We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort ~ Definitely Needs Attention”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort ~ Definitely Needs Attention”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We celebrated our Anniversary this past March at Couples Sans Souci and had a great time but definitely have stayed in better. I was a little concerned before booking that it was really small, which of course, means that there are less choices in restaurants, pools, bars etc..... It had great reviews so we gave it a go.

The staff are phenomenal, definitely made up for the lack of beach, out dated rooms and minimal restaurant choices.

The food was by far the best we have eaten at any resort, probably attributed to the size of the resort and the ability to serve quality food to smaller numbers.

We stayed at a Beach Suite next to the Palazzino Restaurant .... beautiful view of the water ~~ disappointing was the beach...... very small. We like to walk the beach in the morning and evening.... the walk was all of 5- 10 minutes. The other beach (Au Natural) I've heard is quite beautiful. We didn't get to experience this as it's nude only (except for sunset when everyone is able to attend) I would have liked to see it as a preference beach as opposed to dictating it nude only. We have been to resorts with such beaches and seriously I don't see the issue.
I would think most people don't care what you are or are not wearing.... and are probably there to enjoy themselves not the view.

Sunshine at the Beach Grill is such a beautiful and wonderful asset to the Resort, our servers at the Cassanova and the Palazzino were always fabulous.... unfortunately, I have misplaced my notes on the names of these fabulous people :( As I previously stated, the food was delicious !!

The entertainers Spaghetti & Linguine had my husband up dancing and helping to entertain the crowd... it was fabulous ! There was a variety of entertainers and all were good ... We usually ended the night with a sing a long at the Piano Bar...

Most of the people we met were repeat visitors..... and had been coming back for years.

Overall, it was an enjoyable trip .... with some disappointments. Would we go back ? Probably ... but we would try another, larger resort just to make comparisons. As for Couples, I've read the reviews at Couples Negril and their beach is supposedly wonderful, so that is an option.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Beach Suite, not sure if there is really any difference as we didn't view the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Couples Sans Souci after your recent visit, it was certainly encouraging to hear how much you enjoyed the food at our resort as it is certainly an area in which we take a great deal of pride. Similarly, we were thrilled that you found our staff to be friendly, we do our best to convey represent the world renowned warm Jamaican welcome as best we can.

I would, however, point out that while our beaches are not ideally suited for long walks, they are extremely private and many of our guests value that exclusivity. If long walks are a key part of your vacation experience I would encourage you to try one of our resorts in Negril, i'm sure that you will find that they take as much pride in their culinary exploits as we do!

Warm regards,

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,763
    760
    221
    67
    49
See reviews for
45
3,396
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The resort is very large extends along cliffs down to beach. We had 3rd floor beach front room and it was very nice except for the bees and large roach. Three different days I woke up to bees in the bathroom. Maintenance came and 2 days later they were back. I complained to manager and he offered us a three day free vacation in the future. We tried to book it in time but we were not able to get the same type rooms so we passed. I found out before we left there was hive in the attic above our room.
I felt we should have been given a partial refund not a future credit.
The other 2 couple resorts we have stayed at had more restaurants but this hotel had great room service.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front unless you don't mind a long walk to beach, it's worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edfrapid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
I must confess that we were a bit surprised with the content of your review. This sort of thing would normally be brought to my attention and I cannot recall an incident like this - although your stay was almost 11 months ago.

Any complimentary return stay would of course be subject to availability but these certificates are given the same priority as paid vacations and guests have never spoken to me of challenges met while attempting to redeem a certificate. I would urge any guest having challenges booking a complimentary return stay to contact me directly for assistance.

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I honeymooned here and loved it. It's all inclusive with beautiful beaches, pools, trails and more. They always has activities going on if you want to keep busy, or you can relax pool or beach-side and chill.

There were multiple restaurants to choose from, or room service. It was beautiful and we want to go back.

PS We visited in April 2008.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelindaJoy926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and i stayed here for our honeymoon and were blew away by the resort. We loved all the walking around the resort. I believe 150 or so rooms on 30 acres. Perfect! We upgraded and gotthe Steve Mcqueen penthouse suite. We loved our room and our view. I was so relaxed after my trip i didnt want to leave. We got home and booked our anniversary back to Jamaica and we cant wait . Everything from the food to the service was amazing. We ate and drank so much!! When we called room service they didnt take longer than 10mins even late at night. The resort was just perfect and i cant wait to try another couples resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattA450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aurora, ont
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our 5 th trip
Have always stayed in the original part of the hotel
Great big rooms or penthouse suites
The food is outstanding in all of the venues
Just a fine old fashioned classy spot
Even if you get a little rain is there a better place than the balloon bar
Ps the staff is outstanding
Head and shoulders above couples tower isle
Fris

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fris1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

we stayed here for my birthday. More then enough food and drink .Lots of space .great staff .will be returning.From landing at the airport the staff was supreme .It was a wonderful experience! The views and elegance of this resort far exceeded our memory. he people working there were so friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaine61155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the 2nd week of our 2 weeks in beautiful Jamaica. We had been here for a day a few years ago and were excited to spend a week here. The population was low but that was nice in few ways. We got to meet some vacationers and no need to fight to get in a restaurant for dinner. There are a lot of stairs to get to the lower areas including the beach. This is not the nicest beach and Negril spoils you if you have been there before. The food was amazing here and the service was impeccable. I must say that management seemed to be M I A and some staff may have decided to call it in , but luckily there were so many helpful staff to make up for that aspect. Kemar Valentine (trainee), Corrine and Kourtney were very gracious and hospital in service our meals everyday and I hope kemar gets the job and gets quickly to management as he knows how to treat a guest like a guest !!!. There was lots of renovating going on but it done not really effect us except walking to the lobby when needed due to a pool being re-constructed up top. Our room was like living in the rain forest and we loved that feel but you can be also down on the lower level so choose your style room with that in mind. We will be back I am sure and Couples is such an amazing chain to use for vacations. Maybe we will head to Barbados next? We will see.

Room Tip: If you are not in to stairs and walking, get a beach level room as breakfast , lunch is all there an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dumont17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,116 reviews
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
57.9 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,330 reviews
57.9 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing