We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Honeymoon”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We recently got back from our trip to Couple San Souci, it amazed me with how much was included in the all inclusive. We will definitely be heading back. Upon arriving we had cold towels and champagne at check in, we were escorted to our room by a bell man that carried our bags the whole way. Our room an, ocean view veranda in the D block, had a huge balcony that overlooked the ocean, fitness center and mineral pool. We had a table and chairs on the balcony in addition to our mini bar. The only way it could have gotten better was a hammock on the balcony. Yes the rooms might be a little dated, but really you're not there to spend all the time in the room so get over it.

We greatly enjoyed that you could request certain items for your mini bar, the brought us a full bottle of rum, of which I think we made our way through 1/2. One night we came back to the room to find a bottle of champagne and cheese platter on the balcony waiting for us. Only complaint on the room was that our clock was wrong when we got there so we showed up for meals a couple times when they were closed and couldn't eat.

We ordered roomservice several times, it was always fantastic, a little more variety in the room service, or room service after 11pm would have been great, but we were there in the slow season so maybe that normally happens. The restaurants were fantastic, they always had different fresh food, so you didn't get bored. The portions at Casanova were a bit small, we wish we would have known going in so that we ordered additional appetizers. The beach party and starlight gala were a great way to try a good variety of local food (curried goat anyone?), and were always fantastic. I'm a huge fan a dessert and it would have been nice to have a few more options on that but oh well.

The beach was a bit small, but it wasn't too busy so we could always find chairs. The seat cushions/rafts where fantastic, we loved just floating around the ocean or pool. We made a trip to the mineral pool daily it was so relaxing and had a great juice bar. We enjoyed this hidden hot tub as well. The main pool was great, not really a party pool like most resorts, so that was a welcome break. We ventured over to the Au Natural beach only once to see what was going on, it did have a great view of the mountains, but that isn't really our thing so we didn't stick around for long.

It was nice that they had a little craft market by the beach so you didn't have to take the trip into town, the gift shop also had plenty of options if you needed to bring things back for people.

Perhaps the greatest advantage of CSS is that activities they offer, everything from hat making to scuba diving you really can't go wrong. We took the trip to Dunn's River Falls, truly a must do in Ocho Rios. We also kayaked, sailed, and went on the glass bottom boat tour. Had I know there would be ship wrecks and reefs everywhere, we would have gotten scuba certified before we headed down. The activity offerings were extensive, but you didn't ever feel pressured to participate and could just lounge on the beach if that's what you preferred. There wasn't much night life at the resort, but you could go to Margaritaville if you needed to. Most people seemed to be honeymooners so I'm not sure there needed to be an all night dance party anywhere.

We loved CSS, and how private it always felt, there were certainly times when we were the only ones around, which was wonderful for a honeymooning couple.

I'd recommend this resort for all couples looking for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WIgeorgie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,324 - 2,330 of 3,927 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We booked this holiday which was a late honeymoon back in Jan 2012 and at the time we were so excited and couldn't wait for the break. The holiday was booked based on reviews and we normally stay in Montego Bay having stayed their three times before. But based on the reviews for CSS we decided this would be a perfect location and choice.
Overall we found that the resort did not meet our expectations. We found the resort was a little run down and in need on renovation. We stayed in block A one bedroom sea view suite which over looked the sea and beach. The bed was comfy but the room was a bit old and on the first three nights there were ants everywhere in the bathroom which we got rid off throughout our stay.
The food was ok, I think we enjoyed the food on the beach party nights as there was a bigger selection and it tasted more spicy.
The service from the staff could have been much better if the hotel rates it self as 4.5 star. We always said hello to staff and tipped frequently where the service was good. We found that the staff wearing black and White were trainees and they would give a good service, Donnakay especially who worked in breakfast area. Nicola who wore the blue uniform was also a great assistant, Martin the driver, Egar the omelette chef, shevel, Delsena and Shanika the camara crew to name a few who made our stay comfortable and it was always a pleasure speaking to them. However towards the end of our holiday we experienced some rude behaviour from a supervisor called Julia who works at the reception desk of the front lobby. We was very shocked and appalled at the way she spoke to us and behaved. She was very unfriendly and we made a complaint to the ops manager. That kind of put a damper on our break to CSS as in the third time visiting JA and Ocho Rios for the first time. Also the power cuts were slightly annoying during a particular day we stay at the resort.
In terms of value for money, we don't think it is. Spa staff were constantly on the beach almost everyday trying to sell spa treatments. They had no special offers to even attract you to buying. The spa treatments were over priced and they had no deals for honeymoon couples.
A lot of the games and activities were aimed at the Canadians and Americans. Would have been nice to see some UK representation at the resort. We could clearly see who they favoured!
Overall CSS did not live up to our expectations and that might be because we are in our mid thirties. The resort had a lot of old people so probably better catered to them. We've stayed at lots of 5 star hotels across the world and experienced much better service and comfortable stay with good hospitality. Definitely not visitng CSS again its all about staying at MoBay.

Room Tip: Avoid A block sea front better still avoid the hotel completely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SamDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Our trip here was amazing, starting with the free beer at the airport. After making it through customs, we were immediately ushered over to a waiting area and given free Red Stripe until our shuttle came. Then it was a two hour drive to the resort where we were immediately greeted by the friendliest staff and a glass of champagne. Our room was gorgeous with a comfortable bed, great view, excellent room service, and a mini bar. Though they had a few pools and beach sites, we chose to spend the majority of our time at the Au Naturale beach where everyone was friendly and the service was excellent. We made a few resort friends with whom we still keep in contact, and though the trip was our honeymoon, it was nice to meet some new people, too. Given the chance to go again, I would in a heartbeat. You won't regret it! Oh, and if you're going for your honeymoon, don't forget to bring your marriage certificate for their complimentary massage. It was like a dream come true. The massage was amazing, and the sound of the ocean in the background while lying in a hut on the beach was the stuff dreams are made of.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My new hubby and I just got back from an amazing honeymoon in Jamaica! We stayed here and they had the nicest staff! Everything and everyone was so laid back and we had a blast! The 30 minute free honeymooners massage was so relaxing and we had the beautiful backdrop of a waterfall and the ocean splashing right below us! It was an amazing resort and the food was delicious! Everyone there was always making sure you were having a great time! Our last night there we had a huge storm come in right after the big Starlight Gala on the lawn with all these beautiful tents that were lit up and all this incredible food! The storm came and blew it all over, but the staff kept the party going in the beach bar and everyone had a great time, soaked and all! We cannot wait for our 1 year anniversary because we are definitely coming back!!!

Room Tip: Definitely the beachfront suite! It was so close to the main beach and pools and only a short walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My wife and I visited CSS November 19th, 2011 after 8 great nights. This was our second trip to this resort and 3rd to Couples (Tower Island was the 1st). Although we had been here before, I always looked for reviews about the Au Naturale side, but only found limited comments. Since there is plenty of information about the textile side, I thought I would take this opportunity to give detailed information about the "other side" since I would only be repeating all of the GREAT things everyone else had to say about the rest of the resort.
Location: The AN side is perfectly secluded from the rest of the resort with a natural mountainous barrier in between. If you would like to conveniently take advantage of all it offers, you may want to stay in blocks A,B or C since they are the closest. Once there, it is impossible for other resort goers to see you unless they want to join you.
Beach: The beach itself is small, but not much smaller from the main resort. It is nice to stroll along it but walking into it can be a bit challenging since there are many small rocks to walk over. Bring water socks if you can. You can also take lounge chair cushions out there and just float. There is a river that flows into the ocean which borders the beach. This will bring some cold water in which can be quit refreshing. There is a vacant hotel visible from the beach, but I think voyeurs would be hard pressed to really see anything. Locals may come along the river on the public side to try to sell you something. Simply wave them off and they will not bother you. There are plenty of cabanas and lounge chairs along the beach and I never saw all of them taken. After 5 p.m. be prepared for the gawkers. This is what we called the people who are allowed to come from the textile side to see the “sun set”. We always said we will show them a “moon rise”. They will come over with their cameras and this is the only time photos are allowed (unless you get there early in the morning when no one is there). We really didn’t like the idea they could come over dressed they way they want, but we could not visit their beach “dressed” the way we want.
Pool: The pool is very nice and has a grotto, which is fun to walk through. Water splashes down from the top and makes a great way to cool off. Although the pool is not large, we were able to get a volley ball game going, unfortunately this took some prodding from the staff (not quite sure why). The pool does have a swim up bar which seat about 8 people. Seating around the pool is plentiful with plenty of umbrellas. We never had a problem finding a lounge chair in the shade.
Bar: The bar is a full bar offering every imaginable drink. The only complaint was that it was not always ready to go at 10 am (hey, it’s 5 O’clock somewhere). This was not the fault of the bar tender but those who stock it. We had a couple of days that we had to wait about an hour for ice. One of the days, out of 8, it ran out of ice and beer around 4:30.
Food: Lunch started at 12:30. Hamburgers with all the fixings was served everyday along with nachos. Each day offered a variety of 3 different dishes ranging from fish, jerked chicken, vegetables, rice and the like. We only went to the main resort 1 time for lunch just to see what they had. After that, I did not feel it necessary to return. The food on the AN side is just as good.
Activities: The activities director was present every day with a variety of trivia games. They are fun to play and may result in a free bottle of Rum, so I highly recommend participation. Other than that, you are pretty much on your own. But who needs an activity director when you have friends and a good bar tender.
Overall: You cannot go wrong with the AN side of CSS. The only thing you could do wrong is visit it on the last day of your vacation. I can’t tell you how many people we spoke to who said, in the past, this is what they had done and completely regretted it. Had they discovered it the first day, they would have been there the entire time. One common reason is the people. Everyone we spoke to said the people on the AN side are much more friendly. This is the primary reason we go there. It is very easy to strike up a conversation and make friends with people who are not pretentious or phony, you are who you are.

Room Tip: Choose Block A,B or C to be closest to the Au Naturale side.

Room Tip: Blcks A or B are best to be closest to the A/N beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank flagrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

What an amazing trip! Couples San Souci is an older resort- if you are looking for modern, homogenous, pristine buildings then book elsewhere. If you are looking for AMAZINGLY beautiful landscape, beeeeeeeyond wonderful staff, yummy food and a carefree trip then this is your spot. This is a boutique style hotel that has the most interesting and lovely grounds that you could ask for. Every time that we wandered from spot to spot we noticed something new and beautiful. The rooms are lovely, but again- of you want up-to-date, moden style then you may be more comfortable somewhere else. We stopped at a couple other resorts to pick up some other couples for an off-property excursion and we had the chance to see one of the Sandals resorts and the Riu. They were both beautiful as well but we could tell as soon as we pulled up to them that we had chosen the right spot for us. The staff is more wonderful than words can express- they went above and beyond our expectations. We cannot wait to get back for another trip. It was so beautiful, relaxing and the people were great. There are stairs to climb to get from one area to another but without them you wouldn't have the beautiful grounds along the cliffs so we didn't mind one bit. I've read some of the negative reviews,... and we met a couple of less than happy vacationers at the resort and honestly,... I think that those people are not going to enjoy vacationing anywhere that is not completely new and/or Americanized.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarriedNVegas08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

What a fantastic place. We stayed at Couples Sans Souci in April of 2011. The resort has only 150 rooms and was at half capacity when we arrived. Needless to say, it was quiet. Which was just what we were looking for. Even at full capacity I can't imagine it would have been to overwhelming. Anyway, the worst part of the entire trip was the 90 min shuttle ride from the airport. But we knew this going and and made some wonderful new friends on the drive. Upon arrival we were attended to quite nicely. Water, cool towels were offered. Check in took a little longer than I expected, but all worth it. Our room was in G block. The furthest away from everything, but again, peace and quiet was what we were after. A beautiful view of lush vegetation and the ocean from or second floor room. We spent the afternoon exploring the grounds. They are spread out somewhat. I decent walk to the main pool, but hey, once you're there you're not really going any place. A much shorter walk took us to the mineral pool, which had a juice bar right beside it. Not as crowded and right on the ocean. As we got to know the place, we noticed that the third pool near the Balloon Bar was always empty. So much so, they had taken all the chairs away. Well we dragged a couple of cushions up from the mineral pool, and spent most of the day with our own private pool (and bar). The staff was INCREDIBLE. Everyone tried to make your stay more enjoyable. The food was fantastic, and they stocked our room with any choice of liquor, juice or soft drinks we asked for. The room was always clean, and the bed was very comfortable. This resort is a little more laid back. There was a night life, but not over the top. And the average age was probably in the 40s (we pulled it up slightly). I could go on but I have already been to long winded. Stay here. You won't regret it.

Tom and Terri

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tntmac1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,310 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,157 reviews
53.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,362 reviews
57.9 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,478 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £272 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing