We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third time here in 13 months and more to come!”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Another wonderful time at our home away from home! This time for nine days - so relaxing -even with all of the water volleyball and other activities. Even the daily rain didn't take away from a fabulous time. Spent the week with couples from all over the US that we met at the A/N pool/bar. We have many new friends! This happens so easily at the A/N side where everyone is so friendly. The bartenders there are extra special too. I was immediately recognized from a previous trip and welcomed warmly. We can't wait to return to CSS as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,734 - 1,740 of 4,056 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

The people there are excellent and make the experience what it is! There is so much to do that is included with your stay that is really fun. The food is great as well as the service. I couldn't have asked for anything better! They asked for things to improve on when we checked out and we had to think pretty hard to come up with a few things and most of those things we just little picky things that probably only pertained to us. I hope to go back soon and hopefully take friends and would recommend it for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dabowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

It's been a wonderful experience at Couples Sans Souci! The staff are all so friendly and the food is awesome! We have traveled the Caribbean quite a bit and Jamaica is the one place I have always wanted to go. Couples Sans Souci made it the perfect experience!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorlor1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The resort far exceeded my expectations. I enjoyed it being laid back but completely professional in all aspects. The service was tremendous. The entertainment staff was always ready to ensure you enjoyed your trip with non stop activities if that's what you were looking for. Great job Alex!

Of course Casanova was my favorite dinner location. The staff made it an experience not just a meal. Make a reservation outside under the stars for the last seating and you have the perfect seat for the evening show.

The room was cleaned each day by 2PM, and it was spotless!

I love to play tennis, and tennis lessons were included by a USPTA professional at no additional fee. That's impressive! I saw they would offer tennis clinics, but loved meeting the visiting pro Chi. My backhand is so much more consistent.

I would highly recommend this resort to all tennis players and those who love food and wine.

Room Tip: Find the natural waters at the bottom of the steps by the gym. The perfect quiet and calm at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First off, I will say that we had a really nice break from work, and that it was incredibly relaxing.

I have had a bit of difficulty rating this one and would probably settle for 3.5 stars if that was possible, but have settled on 4 rather than 3 as we thought that, on reflection, it was excellent value (we paid just under £2,k each including flights and transfers etc, and unlike other holidays the only other time we opened our wallet was to tip our driver and pay for some spa treatment).

Positives

- The grounds are simply stunning: the hotel is multi-tiered, the lobby at the pinnacle overlooking the rainforest descending to the sea, there are a variety of paths winding there way down through the trees where there are a number of small plateaus with pools, bars, hammocks (so you can always find your own space), a waterfall, mineral spring grotto, then the lower tier with the main beach, swimming pool and restaurants, a freshwater lake, and private au naturel section. Considering there are so few rooms, the grounds are huge, incredibly varied and beautiful.

- The staff are incredibly friendly, and always seem keen to chat.

- All inclusive really is all inclusive there. We changed GBP into USD800 thinking that there would be the usual extras, but even after some spa treatment we still have $700 left.

- Sunset Beach is a great addition: very private, and in reality a nicer pool and beach than the main one.

- The wildlife: each morning after breakfast we would wander around the lake to feed the freshwater turtles (terrapin maybe), and watch the pelicans and kingfishers take bread from you and use it to bait the fish to the surface. Various geckos, spiders in the rainforest too, and plenty of fish to see on the snorkel trip. Be careful of the sea urchins off the main beach though!

- The rooms are really quite big, with nice sized verandahs. The beds were also super comfortable.

- The lunch at Sunset Beach.

-The wraps and fruit smoothies at the mineral pool.

- Always prefer the couples-only atmosphere.

- The spa was brilliant, with treatment huts perched on the side of the cliff, overhanging the ocean.

- Did I say that the grounds were fantastic?

Negatives

- We were staying in the sea view suites up near the lobby. Though large, they were quite tired, especially the bathroom, and the standard of finishing was not really up to that of a 4/5 star resort. However, I am aware that some of the rooms are newer, and that Couples are working their way around the resort upgrading the rooms so this should improve.

- I know that this is going to sound nit-picky, and in reality I think that it is partly because, living in London, we are used to having everything done immediately. This is definitely not the Caribbean way. When we go to the Far East, they are so efficient that by the time we have had breakfast, the room has been cleaned and made up. Whilst this is obviously above and beyond, we found that on a number of occasions the room would not be made up until the evening. It is not the biggest deal in the world, but it is slightly awkward when you come back up to your room after the sun goes down, sit outside on the terrace with a drink or start to get ready for dinner and then someone comes in to clean your room. As I say, it is only nit-picking, and at first it did not bother us, but when it became the normal routine it was a tiny irritation.

- The food is really quite good, especially for an all inclusive, however, though the atmosphere of each restaurant is different, the actual food is quite similar at each. It seemed that a lot of guests come from the US for 5 days or so (nice short flight), and I think it would be fine for that, but for two weeks the menus got a little repetitive (though nice). It is also great that you can use your terrace for in-room dining, but perhaps a bit more variety on that menu would be excellent.

The positives definitely outweighed the negatives and we had a great time and met some great people (staff and guests), but I think with a few tweaks it could be a first-rate resort rather than just a very good one. We will definitely keep an eye out for any last minute offers to Sans Souci to treat ourselves to and go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a sea view suite, but thought it was a little dated. The beachfront suites looked in mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JimJam1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I recently returned from our Honeymoon at CSS. We honestly felt the greater majority of our stay was everything we could have hoped. Everything about the trip was perfect until we had a tablet stolen from the room. It was our fault for not securing the item in the safe, however the reaction to us reporting the incident was troubling. When informing management/security of the incident they were almost incredulous we were even reporting this. After filing the report and watching them search the room for the device (along with my wife's lingerie drawer) I was told someone would follow up on Monday. Monday came and went along with the rest of the stay and no one followed through. I would never expect compensation, just make us feel better about the situation, like they were on top of it or even cared.

That being said, the views were beautiful, the bartenders and servers were fantastic and food was good.

Their inaction of following through left a bad taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank as232148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, Owner at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear as232148,

Congratulations and thank you for spending your honeymoon at Couples Sans Souci. It is unfortunate your tablet device went missing. A thorough investigation was carried out and there were no signs of broken entry or unauthorized access. Management will contact you today with a security report and insurance information to assist you further.

Sincerely,
Abraham Issa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We selected this resort for our 30th anniversary based upon recommendations from a friend. It was incredible. The accommodations were top notch. Very romantic. Staff attended to our every need ensuring we were always happy and having a fabulous time. The staff treated us like family more than anything. Richard was a great water sports instructor. Senita and Milton were outstanding activity directors. They made each day so much fun! My favorite bartenders made the best drinks Demar, Peter and Akeem. Brian is the man when it comes to Bob Marley and Rainbow shots. He is also a talented comedian, and a great guy. I will definitely be back. This is more than a five star resort!!!!! The food was excellent every meal and the wait staff attended to every need. The spa is over the top in the services provided. We did a couples massage which was comparable to a five star spa in Dallas. I recommend this resort to any couple looking for fun, romance and activities.

Room Tip: I only gave a lower rating on sleep quality because of issues beyond the resorts control. If your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 506Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,376 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,234 reviews
53.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 81 in Negril
5,511 reviews
1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £226 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing