We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Mother's 60th Birthday Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Mother's 60th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

General Manager, Donna Grant-Clarke and the wonderful staff of Hermosa Cove, successfully captured the vision I had in my head, celebrating the first woman in my life; my mom's 60th Birthday Celebration. Throughout the initial conversation, subsequent, phone calls and emails, to the absolutely stunning eventful evening, I felt as if the event was also personal for them...truly a partnership! My guests, family, and ultimately my mother experienced a rich, exquisite event not soon forgotten. Thank You, Thank You, for helping me honor my mom! I cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    20
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
75
142
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My family stayed at Hermosa Cover in Ginger Hall for a week in July.

Teh PROS: The resort is beautiful and the Villas are spacious and very nice. The service from Donna and the rest of the staff was very good. If you asked for something they would definately provide it. I really liked staying here and would definately consider going back if I ever stayed in Ocho. The resort is kind of remote and you need a car or a driver to get you around. Luckily our driver took us everywhere we needed to go as well as staying with us when necessary to protect us. The place is very secure with good security so you feel safe at all times.

The CONs would be the restaurant was very inconsistent. At some times you would get great food and service. Other times the food was poor and the service was less than poor. One day we waited for an hour for service most of the times we were told that many of the items on the menu were not available. I got a really bad steak one night and they gave us hot dog buns as bread. I think that was the final straw and decided to do my own cooking after that. Considering the price you are paying you should expect world class cuisine while in the resort. I cooked for my family but that was less than relaxing since you don't really want to cook when you are on vacation. Unfortunately they also have a major problem with both ants and mosquitoes. So we finally ended up having to goi off-resort to local restuarants. I woudl think they could go get some ant baits and something to kill mosquitoes.

The beach could use some help also. It is really small and rocky and that could probably be improved with some investment.

Room Tip: Got to the local restaurants if you want consistently good food. Don't cook because there are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank als2kool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Hermosa Cove was the perfect spot to kick back and relax. The villas are extraordinary--each equipped with its own kitchen, living room, beautiful bedroom and dipping pool. It is obvious the owners have paid great attention to detail, not only in constructing the villas but being careful to preserve all the plants and trees in their natural state.
You could spend your entire time on this property without seeing any other guests (room service is available). The restaurant has a beautiful view of the ocean and is graced by lovely breezes. The hotel staff is eager to please, and except when you want them you barely notice they are there..
This would be a perfect spot for a wedding or a large family vacation, with each guest being able to have their own very private villa. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: ask for Scotch Bonnet House
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 46Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Perfect place for relaxation !!! The location is great. Near to all the attractions and city life. Everything is around the corner but nothing is in walking distance. Grounds are impeccable. Staff is amazing !!! Not your typical resort more like the perfect beach home. The property provides everything you need if you don't care to leave but not the place if you're expecting a ton of social interaction and pre- scheduled resort activities. The food is good. They will cook anything you request and you will enjoy it. The bar has drinks. (Cleveland the bartender was the hostess with the mostess !) Security onsite 24/7. No complaints. The only place I will stay from now on when visiting Jamaica.

Room Tip: Stayed in Nutmeg it was EXACTLY like it was represented in the pictures. Pool not large enough for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Travels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I first got wind of Hermosa Cove through a local television station and my fiance and I fell in love with it after visiting the website. We decided that we would definitely visit Hermosa Cove even if we couldn't for our honeymoon, but I decided off the bat that I would make our dream honeymoon a reality so I planned it in secret. My wife was the happiest woman on the planet and I was the happiest man on the planet.
As a botanist I have traveled to several countries for meetings, conferences, workshops, courses and fieldwork and stayed in hotels ranging from 1-5 stars but without a doubt this was like a glimpse into a place called Paradise. The physical space, service, cleanliness, food, privacy and sheer genius of the style and design of the villas blending in with the natural environment will make you forget all your problems, where you're from and time will stand still. We will definitely be going back at Hermosa.

Room Tip: Use the website to guide you depending on how many persons is involved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were so pleased with our villa and stay because of the serenity our villa and the properties nearby. We could see that much thought was put into the design of the villas and the Hermosa Cove property, We loved the light house resturaunt with the perfect views while dining! We were very please at the efforts of the employees to make our personal time a pleasant experience. It was even fun to see them on the street and visit with them. The employees were great!. The cove was so pleasant and renewing. Check out all the gardens and special flowers they added for us to admire.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OCIAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wormer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My partner and I recently spent 3 nights at this resort and can't fault it in any way.
I found the resort by chance on the tripadvisor speciality lodging after having searched many weeks trying to find a suitable place on the North coast of Jamaica which wasn't the usual all inclusive.
This place is very special indeed. We are both hard working professionals so finding the right hotel to cater for our needs was important. As their website indicates it is a small resort of exclusive villas which are absolutely immaculate to look at and also have lots of little extra's which shows that they care about the detail.
Even before arrival they asked whether we needed any assistance with travel, groceries etc. We stayed in the breadfruit villa (all by the way are beautiful just take a look at their website). They are furnished to a very high standard with good quality equipment in the kitchen, something rarely found in villa rentals. Special extra's we noted were a good coffee machine, a blender for making your own cocktails, plenty sharp knives and in the bathroom good quality shampoo, conditioner and aftersun cream.
The outdoor shower and private dip pool were a delight as was the beautiful artwork liberally scattered about the villa. One important thing for us was internet connection. Each villa has it's own router which results in high speed internet connection (just in case you are unlucky enough to have to log on for work!)
The restaurant and staff were happy to cater to our needs. So we ate when we wanted and they were happy to prepare a surprise Jamaican menu for dinner which was delicious. You can of course request your own preference but we enjoyed leaving it up to the cook. Prices at the restaurant were quite acceptable. On our last night they surprised us with a special dinner on the beach, complete with candles. Something that we didn't request but they made the effort to make it very special and romantic and I could see the excitement of the staff in arranging this as they were determined to keep it a secret from us.
The beach at the property looks small on the website but there is in fact plenty of space to chill out or you can use their snorkels and kayaks for a bit of adventure.
The property is close to Ocho Rios town itself if you want to try other restaurants or do a bit of shopping. We hired a car so took the opportunity to venture out and visited Dunns River Falls (a must see) and nearby Reggae beach.
We are still in Jamaica but now further along the North Coast enjoying Boston Bay.
We loved Hermosa Cove though so we decided to call back again for a few more nights before ending our Jamaican trip.
I recommend this place for all those busy people who need to escape the crowds and enjoy a bit of peace and luxury.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MixedNationalities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
83.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
48.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel

Property: Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Address: Hermosa Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean’s most distinctive handcrafted resort, Hermosa Cove offers the discerning traveler a private island home. Nestled in twelve lush acres on Jamaica’s Gold Coast, our secluded villas evoke the intimate charm of an idyllic seaside village. Luxurious art-filled interiors open to tropical gardens with glistening dip pools. Several villas have spectacular ocean views, and all nine are just a short stroll from the water. The resort’s reef-studded cove features two pristine beaches with complimentary kayaking and snorkeling. Christopher’s, our award-winning signature restaurant, serves up locally sourced cuisine with international flair, and The Broken Rudder offers the atmosphere of a cozy jerk shack down by the beach. A seaside paradise with unmatched seclusion, Hermosa Cove is conveniently located in Ocho Rios just minutes from Jamaica’s most popular attractions and most breathtaking natural wonders. Our friendly staff will help arrange your personal adventure, and even accompany you as a tour guide. Whether your dream getaway involves adventure or solitude, romance or reconnection, come indulge your senses and revive your spirit…your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing