We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12 Days of Paradise”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Cumberland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“12 Days of Paradise”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I explored Couples Sans Souci from March 17 - 28 and it was truly amazing!!!

We have traveled to Sandles and Beaches Negril and they were truly magnificent but this time we decided to go to a smaller more intimate resort setting and Couples Sans Souci did not let us down!!!

From the moment we arrived we were treated like "royals"...the check in and delivery to our suite was timely and easy and no long lineups or "fighting" with the guest services to get the room we requested (which by the way was A16 ...overlooking the main pool and beach)..

All the staff we constantly pleasant and knew our names on first meeting (wow...I can't remember names from one day to the next...how they seem to remember all the guests names is a art form to itself)..

There are a few staff to make mention of....

Q from the main bar was our premier server and always a pleasure to be in the company of.
Dillon and the young trainie from the main pool bar were also superb...lets promote him to full staff position...lol

Roberto (the sea captain) was a pleasure to venture out with...we participated in unlimited snorkeling and an amazing cater-marine windsurfer thing when the winds we peaking out...wow...the wifie had to hold onto his shorts for saftey...too funny!!! WE loved it!!!!

Sarah, of house services, was a true gem...everyday we came back to the room that was detailed with flowers and fancy towel creations...any thing we wanted in the minibar she ensured was always made available to us when we forgot to order up during the night...she was sooo pleasant and always on the watch to say hello during her morning flower picks....she is a keeper for sure!!!

There are sooo many others but their names escape me now...but all in all it was a wonderful trip.

The only thing I can say as a con was the morning buffet could use more variety...it was pretty much the same thing everyday with one or two dishes changed up and was never all that hot.
However...I have to say that "Wilie-coyete" of the omelette station was amazing...I believe he called himself "Genius"...lol

Nicholas from the sports centre was another fine lad and always popped around to ensure we were having a great time and to let him know if there was anything we needed from him...smile

Room Tip: We stayed in A16...overlooking the main pool and beach...in the newer section and nice patio...big b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,704
    743
    217
    65
    49
See reviews for
43
3,322
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

After a long flight, arrived at a hot and humid, cramped airport Chaos! Queued for a taxi which had air-con thank goodness and the driver was very informative about the island which helped the time go quicker on our 2-hour journey. We were greeted with a hot towel to refresh ourselves and a welcome cocktail whilst our luggage was being taken to our room, where we were then escorted to. I asked for a central room, which is what I got in ‘D’ Block with a partial sea-view from the balcony. Had a huge comfy bed, large flat-screen TV with movie channels and a large walk-in shower. Yes, there are steps to this block, but they are not that bad (approx. 39) from the beach, then more steps up to the lobby/reception. Wouldn’t recommend high heels here. As our room was on the end of the row near to gardens, had ants almost every day so had to ring housekeeping for them to spray outside the door, which they did swiftly. Also, not much privacy, had to keep curtains closed as large windows close to the ground, (nearly all rooms like this) even in shower room, couldn’t open the windows whilst showering, ended up with flies in the room if you did. Champagne & fruit was left in our room as we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. All staff were very friendly, nothing too much trouble. We walked round the grounds and got to meet Crackers the parrot and some puppy dogs.
Rained all day on first day, but didn’t mind so we did the orientation tour and got acclimatised. The whole complex is very well laid out on cliffs, encircling the sea. A & B Blocks are furthest away from Lobby & Casanova restaurant, D Block more central to everything. The mineral pool was refreshing after a hot day and could get a healthy fruit or vegetable drink from its bar, could never get in the Jacuzzi, always occupied. Didn’t try the pools. The beach is small but big enough for the hotel guests, the sea is warm and shallow quite a way out. Not very good for snorkelling, sometimes murky. Did the free glass-bottom boat trip which was ok, nothing to rave about, saw a lot of dead coral.
Being AI, was surprised at lunch/evening meals you chose from a 3-course menu, so the food was freshly cooked. All menus were displayed at breakfast. Food was good, always nicely presented, even tried lobster, which tasted like prawn. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty choice from cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, filter coffee, omelette station, cooked corner: bacon, etc., toast, champagne, fruit juices. There are 3 restaurants - we liked the atmosphere at the beach front restaurant (Bella Vista), the lunchtime burgers are the best I’ve had (don’t normally eat burgers), but these were fab. You have to book to eat at the other 2 restaurants – Casanova is ok if you don’t mind formal dress code and a pianist, you just wait for a table at Bella Vista – we had a romantic dinner right on the beach front one night watching the sea.
We booked all our trips through the Thomson Rep at the hotel, as I got him to match the hotels prices. Did Port Antonio to see some of the island, short boat trip on the blue lagoon cost 10 dollars each on top of the trip price but something you just do whilst there, nice lunch included when we stopped off at Frenchman’s Cove: Chicken & rice, fruit & cake, didn’t get to see Somerset Falls as works in progress due to strict UK laws! Did Blue Mountains Trip which included nice lunch, saw small coffee plantation (beans on wild trees), then cycled down mountain on comfy bicycles, very organised, worst bit was bus ride down – pot holes! Stopped at small water fountain hole, if you fancied a dip – touts there asking for tips & selling videos of your trip. Did a trip to Dolphin Cove which we really enjoyed, considering I’m not a swimmer, did the Ultimate Swim package – amazing, the dolphins were so lovely, felt a little sorry for them, but something I’ve always wanted to do. Did the Dunns River Falls (free trip through the hotel) excellent, water not as cold as I thought it would be, quite fun and very organised, also did free shuttle trip into town – worst experience, loud music from shop to shop, hassled in market, what an eye opener, couldn’t wait to get back on the bus and back to hotel. Apart from being bitten from mozzies, sand flies and headaches from the humidity, it was ok, would not return to Jamaica.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skippysue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What wonderful 10 day holiday. March 29th to April 8th.
Check in went smoothly . Our room was not ready as we arrived before noon, but had lunch & by 1:30 we were changed & wondering the beautiful grounds & the beach.
We were in D block & and had the beautiful corner room. What a view!1 Yes we had to go up & down the stairs to the beach, but the exercise helped wear off all the fantastic delicious food that is served at. San Souci. The staff are courteous ,friendly & very helpful . To name & few Conroy at the beach, Dilano at Palizzio, Nedeano at the Cassanova.
The watersports staff were patient, & helpful. German took us out for a wonderful hobbi cat ride.
The snorkling was fun as were the waterbikes.
All in all a great time didn't want to come back to the cold & we hope to visit San Souci again someday

Room Tip: If you have knee or walking problems the A or B blocks have less stairs. & are closer to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creighton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

As every vacation you are excited to get to your destination. Well our Couples vacation started as soon as we landed! We were greeted and shown to a loung to wait for our shuttle. Our luggage was looked after, and we had a glass of champange (a complete bar was available). When we got to the resort we were instanly in the ocean fresh air and also greeted with a glass of champange!
The suprising part of our trip was we met many couples that were returning for a 3 time and even for a 14th time. That says so much!!! Amazing.
Everyday was great! The food, service, views, staff, wonderful! Conroy was our beach drink server, and our drinks were never empty! Morice from Water sports noticed that we were snorkling in the bay and offered us a privet snorkle at a few of the local reefs. Morice and the guy with the wistle (sorry can't remember your name) had fruit, cheese and more then enough beer for us already on the boat. Conroy, Delroy were our beach bar servers. Redane,Valenitne were our servers for eating. NO ONE disapointed us. The lady the does the pictures.... she was a rock star! So personal, funny and always willing to have some fun with her photography!
Thank you all at Sans Souci!!! OUY OUY... Hope to see you all in 2015!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent 4 nights at Couples San Souci at the end of March for a break from the snow. This was our first time at the resort, but had stayed at both Couples Negril and Couples Swept Away. We booked one of the A block rooms, which is an One Bedroom, Beach Front Suite. Check-in was smooth and quick and we were in our room and on the beach within 20 minutes. Our room was located midway between the regular beach and the au natural beach, which was very convenient. The resort isn't that big, so it is quite quaint and very picturesque.

The food was pretty good considering its an all inclusive, but we did think that CSS's food was superior to the others. The breakfast buffet was good, as was dinner at the other restaurants. We booked a private dinner at the Wedding Gazebo and it was a lot of fun and service was spectacular. The food was very, very good as well. I do recommend booking your restaurants with the concierge before arrival because many are all booked up in advance to arrival. We did this, but unfortunately, none were on record (save your emails) and they quickly fixed the problems. Same was true for our spa visit, but again, fixed without any issues. Just double check upon arrival to be sure. All in all, we thought that the service at Ocho Rios was a lot friendlier than at the other resorts so well done.

Beaches - The regular beach and pool were nice, but the Au Natural beach was a lot of fun. The swim up bar and lunch buffet was better there than at the regular beach and in general, just a lot more fun. Liquid courage helps, but after 5 minutes, its not an issue. Plus, this is not a clothing optional beach, its an au natural beach so just be prepared. The beach is a little more rocky on this side and because one of the river deltas are through it, we thought it was a bit colder, but still very nice.

In general, it was really a lot of fun and the best couples resort we have stayed at. we will return again and hopefully the beach bar construction is finalized.

Room Tip: If you book an tour/excursion/restaurants in advance, keep you emails just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Plasmaphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to visit... This was our first adults only resort and I'm hooked. The service we received at couples San Sousi was excellent, especially Oshain at Casanova restaurant. The included excursions make this a very reasonable price, we went shopping, climbed Dunn falls and snorkelled multiple times all for the same all inclusive price... Thank you Couples San Souci.

Ps. We used Sunwing holidays as our carrier and were very pleased with their service also. The direct flight option made the trip hassle free!!

Pps... Whoever left the plastic tarantula in our room.... Not funny !!!! Lol

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We spent a week at Couples Sans Souci in late March. It was our first time in Jamaica and we could not have chosen a more welcoming resort. All of the employees.seemed to genuinely enjoy their jobs and the guests are treated as family. Due to the small size of the resort and the special events every evening, it is easy to meet new people. The food was the best I have ever had at an all inclusive. We enjoyed several excursions and also had a taxi take us around the area as well as to Kingston. Our driver was Oneil so be sure to ask for him.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs so if you have mobility issues you may want to contact the resort to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scigal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,071 reviews
46.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,250 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing