We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Married couple”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This resort is the best one by far. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The dinning experience was out of this world. The all natural beach was secluded and large. All in all a top notch resort.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,664 - 1,670 of 3,930 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

There are some widely differing reviews about this place; some exaggerate the good, some exaggerate the bad. Don't be put off by the bad - it has its flaws, rooms and furniture are in need of refurbishment (that is apparently in hand), and not all staff are wonderful (some, a small number, are downright surly and curt). Hence, the 4 stars and not 5.
Overall, Couples Sans Souci is really very good. The grounds are as close as most people will get to a tropical paradise and it oozes charm. Most of the staff are brilliant, always ready for a friendly chat they are justifiably proud of what they do. And let's not forget those behind the scenes staff like housekeeping, gardening and catering - they all helped make our stay one of the best AI experiences we've had.
The real test is 'will we go back ?' - the answer is a definitive yes, in a heartbeat given the chance......

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for a week March 23 to 30/14.
The service staff were awful, no absolutely brutal to be exact! We complained to management, they gave us an apology with a complimentary fruit plate and bottle of champagne, and the service slightly improved afterward, but they have some serious issues there. The property was good, the main pool needs some TLC and they really should repair it. The au natural side was better. The beach was very private over there and the pool was in better repair, although dirty tiles were all around it and no one ever was "cleaning" it while we were there. Lots of sea urchins on beach and in water, so water shoes are a must at all times on the beach and in the water. But au natural side had it's own grill, hot tub, pool and music so it was a lively atmosphere. Main pool was a snooze fest, as was the mineral pool area. Staff were cranky and really didn't want to be there. Beautiful scenery is all it really had going for it. The grounds were immaculate. Never saw the chambermaids, but room was always clean and had no complaints there at all.

Bar staff at main pool unhappy and cranky. We even commented to them that they were and they agreed. Almost had to beg for service some days. Pool bar in au natural side marginally better. Again we did complain, and noticed a difference afterward but still not perfect. The guy in the piano bar was terrible. Not sure he even wanted anyone to sing with him and did his best to avoid it. I tried one night and he played for a bit, then got up and left so I would leave. When I did, he came back and played for a bit and quit. Also at one point I went behind the bar at the piano bar to serve myself a drink because there were no staff anywhere in sight. They had a disco night, and basically it was a dance show for the staff or really just one staff lady who just wanted to dance by herself. They played all their own music and danced while the rest of the patrons and guests watched on the sidelines. I called it the "staff disco party" and said that to another guest the next day in front of some other staff members by the mineral pool who were within ear shot, and the staff looked at each other and laughed. Also the lifeguard guys in blue were some of the rudest most disrespectful people I have ever encountered at a resort anywhere. There are some really unhappy people working there. That was very evident.

Food was excellent. Entertainment was ok. Ladies at the spa were very nice. Front desk and bellman were also good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SnowAngel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, Owner at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear SnowAngel63,

Thank you for spending a week at Couples Sans Souci. It was unfortunate to learn about some of the negatives from your stay, particularly comments on our staff. Customers generally tell us how great and friendly our service is, as seen here on Trip Advisor. Couples extends it’s sincere apologies that you did not receive this level of hospitality. Management has read your review and will address each point mentioned.

Regards,
Abraham Issa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I explored Couples Sans Souci from March 17 - 28 and it was truly amazing!!!

We have traveled to Sandles and Beaches Negril and they were truly magnificent but this time we decided to go to a smaller more intimate resort setting and Couples Sans Souci did not let us down!!!

From the moment we arrived we were treated like "royals"...the check in and delivery to our suite was timely and easy and no long lineups or "fighting" with the guest services to get the room we requested (which by the way was A16 ...overlooking the main pool and beach)..

All the staff we constantly pleasant and knew our names on first meeting (wow...I can't remember names from one day to the next...how they seem to remember all the guests names is a art form to itself)..

There are a few staff to make mention of....

Q from the main bar was our premier server and always a pleasure to be in the company of.
Dillon and the young trainie from the main pool bar were also superb...lets promote him to full staff position...lol

Roberto (the sea captain) was a pleasure to venture out with...we participated in unlimited snorkeling and an amazing cater-marine windsurfer thing when the winds we peaking out...wow...the wifie had to hold onto his shorts for saftey...too funny!!! WE loved it!!!!

Sarah, of house services, was a true gem...everyday we came back to the room that was detailed with flowers and fancy towel creations...any thing we wanted in the minibar she ensured was always made available to us when we forgot to order up during the night...she was sooo pleasant and always on the watch to say hello during her morning flower picks....she is a keeper for sure!!!

There are sooo many others but their names escape me now...but all in all it was a wonderful trip.

The only thing I can say as a con was the morning buffet could use more variety...it was pretty much the same thing everyday with one or two dishes changed up and was never all that hot.
However...I have to say that "Wilie-coyete" of the omelette station was amazing...I believe he called himself "Genius"...lol

Nicholas from the sports centre was another fine lad and always popped around to ensure we were having a great time and to let him know if there was anything we needed from him...smile

Room Tip: We stayed in A16...overlooking the main pool and beach...in the newer section and nice patio...big b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

After a long flight, arrived at a hot and humid, cramped airport Chaos! Queued for a taxi which had air-con thank goodness and the driver was very informative about the island which helped the time go quicker on our 2-hour journey. We were greeted with a hot towel to refresh ourselves and a welcome cocktail whilst our luggage was being taken to our room, where we were then escorted to. I asked for a central room, which is what I got in ‘D’ Block with a partial sea-view from the balcony. Had a huge comfy bed, large flat-screen TV with movie channels and a large walk-in shower. Yes, there are steps to this block, but they are not that bad (approx. 39) from the beach, then more steps up to the lobby/reception. Wouldn’t recommend high heels here. As our room was on the end of the row near to gardens, had ants almost every day so had to ring housekeeping for them to spray outside the door, which they did swiftly. Also, not much privacy, had to keep curtains closed as large windows close to the ground, (nearly all rooms like this) even in shower room, couldn’t open the windows whilst showering, ended up with flies in the room if you did. Champagne & fruit was left in our room as we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. All staff were very friendly, nothing too much trouble. We walked round the grounds and got to meet Crackers the parrot and some puppy dogs.
Rained all day on first day, but didn’t mind so we did the orientation tour and got acclimatised. The whole complex is very well laid out on cliffs, encircling the sea. A & B Blocks are furthest away from Lobby & Casanova restaurant, D Block more central to everything. The mineral pool was refreshing after a hot day and could get a healthy fruit or vegetable drink from its bar, could never get in the Jacuzzi, always occupied. Didn’t try the pools. The beach is small but big enough for the hotel guests, the sea is warm and shallow quite a way out. Not very good for snorkelling, sometimes murky. Did the free glass-bottom boat trip which was ok, nothing to rave about, saw a lot of dead coral.
Being AI, was surprised at lunch/evening meals you chose from a 3-course menu, so the food was freshly cooked. All menus were displayed at breakfast. Food was good, always nicely presented, even tried lobster, which tasted like prawn. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty choice from cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, filter coffee, omelette station, cooked corner: bacon, etc., toast, champagne, fruit juices. There are 3 restaurants - we liked the atmosphere at the beach front restaurant (Bella Vista), the lunchtime burgers are the best I’ve had (don’t normally eat burgers), but these were fab. You have to book to eat at the other 2 restaurants – Casanova is ok if you don’t mind formal dress code and a pianist, you just wait for a table at Bella Vista – we had a romantic dinner right on the beach front one night watching the sea.
We booked all our trips through the Thomson Rep at the hotel, as I got him to match the hotels prices. Did Port Antonio to see some of the island, short boat trip on the blue lagoon cost 10 dollars each on top of the trip price but something you just do whilst there, nice lunch included when we stopped off at Frenchman’s Cove: Chicken & rice, fruit & cake, didn’t get to see Somerset Falls as works in progress due to strict UK laws! Did Blue Mountains Trip which included nice lunch, saw small coffee plantation (beans on wild trees), then cycled down mountain on comfy bicycles, very organised, worst bit was bus ride down – pot holes! Stopped at small water fountain hole, if you fancied a dip – touts there asking for tips & selling videos of your trip. Did a trip to Dolphin Cove which we really enjoyed, considering I’m not a swimmer, did the Ultimate Swim package – amazing, the dolphins were so lovely, felt a little sorry for them, but something I’ve always wanted to do. Did the Dunns River Falls (free trip through the hotel) excellent, water not as cold as I thought it would be, quite fun and very organised, also did free shuttle trip into town – worst experience, loud music from shop to shop, hassled in market, what an eye opener, couldn’t wait to get back on the bus and back to hotel. Apart from being bitten from mozzies, sand flies and headaches from the humidity, it was ok, would not return to Jamaica.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skippysue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What wonderful 10 day holiday. March 29th to April 8th.
Check in went smoothly . Our room was not ready as we arrived before noon, but had lunch & by 1:30 we were changed & wondering the beautiful grounds & the beach.
We were in D block & and had the beautiful corner room. What a view!1 Yes we had to go up & down the stairs to the beach, but the exercise helped wear off all the fantastic delicious food that is served at. San Souci. The staff are courteous ,friendly & very helpful . To name & few Conroy at the beach, Dilano at Palizzio, Nedeano at the Cassanova.
The watersports staff were patient, & helpful. German took us out for a wonderful hobbi cat ride.
The snorkling was fun as were the waterbikes.
All in all a great time didn't want to come back to the cold & we hope to visit San Souci again someday

Room Tip: If you have knee or walking problems the A or B blocks have less stairs. & are closer to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

As every vacation you are excited to get to your destination. Well our Couples vacation started as soon as we landed! We were greeted and shown to a loung to wait for our shuttle. Our luggage was looked after, and we had a glass of champange (a complete bar was available). When we got to the resort we were instanly in the ocean fresh air and also greeted with a glass of champange!
The suprising part of our trip was we met many couples that were returning for a 3 time and even for a 14th time. That says so much!!! Amazing.
Everyday was great! The food, service, views, staff, wonderful! Conroy was our beach drink server, and our drinks were never empty! Morice from Water sports noticed that we were snorkling in the bay and offered us a privet snorkle at a few of the local reefs. Morice and the guy with the wistle (sorry can't remember your name) had fruit, cheese and more then enough beer for us already on the boat. Conroy, Delroy were our beach bar servers. Redane,Valenitne were our servers for eating. NO ONE disapointed us. The lady the does the pictures.... she was a rock star! So personal, funny and always willing to have some fun with her photography!
Thank you all at Sans Souci!!! OUY OUY... Hope to see you all in 2015!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,311 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,159 reviews
53.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,364 reviews
57.9 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,484 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £274 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing