We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not Book go to couples Sans Souci”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do not Book go to couples Sans Souci”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at couples Sans Souci May27-June 1, 2012: rooms D25 and G1. We were disappointed, felt Couples Sans Souci left much to be desired and to be a poor value for our money.

Your rooms are decades outdated. Bathrooms are disgusting.

Your rooms were noisy when the band played at night and that greatly disturbed our rest. D25 was very loud the night we checked in and we asked to be moved to another room farther away from the band. We moved to G1 and were told by staff it would be quit. G1 was no better.

Your staff was mediocre at best. Other than Kristen, Donnett , and Masal, it was impossible to get any service with a smile. I felt your staff resented the guests. I watched your staff be late to every event and slow with service. I went to Jamaica to relax... not watch your staff relax while I waited around watching them.

For positives: Kristen (water crew), Donnette (waitress) Masal (bar) and the pregnant pasta lady always had smiles for us, were attentive, and represented the hotel well.

At the beach, your water crew staff yelled and screamed at each other, every morning of our stay. Do they not possess they ability to speak in a conversational tone. Their morning antics ruined what otherwise would have been a quite, romantic beach.

At the beach, cleaning started about 9- 10am each morning. Again, people picking up trash and driving trucks on the beach ruin what otherwise would have been a quite, romantic beach.

Room service was average at best and our order was usually missing something each morning. Not a big deal. However, the day of check out, room service called us almost two hours early to let us know room service was on its way. How rude. I am not at the hotel to be on the hotels schedule but my schedule. I can make an 8:00am departure bus without your help or the 5:00am wake up call. I felt this was indicative of staff throughout our stay: thoughtless, poor representatives of the hotel and guests.

Bar services: It is never a good idea to have guests waiting on a drink while staff is restocking. And smile! One afternoon, I counted fifteen guests waiting in line while the bar staff restocked. I just want a drink and I am never interested in watching staff restock. Serve the guests than go back to restocking.

Dunns’s River Trip is always fun. Still, I resent being thrust into a video making process and having to wait on locals trying to hawk the DVD after the fun in the river. I did not come to Jamaica to listen to guys peddle a DVD. That my hotel set this up…how rude! And the bus was thirty minutes late, as well.

To end on a positive note, I scheduled a snorkeling trip to the sunken boat with Kristen. When that event came around, my fellow passengers did not want to go to the sunken ship so I got off the boat. I had been to the reef twice already and not interested in a third trip. When I returned the fins to Kristen she asked what happened knowing my interest in the trip. I told her and she quickly directed my to the "Captain" who took me out to the sunken boat. That was cool. The service was above and beyond.

Sincerely,

Room Tip: Don't come to this hotel. Personally, I'd skip Jamaica
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamman, vice president of Operations at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to send us such a detailed review of your stay with us, guest impressions are extremely important to us and we often use your comments to guide our decisions.

I am very concerned that your overall impression of the resort was largely a negative one. It is very unusual for us to receive a review that is overwhelmingly poor and I am very sorry that our General Manager or his assistant did not have an opportunity to speak with you prior to your departure. Rather than comment on each of your points, please allow me to humbly apologize for any perceived shortcomings. Let me also say that we are investigating each of your observations and will take corrective measures wherever appropriate. I will also be sure to commend Kristen, Donnette and Massel for distinguishing themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,785
    764
    221
    67
    49
See reviews for
47
3,419
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KENT
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We was here from the 25th June to 5th July. We had a great time we have travelled the world and in my opinion the best staff ever. Some of them became friends and we will always treasure the memorys of this holiday. They are so many to mention although Andrew the barman was one of the best and always had a smile for us. We tried all the restaurants and the only one we was not to our liking was the fancy Italian which i think was not up to the same standards as the beach and mediterranean one that is of couse our opinion. The majority of guests are from the USA which being English they were not that many of us, this did not matter at all we met so many new american friends who we had so much fun with. Being 55 and 62 we seem to click with quite a few young americans and had so much fun telling the children back home that we hung out with the cool crowd lol. We had a wail of the time watching the guys at the swim up bar taking part in the fun and being sociable they will now who they are and what this means. We stayed in D block although we had the stairs the view was great and in fact they kept us fit although we did put weight on it could have been a lot more. I can only repeat what others have said before it is one of the best places you could want to go we was going to do so much and just kept putting it of and ended up not doing anything so it shows how relaxed we was its an excuse to go back. The only warning i have if feeding the blind duck spray yourself as it a thing i do every morning and one morning forgot and went and feed the duck and got a nasty sand fly bite which cost me $280 to see the Doctor and get medication so it was an expensive bit of bread. Question will we go back we always said never go back to the same place who much you love it as there is so much more to see and do. Well we need to go back and do the trips we never done so the answer is yes yes yes. We are hoping to return December 2012 for our 25th Wedding Aniversary. I would like to say a big hello to all the people we met especially our young newly married American friends from Bill and Maggie May from England hope you had a good trip home and are well and maybe one day we will bump into you all again.xxxxx

Room Tip: We was happy we our room although does have a lot of steps to it that was D block
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHEERS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is the first all-inclusive trip that my husband and I have taken, and it exceeded all of our expectations. We searched the internet for months, hoping to find the perfect spot for our honeymoon. After staying a week at Couples Sans Souci, we feel 100% confident that we made the right decision. We had a few specific requirements in our search for the right resort. It should:
- Be adults only
- Be All Inclusive
- Have many different on-site (complimentary) activities
- Be somewhat secluded
- Have various dining options
- Be well reviewed by past guests

CSS had all of the above and so much more.

The beaches were beautiful, somewhat small, and immaculate. Daily, you found lifeguards raking the seaweed from the sand to keep it nice and neat. In addition, there were plenty of beach chairs and floats for guests to lounge on, as well as umbrellas to keep you shaded. TIP: The sunset was best witnessed at the Au Naturale beach (clothing required after 5:00pm). HIGHLY RECOMMEND catching this at least once during your stay!

There were more pools and hot tubs than we had time to visit, and there was a bar at nearly every turn. The food at each of the restaurants was excellent, but the jerk burger at the beach grille and prosciutto wrapped snapper at the Palazzina are A MUST!

Room service was awesome, and any time we called they were extremely prompt. The room cleaning times kind of had us confused, but they did a great job getting things tidy and keeping the mini bar stocked. TIP: Do not assume you’re getting mini bar sized bottles. They don’t skimp. You’ll have more than you can drink.

We visited the spa for our complimentary honeymoon massage on the second day of our trip, and we loved it so much that we scheduled a second massage on the last day we were there. The spa staff are extremely professional, and they have been trained well. The cabanas where massages take place are nestled between trees, and they overlook the water. You hear nothing but the waves crashing and breeze blowing. Words just do not do this experience justice!

I must mention the one pitfall for anyone who is not in good health- The stairs. This property is very large, and you will walk up and down stairs, day and night, to get where you’re going. This was no problem for me and my husband, but it should be noted for those who are not quite so mobile. If anything, the stairs made us a little less guilty for any “overindulging.” 

Finally, I hope that my husband and I are able to return in the coming years for an anniversary trip or simply to recreate a bit of our honeymoon experience. It’s well worth the money and travel.

Room Tip: Ocean-front suites are the way to go. They're a bit more money, well worth the cost. You'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mssmeg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Price value is OK but twice per week joint dinners are organized which forces you to participate. Vacation should be freedom to do as you like when you like. Not everybody enjoys dinner with folks you never met before. Definately an opportunity for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I went to Couples Sans Souci in Ocho Rios, Jamaica, last month for my birthday. True to its name, we had no worries while we were there. One of the reasons we chose this resort was the airport shuttle. After we landed, we were immediately shuttled into a bus to take us to the resort almost two hours away. It's a very pleasant drive. Upon arrival, you are given champagne and a wet towel. Because everything is already paid for, check-in is pretty quick.

We stayed in the E block (Evergreen) and had an oceanfront view. This is a quiet area, except for its proximity to the Balloon Bar, which has live music almost every night that ends around 11 p.m. The room was everything we needed it to be. The bed was comfortable and the safe was useful. My only complaint was that the sink in the bathroom would fill up with water very quickly and drain very slowly.

Because we were only there for five nights, we did not tire of the food. There are three restaurants at Sans Souci: a casual beachside location, a middle-tier Mediterranean spot and a fancy Italian one. We liked them all, but actually preferred the casual beachside location -- and it was the one that didn't require reservations. We did not, however, enjoy the Beach Party, held on Tuesday nights. The food was not as vegetarian and fish friendly as the restaurants are and service is lacking. We also would have preferred not to sit at a communal table as we didn't really relate to the other guests there. The entertainment was pretty good after you get through the "fashion show" of items for sale in the gift shop.

My main complaint is not with the resort itself, but with the ability to leave and explore. There are not many options to experience the real culture of Jamaica in this area of the island, and many of the experiences on the resort feel artificial and not genuine. And it is so tourist heavy that there is a major separation between the resorts and the regular life in Ocho Rios. As a result, when the worlds collide there is a lot of harassment. We did go to Dunn's River Falls (fun) and into town for shopping (an experience). I would have liked to be able to leave the resort for more cultural activities, as opposed to ziplining, etc. Renting a car does not seem possible there.

Best tip: If you are American, bring U.S. money. No need to exchange currency as everyone accepts U.S. dollars.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jca30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If this is your first trip to Jamaica then you need to realize that the resort is were you will spend much of your time. Couples does a great job at keeping you entertained and providing all the services you need while in Jamaica.

Our room was a standard King overlooking the ocean with balcony, flat screen TV and fridge. The room has tile floors that lead into the bathroom which has a walk-in shower. Our fridge was stocked daily with sodas, beer, rum and anything else we requested on our check list which is filled out daily for the room attendant. There is no charge for keeping the fridge stocked or for room service which we used very often. You can have Breakfast/Lunch and Dinner all delivered to your room no charge everyday!

The style of the entire property is "Open Air" with Spanish influences so if you like fluffy carpet and marble counter tops this isn't your place, but if you like the true Caribbean atmosphere you'll be right at home. There are varying levels of dining at San Souci from formal to casual and even a buffet one night on the beach.

If you like to have a cocktail then this is one reason you can't beat Couples vs a Cruise ship. First off you can have as much of anything you like. If your drink is Stoli Vodka and soda then no problem have it all day, you like Johnny Walker black you got it! Dewards, Southern Comfort etc they don't stick you with cheap liquor that's what I liked.

We had fun creating different drinks that the staff was more than willing to mix up for us. I think the average wait time for a drink is 2 minutes at the peak of the day. If you are a big beer drinker there is only Red stripe and Red stripe light on tap.

If you tired of drinking all day there are activities all day. My wife did Cardio and Water aerobics, I opted for the Mixology and Tennis lessons and didn't even need to bring a racquet.

We got to know many of the staff members that did a tremendous like Channing, Dave, Veronique and Tina who worked the bar and waited tables Chris the tennis pro and Jamie the fitness instructor. There is also the glass bottom boat ride, snorkeling, scuba diving, water bikes etc to do as well.

The bottom line here is you don't get hit with a big bill at check out unlike the Cruise ships do, and trust me I've been on several cruises and hate getting that sticker shock. When we checked out at Couples there were no charges except for the few things we bought in the gift shop $76 total!. You don't tip the staff or have a mandatory gratuity that is tacked on either.

Room Tip: There are a lot of steps to some sections of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheRealBillBrasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Couples San Souci was the most relaxing, carefree vacation we have ever taken. From the time we arrived at the airport in Montego Bay, we were greeted with friendly people and free drinks, both with and without alcohol. When we arrived at the resort, we were given champain and cool towels as we got off the bus. From that point on, we were pampered and catered to like no other place we have been. The staff was exceptional, the food was absolutley fabulous and the views were astonishing. The ocean, of course was great, but the gardens and flowlers were just unbelieveable. Since this was our anniversary, we renewed our wedding vowels on a gazebo overlooking the ocean. The wedding planner on staff took care of everything, the flowers, the minister, the photographer, the cake. Everything was absolutely perfect! The rooms were very clean and the fact that the resort is 50 years old, gave it a calming charm. The bartenders and waiters were very good and lots of fun. The water activies were awesome and the staff was so informative and made everything we did in the water exciting and fresh. I think one of the best things about the resort, was that everyone was so happy. The staff truly enjoyed their jobs and it showed in their smiles, laughter and singing. It gave the resort a light hearterd and carefree feel. I would recommend this resort to any couple, whether you want to relax on the beach or spend the entire time on the water or at the spa or whatever it is you do. We would go back in a hearbeat!

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach have great views and are close to all the activities. The rooms in the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYNTHIA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,134 reviews
57.9 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 81 in Negril
4,319 reviews
57.9 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing