when I left on Sunday there still wasn't any hot water in the room.
On a couple different occasions my boyfriend went to the front desk asking to speak to someone about getting some kind of compensation for our lost money spent on spoiled food and to make up for our general discomfort. He was consistantly told that there was no one on site to deal with our issues.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My stay at this hotel was great. Staff was very friendly. Jamaican breakfast was just lovely. Ackee and saltfish with plantains..'superb... Hotel is in the heart of the town so it was very easy to get around time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolande C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Disgusting cockroach and other bugs infested place. We got to the hotel late, the security gaurd was the one who checked us inand couldnt find our reservatons. He had to call the receptionist at home to find the reservations. no breakfast the next morning znd the cook was very rude. We had to go on the street to get breakfast. The room wasnt cleaned the first day we had to ask for it to be cleaned and there was no fresh towels available. the place was very musky and the walk to the room with our suitcases was a long and windind one. Wouldnt recommend it if it was the last one. I had to check my clothes to make sure no bugs or roaches were in them. I had to call front desk to turn up the water pressure and hot water, the only good thing was the AC

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackie3070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.3 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#17 of 35 in Ocho Rios
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ocho Rios
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Sands
Ocean Sands
#28 of 35 in Ocho Rios
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine View Hotel
Marine View Hotel
#31 of 35 in Ocho Rios
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel

Address: 54-56 Main St. | Ocho Rios , St. Ann Jamaica, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £61 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Hotel host 34 tasteful furnished suites ranging from standard to three bedroom suites. Our rooms are air conditioned and include Cable T.V., safety deposit boxes and telephones. Some rooms are equipped with their own kitchenette while other has their own private Jacuzzi. From our upper deck pool, you can have a nice “peek” of your surroundings.The atmosphere is laid back and friendly and is appealing to singles, couples and families looking for an affordable lifestyle. We offer and cater for: Conference facilities, graduations, weddings and honeymoon packages, day passes, parties, venue rental and customized events to suit your desire.We are located at 54-56 Main Street Ocho Rios, St. Ann. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Ocho Rios
Village Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing