We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I agonized over finding the perfect hotel for our honeymoon, it was all in vain. Couples San Souci was perfect. It's no wonder they have 'repeaters' who've been coming for 20 years. I've stayed at big resorts like the RIU in the past but this one was small and intimate. I felt more catered too and they remembered our names. You can keep to yourself or get to know other friendly couples (adults only). The rooms are large, quiet and comfortable. There's plenty of seating and you can eat breakfast on the huge balcony. I miss having cook to order omelettes every morning, with fresh pancakes and a smoothie.

This resort has a no tipping policy. I inquired at the front desk just like Trip Advisor advises. We actually wanted to tip but they wouldn’t give us change because they said it’s prohibited. I was stunned because we still got good service.

People complain about the stairs. I needed a workout after eating so much but if you have mobility issues, that could be a problem. We actually preferred the regular beach to the 'au natural' one. There's always a chair and umbrella available and it's a short walk no matter which area you stay in. We did see some peeping toms looking through the bushes on our bike ride past the au natural beach. Also, the the ocean floor there was more rocky. I'd recommend beach shoes which we bought in the on site store for about $10. But the toiletries they sell are high.

The meals were great even at the non-reservation restaurants and Chef George more than accommodated my food allergies. The restaurants are open late which is great if you have a late flight. I took a fitness class in the mineral pool. They make fresh juices there until 5pm (with veggies and fruits) as well as vegetarian wraps. The hubby worked out at the gym and he even found a heavy bag for boxing.

Yes the nighttime entertainment was lousy but making fun of the lounge singers and watching people dance is part of the fun ;). There's a business center to print and a really short tour you can take to get acquainted with the property. Check the calendar for activities such as hat making, art, etc.

The glass bottom boat ride and snorkeling were fun (weather permitting). Even though it rained a lot in December, we still found plenty to do without leaving the resort. But if you leave, I'd suggest going to the Blue Hole vs. the crowded Dunn's River Falls. If you do go to Dunn's, don't buy the DVD! The Blue Hole is free and you get your own guide, all you have to do is tip them. Catch a cab and wear a life jacket. My husband is already ready to return to San Souci. I hope you love it as much as we did!

Room Tip: Ocho Rios is loud. You can't hear other couples but if you sleep with your windows open, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladylovesrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,678
    734
    216
    65
    49
See reviews for
41
3,290
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were there in February of 2013 for our honeymoon and I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a beautiful, romantic, over the top place to honeymoon.

The resort is about 90 minutes from the Montego bay airport, so come prepared for a long drive, but our host/driver was very funny and provided a lot of local information as we drove around Jamaica. Our room was lovely- not the most modern- but spacious and clean with a beautiful balcony view of the grounds and the ocean as well as a sitting room and huge bathroom with Jacuzzi tub.
We enjoyed all of the different restaurants as well as the spa (for couple massage in an Oceanside cabana) and the water sports. All of the staff were super friendly and always helpful. Bar service and entertainment staff were also great. We enjoyed many of the different evening entertainment options as well as the free room service (alcohol included!).
We especially enjoyed that the resort included a couple of excursions to town- for shopping and to the famous Dunn's River Falls (which is a MUST do).
Another great experience came from a photographer we befriended. Not only did he take great pictures of us throughout our stay, he was always really friendly and greeted us at every event.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are beautiful, but most also face the main grounds where many of the evening activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freqtravgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This resort is the best one by far. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The dinning experience was out of this world. The all natural beach was secluded and large. All in all a top notch resort.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

There are some widely differing reviews about this place; some exaggerate the good, some exaggerate the bad. Don't be put off by the bad - it has its flaws, rooms and furniture are in need of refurbishment (that is apparently in hand), and not all staff are wonderful (some, a small number, are downright surly and curt). Hence, the 4 stars and not 5.
Overall, Couples Sans Souci is really very good. The grounds are as close as most people will get to a tropical paradise and it oozes charm. Most of the staff are brilliant, always ready for a friendly chat they are justifiably proud of what they do. And let's not forget those behind the scenes staff like housekeeping, gardening and catering - they all helped make our stay one of the best AI experiences we've had.
The real test is 'will we go back ?' - the answer is a definitive yes, in a heartbeat given the chance......

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldstream, British Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for a week March 23 to 30/14.
The service staff were awful, no absolutely brutal to be exact! We complained to management, they gave us an apology with a complimentary fruit plate and bottle of champagne, and the service slightly improved afterward, but they have some serious issues there. The property was good, the main pool needs some TLC and they really should repair it. The au natural side was better. The beach was very private over there and the pool was in better repair, although dirty tiles were all around it and no one ever was "cleaning" it while we were there. Lots of sea urchins on beach and in water, so water shoes are a must at all times on the beach and in the water. But au natural side had it's own grill, hot tub, pool and music so it was a lively atmosphere. Main pool was a snooze fest, as was the mineral pool area. Staff were cranky and really didn't want to be there. Beautiful scenery is all it really had going for it. The grounds were immaculate. Never saw the chambermaids, but room was always clean and had no complaints there at all.

Bar staff at main pool unhappy and cranky. We even commented to them that they were and they agreed. Almost had to beg for service some days. Pool bar in au natural side marginally better. Again we did complain, and noticed a difference afterward but still not perfect. The guy in the piano bar was terrible. Not sure he even wanted anyone to sing with him and did his best to avoid it. I tried one night and he played for a bit, then got up and left so I would leave. When I did, he came back and played for a bit and quit. Also at one point I went behind the bar at the piano bar to serve myself a drink because there were no staff anywhere in sight. They had a disco night, and basically it was a dance show for the staff or really just one staff lady who just wanted to dance by herself. They played all their own music and danced while the rest of the patrons and guests watched on the sidelines. I called it the "staff disco party" and said that to another guest the next day in front of some other staff members by the mineral pool who were within ear shot, and the staff looked at each other and laughed. Also the lifeguard guys in blue were some of the rudest most disrespectful people I have ever encountered at a resort anywhere. There are some really unhappy people working there. That was very evident.

Food was excellent. Entertainment was ok. Ladies at the spa were very nice. Front desk and bellman were also good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SnowAngel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, Owner at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear SnowAngel63,

Thank you for spending a week at Couples Sans Souci. It was unfortunate to learn about some of the negatives from your stay, particularly comments on our staff. Customers generally tell us how great and friendly our service is, as seen here on Trip Advisor. Couples extends it’s sincere apologies that you did not receive this level of hospitality. Management has read your review and will address each point mentioned.

Regards,
Abraham Issa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I explored Couples Sans Souci from March 17 - 28 and it was truly amazing!!!

We have traveled to Sandles and Beaches Negril and they were truly magnificent but this time we decided to go to a smaller more intimate resort setting and Couples Sans Souci did not let us down!!!

From the moment we arrived we were treated like "royals"...the check in and delivery to our suite was timely and easy and no long lineups or "fighting" with the guest services to get the room we requested (which by the way was A16 ...overlooking the main pool and beach)..

All the staff we constantly pleasant and knew our names on first meeting (wow...I can't remember names from one day to the next...how they seem to remember all the guests names is a art form to itself)..

There are a few staff to make mention of....

Q from the main bar was our premier server and always a pleasure to be in the company of.
Dillon and the young trainie from the main pool bar were also superb...lets promote him to full staff position...lol

Roberto (the sea captain) was a pleasure to venture out with...we participated in unlimited snorkeling and an amazing cater-marine windsurfer thing when the winds we peaking out...wow...the wifie had to hold onto his shorts for saftey...too funny!!! WE loved it!!!!

Sarah, of house services, was a true gem...everyday we came back to the room that was detailed with flowers and fancy towel creations...any thing we wanted in the minibar she ensured was always made available to us when we forgot to order up during the night...she was sooo pleasant and always on the watch to say hello during her morning flower picks....she is a keeper for sure!!!

There are sooo many others but their names escape me now...but all in all it was a wonderful trip.

The only thing I can say as a con was the morning buffet could use more variety...it was pretty much the same thing everyday with one or two dishes changed up and was never all that hot.
However...I have to say that "Wilie-coyete" of the omelette station was amazing...I believe he called himself "Genius"...lol

Nicholas from the sports centre was another fine lad and always popped around to ensure we were having a great time and to let him know if there was anything we needed from him...smile

Room Tip: We stayed in A16...overlooking the main pool and beach...in the newer section and nice patio...big b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

After a long flight, arrived at a hot and humid, cramped airport Chaos! Queued for a taxi which had air-con thank goodness and the driver was very informative about the island which helped the time go quicker on our 2-hour journey. We were greeted with a hot towel to refresh ourselves and a welcome cocktail whilst our luggage was being taken to our room, where we were then escorted to. I asked for a central room, which is what I got in ‘D’ Block with a partial sea-view from the balcony. Had a huge comfy bed, large flat-screen TV with movie channels and a large walk-in shower. Yes, there are steps to this block, but they are not that bad (approx. 39) from the beach, then more steps up to the lobby/reception. Wouldn’t recommend high heels here. As our room was on the end of the row near to gardens, had ants almost every day so had to ring housekeeping for them to spray outside the door, which they did swiftly. Also, not much privacy, had to keep curtains closed as large windows close to the ground, (nearly all rooms like this) even in shower room, couldn’t open the windows whilst showering, ended up with flies in the room if you did. Champagne & fruit was left in our room as we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. All staff were very friendly, nothing too much trouble. We walked round the grounds and got to meet Crackers the parrot and some puppy dogs.
Rained all day on first day, but didn’t mind so we did the orientation tour and got acclimatised. The whole complex is very well laid out on cliffs, encircling the sea. A & B Blocks are furthest away from Lobby & Casanova restaurant, D Block more central to everything. The mineral pool was refreshing after a hot day and could get a healthy fruit or vegetable drink from its bar, could never get in the Jacuzzi, always occupied. Didn’t try the pools. The beach is small but big enough for the hotel guests, the sea is warm and shallow quite a way out. Not very good for snorkelling, sometimes murky. Did the free glass-bottom boat trip which was ok, nothing to rave about, saw a lot of dead coral.
Being AI, was surprised at lunch/evening meals you chose from a 3-course menu, so the food was freshly cooked. All menus were displayed at breakfast. Food was good, always nicely presented, even tried lobster, which tasted like prawn. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty choice from cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, filter coffee, omelette station, cooked corner: bacon, etc., toast, champagne, fruit juices. There are 3 restaurants - we liked the atmosphere at the beach front restaurant (Bella Vista), the lunchtime burgers are the best I’ve had (don’t normally eat burgers), but these were fab. You have to book to eat at the other 2 restaurants – Casanova is ok if you don’t mind formal dress code and a pianist, you just wait for a table at Bella Vista – we had a romantic dinner right on the beach front one night watching the sea.
We booked all our trips through the Thomson Rep at the hotel, as I got him to match the hotels prices. Did Port Antonio to see some of the island, short boat trip on the blue lagoon cost 10 dollars each on top of the trip price but something you just do whilst there, nice lunch included when we stopped off at Frenchman’s Cove: Chicken & rice, fruit & cake, didn’t get to see Somerset Falls as works in progress due to strict UK laws! Did Blue Mountains Trip which included nice lunch, saw small coffee plantation (beans on wild trees), then cycled down mountain on comfy bicycles, very organised, worst bit was bus ride down – pot holes! Stopped at small water fountain hole, if you fancied a dip – touts there asking for tips & selling videos of your trip. Did a trip to Dolphin Cove which we really enjoyed, considering I’m not a swimmer, did the Ultimate Swim package – amazing, the dolphins were so lovely, felt a little sorry for them, but something I’ve always wanted to do. Did the Dunns River Falls (free trip through the hotel) excellent, water not as cold as I thought it would be, quite fun and very organised, also did free shuttle trip into town – worst experience, loud music from shop to shop, hassled in market, what an eye opener, couldn’t wait to get back on the bus and back to hotel. Apart from being bitten from mozzies, sand flies and headaches from the humidity, it was ok, would not return to Jamaica.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skippysue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
1,215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3,053 reviews
46.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4,212 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
5,076 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing