We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at couples on our first trip to Jamaica. The staff were faultless as were the facilities and cleanliness of the resort. We will definitely be returning. It was without doubt one of the best vacations we have ever taken.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMul122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,703 - 1,709 of 3,928 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I travel with another couple each winter. We had never been to a Couples resort and our travel agent recommended San Souci. We checked trip advisor for reviews and decided the warning about the steps should not dissuade us.

The first day at a resort is always a challenge--you arrive tired after the airline trip and the bus ride to the resort. The penthouse room we were given (E12) was directly over the evening entertainment venue, and the music was so loud we could not get to sleep. The next morning we were given a penthouse room in D building (D14) which was lovely. Our balcony overlooked the beach.

Yes, there were a lot of steps but we felt the exercise would be beneficial since the food was so delicious. Since this resort has only three evening restaurant choices, we feared the menu choices might be limited. However, we all decided the food and the choices were the best of any other resort. The me I changed several times at each restaurant in the evening, and the lunch buffet was different every day.

The resort grounds were lovely and well maintained. The rooms were a bit outdated, but since we were only in the room to sleep, who cared? The rooms were clean and we were told they were to be renovated soon.

The staff were friendly, as staff at most of the resorts we have stayed. However, you had the feeling that these people were totally sincere. By the end of our visit, many of the staff knew our names. Of special note, Leti on the entertainment staff and Oshain at the Casanova restaurant were spectacular ambassadors for San Souci and Jamaica.

We took the trip to Dunns River Falls and it was delightful fun--don't miss the opportunity to experience climbing UP a waterfall. The all inclusive water activities on the beach were fantastic.

We will definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: D building is perched on a cliff overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 11judithm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just returned from our first stay at Couples Sans Souci and would honestly say that it is the nicest hotel we've ever stayed at.
First of all the property is stunning, and the view as you walk out onto the terrace from checking in at the lobby takes your breath away and made every hour of our 10.5 hour flight worth while.
The next thing you cannot fail to notice is the unfailing kindness and massive smiles of all the staff who genuinely want you to have a fantastic holiday and are not looking for gratuities. We are happy to tip but there is a no tipping policy and unlike other hotels we've stayed at in the Caribbean this is strictly adhered to and we never saw anyone tip once during our stay. As a result every guest got the same fabulous level of service (a quick shout out for exceptional service to Brian & Conroy at the beach bar, Oshain & Jenise at Cassanova and Leticia & Senita on the entertainment team but all the staff were great)
The food was fantastic at the high end Cassanova restaurant but we really loved the no reservation beach front Bella Vista as well. Simple, tasty seafood and steaks served at romantic torch lit tables right on the beach - whats not to like!
I've seen some people complain about the room decor and the small beach but we loved it. Admittedly the cove-like beach is not massive like ones we've stayed on in Bavaro and Mexico but that's what makes it so private and special. We stayed in a beachfront first floor suite in A block with a sunny corner balcony that had great views of the pool and beach and we loved the colonial decor and the spotless cleaning every day. It had a large bathroom with double sinks & powerful walk in shower but we did think the large corner jacuzzi was a waste of space (if you want to sit in a jacuzzi there are some much nicer ones in the grounds overlooking the ocean!) and there is a severe shortage of wardrobe space. However we were lucky enough to get a tour round the remodelled beachfront suite in B block which addressed both these issues and was very impressive & modern albeit losing a bit of the charm of the old rooms (we understand all A & B block rooms are to be remodelled in this way over the next 12 months)
Another occasional TA criticism was lack of major evening entertainment but the band and singers they have playing most nights at the Balloon Bar terrace are great and every one gets up and dances so it feels like a really good party at one of your friends houses! Again if you like a staged Michael Jackson tribute extravaganza like we've sat through in Mexican hotels then CSS is not for you!
Also if you are thinking about CSS for the first time and the au naturel thing worries you - don't! We personally didn't feel comfortable trying it however many guests there loved it but there was never any pressure to "join in" if you didn't want to. The Au Naturel beach is totally private to the rest of the property and there is no feeling of them and us that some reviews have hinted at.
The true test of a hotel is the number of repeat guests you meet and here CSS excels with many guests returning year after year and we will certainly be doing the same.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have been to Couples Negril 4 times in the past few years. This winter there was a significant price difference between Couples Negril and the two in Ocho Rios. My husband and I had been to Tower Isle in 2005 before the renovations. It was great, but we wanted to give San Souci a try. We stayed from 2-21-14 to 2-28-14. Our friends met us down there. First off, I have to say that the property is beautiful. We stayed in a suite in E Block (Evergreen) which is in the cliffs. Our suite was gigantic. We had a huge bedroom with en-suite bathroom, a second bathroom and large sitting room. The balcony was also big with enough room for 2 loungers, a table and 4 chairs. A few people we talked to were bothered by the long climb up to the cliff rooms and lobby. I thought it was great because I didn't get much exercise outside of going up to the room several times a day (It really was quite a hike). Our friends stayed in Block A which was on the beach. They were glad not to have to hike up all the stairs. Their room was smaller than ours but appeared more updated with a nice big bathroom incl. jacuzzi tub. The rooms were very clean and the bed was a bit hard the first night,but we got used to it quickly with no problem. The food was great as it usually is at CN. I tried Sour Sop (a really awesome fruit) for the first time and fell in love with it only to find that it is not imported into the US at all.

The beach is at San Souci is much smaller than CN and is only there for the resort. CN is on Bloody Bay and has a nice stretch of beach as does CSA which is on 7 Mile Beach, Negril. We only went on the nude beach at night to check it out. It was no "clothing optional". It was strictly au natural, and I'm not into it. The beach seemed nice with a completely different view than the main beach. We were told that the au natural beach is a bit hard on the feet with lots of rocks (I wonder if they allow water shoes- lol).

The resort is really big and never seemed crowded. There were many different hideaways. There is a mineral pool (quiet pool) with a juice bar- I was a bit bummed that there was no alcohol at the juice bar, but that might defeat the serenity of the quiet pool. At night there was an outdoor martini bar and the balloon bar besides the main bar. The staff did not seem quite as friendly as CN, but we had gone to CN so many times that we actually got to see a few of the same staff members year after year.

I tried paddle boarding, the water bicycle and went snorkeling. The resort has a new speed boat, and the Water Sports guys were trying pretty hard to sell it. The price for a cruise on it was unreasonable in my opinion. I think they would do better bringing down the price and getting more people to use it. (My initial quote was $250 for my husband and I and $150 for a second couple= $400). When my friend inquired about it, the price changed to $500 for 2 couples. We didn't go out on it.

My only complaints were that I missed dinner a couple of nights, and there was an hour gap in which no food was available at all from 10:30-11:30. Room service can be ordered until 10:30. The beach grill is supposed to re-open nightly at 11:00, but the guys never got there on time and it was 11:30 or later when we were able to eat. I'm sure this doesn't matter to most people because they eat a great dinner at a normal time as they should : ). The other thing is that the Sunset Catamaran does not go to the resort because of the coral reef around it. All the other Couples have access to a Sunset Catamaran cruise a couple of times a week which is pretty fun.

I got a spa treatment which was incredible. It was a massage and exfoliating treatment. Marsha in the spa was the best!!! Also Peter, the beach waiter was very sweet and friendly. There was also a great bartender at the main bar (Veronique?).

In comparing this resort to Couples Negril, I think the main difference is the set up and the beach. If you need a long stretch of beach-Negril is the way to go. If you want gorgeous scenery and views-this place is it!

Room Tip: I highly suggest that people sign up for Couples Romance Rewards. Even if you don't think you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LuLuHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had dinner here on Valentines Day. Wow! A special, secluded dinner just for two, on a private beach, with private chef, private butler, private musician, photographer, candles and torches everywhere... it was impeccable. The food was truly top notch, actual fine dining. The resort treated us like royalty. We know where we'll be staying when next in Jamaica.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gandt_halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I had a late honeymoon over the week of Thanksgiving, the resort was amazing. The rooms were clean when we arrived, they were also cleaned daily. We wandered through the resort at night finding lizards and insects. We ordered room service almost every morning. The staff was always helpful. We had two couples massages, they were incredible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The resort is absolutely beautiful. Every single meal was fantastic. We were blown away by the level of service we received from getting off the plane, through-out the entire trip, to back to the airport. It was absolutely P E R F E C T . Every single person has a desire to serve the guest. We were impressed with everyone however our housekeeper, Una, the groundskeeper Erol, & the main pool bartender Macell were absolutely perfect. They made our trip very special. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for a beach front room, the property is so beautiful that the beach is real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orange1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,311 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,159 reviews
53.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,363 reviews
57.9 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,480 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £271 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing