We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movie,Shopping, Beach anyone?”
Review of Island Village

Island Village
Ranked #31 of 69 things to do in Ocho Rios
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Situated in the heart of Jamaica’s popular tourist destination – Ocho Rios, just minutes away from the Cruise Ship Pier, Island Village offers the perfect mix of retail and entertainment facilities all in one convenient stop. With its picturesque open air setting incorporating natural spring lagoons and beautiful flowering trees, this complex has the remarkable feeling of being almost at “One With Nature”. It manages to recreate the ambiance of a picturesque Caribbean village setting, yet at the same time housing retail and entertainment facilities. Island Village is located on the beach and stays true to its tropical location, vibrant gardens, scenic boardwalk and water features for a relaxed shopping experience. Island Village gives new dimensions to the visitor experience and has completely transformed the landscape of this popular resort community.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Movie,Shopping, Beach anyone?”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This plaza has almost everything you maybe looking for on you holiday trip. There are souvenirs, Food, ice cream, Juice bar and the beach is just a stone's throw away. Love this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LCUBEDWAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    46
    55
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“go to the ice cream place”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

half the stores are closed, there is an ice cream shop, margaritaville, couple souvenir shops, an overpriced cigar shop, and the pub. its a place for the tourists from the cruise ships to hang out at to kill time. if you're daring to walk into town, make sure you can hold your own because some of the locals are very aggressive and will not leave you alone, even if you say politely no thank you, they will continue to harass you until you talk to them and go to their shop or consider what they have to offer. taj mahal is within walking distance from the island village shops.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JK113012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
311 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Lots of potential here”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We enjoyed our visit to the coffee shop here where we had our first delicious beef patty. We met another merchant who was lovely to chat with and we learned a lot about Jamaican politics. We've also enjoyed the Devon House ice cream right next door. Otherwise it's pretty much the same sort of stuff found in other places and a little touristy. A local told us that the best seafood can be found down by the beach on the backside where the local cook it fresh for you. That would be great to try if you're looking for something less touristy than Margaritaville. There's a lot of potential here for more merchants and I hope it continues to fill in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jackandtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only two things worth checking out”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I'll admit, my husband and I aren't big on shopping so we didn't go into any of the stores. Most looked like any other port shopping center. BUT, Devon's Ice cream is worth the trip alone!! YUM! We had ice cream four times the week we were there. So delicious and they are so nice. Unique flavors and then get a double scoop and mix them up!
Also, there is a guy out front with a coconut stand. He sells fresh coconut water (or adds rum!)m beer and other drinks. He is SUPER nice so go talk to him and hang out. We'd walk over and grab a coconut water after a hot day and he always remembered us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishimmy4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Somthing for everyone gifts jewelry booze we always visit the puma store great for sunglasses a swell

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mauricesmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Village also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Island Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing