We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from Honeymoon”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Exceptional and Amazing are words that spring to mind. The resort is exceptional and the staff are amazing. Perfect romantic break. You can be involved as much as you like or withdraw if you want time alone. The food is of good quality in all of the resturants and the rooms are spacious and well cleaned. Nothing is too much to ask and the staff will go that extra mile to make your stay special. Day trips are well planned (although buses can be 5 -10 mins late departing - No problem you are on holiday!) and the resort is very secure. There are gala and beach party nights (Fri and Tue) where every effort is made to make them special evenings, ice carvings, good food and enjoyable entertainment. Enjoyed the free golf although you do pay for the cart ($40 - 18 holes) and caddy ($25 - holes for two in a cart), half for 9 holes. Staff and management can be very proud of themselves. If you are moaner - don't go, you will spoil this special place for everybody else.

Room Tip: Dahlia block was convenient for us up the hill although A block also had lovely views and was near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,813 - 2,819 of 4,025 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We are on our 3rd day here and what can I say??? This has to be the most amazing, romantic place to be in Jamaica. No kids, no groups of drunken 20 somethings. If romance is what you want, this is the place to be. Amazing food, clean but dated rooms, not large, very quaint, lots of places to be alone for peace and quiet, lots of fun with other couples as well. The most amazing is the staff. Very accomidating and friendly. We could not have picked a better place. My rating out of 5 would have to be a 7!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vacateyourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary here and it was gorgeous. The resort is very small and private with very well maintained and lush property. The room we had, suite with ocean view, was large and very comfortable. We requested a third floor room and weren't disappointed..the view was spectacular. Food was great wherever we ate. The staff were very, very friendly and helpful. With respect to tipping, you are told upon check in tipping is not permitted. Outside excursions are not included in this direction. It is, therefore,up to the guest if you want to discreetly tip a staff who has been particularly helpful but we were told again by staff they were not suppose to take a tip.
There were lots of activities offered..we went on the glass bottom boat ride which was nice but were there really to relax. No bugs, no waiting for service, exercise climbing to our room for mid afternoon drinks...it was great.
It was the off season (September 24-Oct.1) so it was quiet.
The only thing we would have changed was the entertainment..not really to our liking. We were hoping for more Jamaican music versus Jamaicans singing American top ten oldies. Loved the ride to the airport as our driver played a Bob Marley CD.

Room Tip: We chose G16...very secluded. Walking up stairs is required but there is an elevator. Great View,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 110Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

On a recent trip to Jamaica, my husband and I stayed at Couples San Souci. We have stayed at many hotels in Jamaica, but this was the ultimate in service. From the moment we checked in, it was endless smiles and courtesy from the General Manager, the front desk, maintenance and food service staff. The food was phenomenal and they offer such a variety of fresh fruits and vegetables all day long. I also enjoyed getting a very professional manicure and pedicure. Marci is the absolute best! Also, Claudette from the Palazzi restaurant was spectacular. The entire staff was. It is all inclusive so you can leave your pocket book closed. Don't even have to worry about tips, the staff is not allowed to accept. The ambiance is particularly relaxing! So check it out and enjoy the beauty, the food, and the service.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony, particularly one that overlooks the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Claudette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This resort is better than I ever imagined. The grounds are beautiful and there are lots of hide aways if you want to be alone. The room we had was lovely, clean and plenty of space. The food was excellent - a good variety and beautifully presented. The beach (no way man-made) was beautiful and the glass bottom boat takes you out just a short distance where you can see the coral reef. The gala dinner and beach party were great fun and the entertainment was great.Talking of entertainment thanks to KT Anne and Shelly for the fun and games they arranged. Above all it was the staff at Sans Souci that made our holiday! They were so friendly and could not do enough to make our holiday special. A couple of former posts mention staff hounding you for tips - this is completely untrue - in fact staff are not allowed to accept tips! Cannot fault anything about Sans Souci and will definately be going back very soon.

Room Tip: If you have problems with using stairs beach front suites are easily accessible G Block is furthest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I honeymooned here, and were expecting a lot based on the reviews. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. From the time we arrived, we were told who to tip and how much to tip - from men who carried our luggage to bus drivers. For an all inclusive, I found this to be quite annoying. I am by no means cheap, and certainly planned to tip the staff, but being constantly hounded for tips instead of simply provided with "tip-worthy" service was a big downer on our vacation. Next, we were given a very moldy oceanview room (the resort is in a jungle-like setting, so mold is likely a big problem for them). They did switch us without hassle, but moved us to a room without a view. I was so glad to be free of the mold, I didn't complain about the downgrade. Unbeknown to me, though, they did give us a $500 resort credit as compensation - too bad they didn't tell us until we checked out, at which point they told us to spend it in 15 minutes in the gift shop! The worst was that, when we returned home, we discovered that our credit card numbers had been stolen (the only two cards (we left the others at home) we took with us and kept locked in a safe the whole time - never used once except to check out, at which point they were declined because of the fraud freeze on the accounts - another long story there! ) and both used to buy gold in Trinidad! Too much of a coincidence for me...I don't know how anyone but the cleaning staff could have gained access to the safe.

The "beach" is man-made, very fakey, although the nude beach is much prettier (not my cup of tea, though). The restaurants are very strict about reservation times and dress codes (men, bring long pants and a button-down!), which is absurd since the resort is so small and there is clearly enough capacity for those without reservations. It was just a little too "stuck up" for me.

There were some pros to the place. The food is AWESOME - SO DELICIOUS!! Also, the tennis pro gives great lessons, even if he does fish for tips.

I would not return, and I would advise anyone thinking of staying there not to get your hopes up too much with regard to the service or rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "beach" if you want to avoid mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamman, vice president of Operations at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thank you for your review, However,Please be advised that we have no record of a $500 resort credit for a room change and we are not aware of an incident of credit card numbers being stolen and used to purchase gold in Trinidad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Couples Sans Souci was everything I expected and more than I had hoped for. The grounds are beautifully established tropical landscape and the suites are very cozy and casual. The best part of the stay was the friendly staff. Shelly, the event coordinator, was so fun and energetic. Richard, with the watersports, was a great catamaran captain who made himself readily available anytime we wanted to take a sail. He was fun and educated us on the culture. Jerome, the photographer, did a great job capturing our vacation since we are bad about not having a camera on hand. And Winston, the fitness trainer was readily available to assist with personal training. The food and liquor selection was great! I feel like I have left my second family behind. I'm ready to go back again next year! *Note: The only beer available was Red Stripe and Red Stripe Light. We were told in busier season (Dec), more beer options available. However, top shelf liquors were available.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,350 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
83.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,420 reviews
1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £239 - £674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing