We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Sartell, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredible service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our original stay was for Couples Tower Isle, but the winds were high (red flag days) and we couldn't swim at that beach. Staff got us a ride to Couples San Souci so we could enjoy the sun and water at a calmer beach! Amazing!! The grounds at San Souci are huge, acres and acres of very well groomed pathways through lush tropical plants and palms. Go slow and take in all the beauty. Some did not like how the resort is spread out, just know it ahead of time and take your time. We zig-zagged down the cliff (very safe & wide paved walks) with gorgeous views of the Caribbean down to a lovely half moon sugar sand beach. Plenty of chairs, lots of drinks, food and "friends"! The staff is amazing, they will learn your name very quickly and are super polite! The beach pool was incredible: large, perfect temp and swim up bar! If you wanted, the clothing optional beach was a short walk away with food & drink services out there too! The area was very comfortable and had pool-hot tub-beach for all who wanted that perfect tan. Awesome place! There are rooms on the cliffs above and rooms on the lower beach area. Tough call! We talked to everyone at the bar and on the beach and had a fun argument about which buildings were the "Best"! Each area had it's own pools so you never had to go far at all to swim. Upper buildings had incredible views of the entire beach, ocean and jungle, but you had to walk down to the ocean. The lower rooms were right on the beach, but the cliffs with "jungle walks & little waterfalls" were farther away! I know, silly arguments...but with some great drinks and fun people around the bar it all seemed relevant at the time! All that matters is this is a verrrry romantic place, with great food, awesome drinks and textile or clothing optional beaches. Definitely would go back!!

Room Tip: Both sections of this resort have great qualities about them: If you like vista views with beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,649
    727
    213
    65
    49
See reviews for
40
3,254
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We just got back from our third trip to resort. We stayed in a beach front suite that was lovely. You could walk right off patio and are in the ocean in 30 seconds. The room was the best we have had but all the rooms are nice. The food and drink can not be beat we have stayed at other places over the years and always come back here. The property is very well maintained and the staff go out of the way for you around the clock. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: building A and B are beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I who live in Jamaica recently spent one night here. We have been to other all-inclusives on the island, however this one is our favourite. It is a classy hotel, reminiscent of 'old time' Jamaica, but with some contemporary features such as the new martini bar. We liked the fact that there are cosy hideaways dotted around the property, and we enjoyed sitting by the peaceful, large pond watching the turtles and pelicans. This is a somewhat quiet property, not a place to party wildly although there is nightly entertainment, rather a place to unwind and enjoy good food and impeccable service in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I won't repeat what most people have about the rooms being dated because they are but they are very clean and comfortable. We booked with Thomson and our room f3 did not come with a balcony after 3 days we asked if we could upgrade and we so pleased we did. We came for 11 nights the upgrade was reasonable cheaper to do direct than with our tour operator. Our new room was fantastic 1 bedroom suite with views over looking the small pool and the ballon bar. Loved the double lounger on the balcony had breakfast and 1 evening meal with
Room service on the balcony at no extra cost.

Food fab and I am a really fussy ester. Drinks all cocktails brilliant.

Loved the lake and feeding the turtles, birds and fish everyday with bread taken the buffer was my highlight of the holiday.

The best thing about this hotel are the staff THEY ARE THE BEST EVER and we are well trsvelled. Every single staff menber needs a mention they work so hard and really see interested in the holiday makers having a good time.

Have a massage with the waves below you very relaxing.

Do go out and see the beautiful countryside. I would recommend going to Port Antonia and going on the bamboo raft booked with a Thomson s a trip I will never ever forget, beautiful.

We enjoyed all the evening entertainment local bands and Alex the entertainment staff member singing.

I could write a book on the whole experience we loved it so much, if you can please upgrade it is so worth but for us uk holiday makers it is very expensive because we have the long flight. Two people that were great company were Masall aka Ziggy beach bar and Dwight life guard who went the extra mile making our holiday special.

We are hoping to visit Couples Negril next year they will have a lot to live up too. Thanks Sans sousi we loved evey minute.

Room Tip: Choose the best room you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KENTCOUPLEMITCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I did a ton of research on TA before finally deciding on Couples San Souci as our honeymoon destination and like most people we met, we really enjoyed our stay there. We stayed for a total of 9 nights from 5/26 to 6/4 and loved every moment of our experience. I’ll also cover our experience at Dunn’s River Falls and the Dolphin Cove since they are 2 very popular nearby attractions that you’d probably consider when you’re at Ocho Rios.

We stayed in the G block (G-14) to be exact and had amazing views from our balcony. Yes, it was a bit further from the main beach and yes there were more stairs than if you stayed in A or B block but the panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea each morning made it worthwhile. Sure, the room could use a bit of updating, and yes, there were cracked tiles in our bathroom but overall the room was clean and spacious and of course, the view was amazing (for not paying a penthouse price). We found the resort to be intimate but not over crowded. We also spent a day at Couples Tower Isle (it was available on M, W, and F), while the beach is definitely larger and the hotel seem much more chic (very South Beach feel), my wife and I both agreed San Souci was a better choice for us. It just felt more romantic and not “hotely”. Also, there were only small canopies or trees to shield you from the blazing sun, for those with fair skin or just don’t enjoy being baked by the hot Jamaican sun for hours, you had nowhere to escape. Whereas at San Souci, there were huts you could get under, which is where we spent most of our time on the beach.
The staff were generally friendly, but some were more willing to help than others, but overall there were no issues there. The food was pretty good (my family has a restaurant back home so I am a bit of a foodie), the portions were fairly generous and the quality was above average. We never left a meal feeling hungry. Since we were on our honeymoon, we purchased a forever yours package ($289) which included a private dinner, $50 credit at the store, and $100 credit at the spa. We really enjoyed our private dinner which was held at the spa gazebo, our waiter was very attentive and it was our most romantic meal there (as to be expected).

We ordered breakfast for room service a few days and it was great for those days that you just didn’t feel like getting out of bed, it was just as good as if you were to go to the Palazzina. For lunch we liked the beach grill, which I opted to get the Jerk Chicken every single day, and it did not disappoint and there is a daily soup, which were always great. We thought dinners at Casanova were over-rated. It’s the more formal restaurant where you need to be in pants and closed toe shoes for men, but we actually found both the food and service were better at Palazzina.

The spa experience was also great, we had a couples massage which we decided to use our credit and upgraded our free 25 min massage for honeymooners for a 50 min session. The huts all have amazing views of the water, but once you’re getting the massage, your face is down on the table the whole time, so it really didn’t matter which hut you were in, but it was nice to hear the water.

A few other random things to mention. Wifi was generally good throughout the resort, except when you’re actually on the beach, but who needs wifi when you have the beautiful view of the Caribbean sea in front of you. The gym was not too bad either, several treadmills and machines as well as free weights to get your work out on if you’re dedicated to your routine. The mineral pool was great around sunset but my bathing suit was covered in a white dry mineral dust after it dried, I guess it must be the mineral sediments in the water, so be forewarned that will happen. The juice bar is excellent near the mineral pool where you can get fresh fruit smoothies for healthy alternative. There is also a Martini bar near the Casanova that has a great selection of top shelf martinis to kick off your night (it closes by 9 PM).

We didn’t do a ton of excursions but did manage to go to the Dunn’s Water Fall and the Dolphin Cove. Both were only about 10 mins from the resort. The Water fall was a great experience, I was originally concerned as I am not a strong swimmer that the water would be deep, but most of the climb the water was up to your waist. There are a few spots that you slide down into a water hole that you’re actually submerged for a few seconds, but hold your breath and you’ll get right up. You should definitely invest in a good pair of water shoes, you can’t do it in sandals or flip-flops. We heard horror stories of going through a gauntlet of shops on your way out of the park, but we weren’t really bothered by any aggressive vendors.

The dolphin cove was something that my wife had really wanted to experience, we paid ~$300 for the “ultimate experience” for her to swim with 2 dolphins. She really enjoyed the time with them, but if you actually breakdown the amount of time you spend with the dolphins, it was probably less than 5 mins of actual interaction time with them. The rest of the time you watched other people in the water with them, you pet them and they take you on a ride, where you hold on to their fins and they push the bottom of your feet while you “glide” on the water. There are also other attractions at the dolphin cove such as a wild bird sanctuary and swimming with sharks and sting rays. The bird sanctuary was fun as they would fly on to your shoulders and you can feed them out of your palm, we didn’t do the swimming with sharks or sting rays. All were part of the admission to the dolphin cove.

Overall we had a wonderful experience at Couples San Souci and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pick G or F Block for better views but they are both slightly further from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank yeh642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We went for one week and there are no negatives about this place. We have been to other places and this one is hands down wonderful. Even at full capacity, it is so large compared to the number of people it holds, it always seems 1/2 empty. 2/3 of the deck chairs are always available. The water equipment paddle boats etc. are in good condition and their are enough of them that what we wanted was always available. Never waited in line for anything. They have so many pools that none ware crowded although the AN/SSB pool is a meeting place of sorts.The food was top notch. We divided dinners between the formal wear, casual wear and seaside grill. They are all excellent. The formal was as good as any high end formal restaurant here at home.

The staff is large, very helpful and so happy it rubs off on the guests. In particular, Jodi deserves a raise. The evening entertainment was actually good (as opposed to lame at other all inclusives we have been to). The evening gathering at the piano bar was a lot of fun. We also did the champagne/cheese/fruit sunset cruise on their power boat. It was both fun and romantic, well worth the money.

For the Au-Natural crowd, they have really nice facilities and I recommend it over the island at Couples Tower Island. Don't get me wrong, the island is nice but these facilities are available 24-7. The pool is large with swim up bar, lots of chairs so some ware available when ever we went. New hot tub (nice for that 1AM sneak off together moment) and a grill that also had some buffet as well at lunch. There was always 25-60 people there. As it is a resort for adult couples only, the atmosphere is different from any other Au-Natural place we have been to and in a good way. This is not Hedo so don't feel intimidated. Friendly people from their 20's to 60's.

We also went off the reservation for Duns River Falls, zip lining and shopping. Lots of fun stuff in the area.

Room Tip: Buildings A to C are facing the beach on the main lawn. Great view but the patio's don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a nice stay in this hotel but felt the facilities and choice of food was not quite as good as other hotels in the Couples portfolio. That said the rooms were clean and well appointed the food was good without being exceptional and there is a good range of branded drinks unlike some All inclusive hotels.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
46.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,036 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing