We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this resort. Quite, intimate, plenty of lounge chairs and floats.
The food was fabulous. Room service was a nice option, and very quick to deliver. Stocked mini bar with full size bottles, just order and it shows up very quickly.
The staff was awesome, friendly, helpful. They made you feel like you were their only guests.
Grounds were clean and beautiful. Comfortable bed, nice room with turn down service.
We did have a power a outage while we were there for a few hours. The hotel handled it great, candles everywhere, flashlights, abundant staff to check on everyone. It was handled great. We called it a great after-dark party.
The island was different, after a few drinks I did go au natural on the island. No worries mom, everyone friendly, no one cared what size or age, it was good.
Great stay and will definitely be returning.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,346 - 1,352 of 3,168 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We went here at the beginning of this month for our honeymoon for six nights. It was our first trip with just the two of us, and my first overseas. All-in-all, it was a wonderful, memorable experience, and I dearly hope that we have a chance to return someday! It was a GREAT value, with the food, drinks, lodging, transportation to and from the airport, excursions offered (you MUST go to Dunn's River Falls!) and featured entertainment acts offered. The worse part of the trip was our inbound/outbound flights (but Delta sucks, and that is just a whole other review).

Also, I see some complaints about noise level and exhaust issues. We had the Premiere Ocean suite, right in front of the "calm" pool (as it was referred to, i.e., it didn't have the activities or swim-up bar), and we didn't have an issue with noise at all as long as we slept with the patio doors closed - and no issue at all with exhaust.

Pros:

1) All of the staff at Tower Isle were just wonderful. I certainly hope that management understands and values the quality of staff that they have there. I am used to rude, indifferent customer service in the U.S. (yes, I'll admit it as an American), and I just loved the warm and affable service that we received! Our maids left our room spotless each time (and I am picky about cleanliness). The lifeguards, Ramon and Vivian were living dolls, we loved chatting with them and appreciated them taking time out to let us pepper them with questions; the Activities Director, Colleen, was just a sweet, bubbly personality; and the trainees who brought us drinks were just the brightest, nicest group of youngsters - I wanted to steal away Rajiv, Raymond and Carol!

2) The food is top-notch - we loved the assortment of restaurants we could select from (6 total). I was initially concerned with sanitation or quality, but no problems here. The meals were absolutely delicious, from the reservation-only restaurants (ohmygosh, the chocolate pot de creme dessert at Eight Rivers) to the jerk chicken at the Pool Grill, to the decadent buffet dinners at the pool parties. I'm not much of a drinker, but my husband was impressed with the drinks and the stocked mini bar in our room.

3) We loved the compact, intimate size of the resort. We never felt overcrowded, and I liked being able to run around the resort and never feel lost or overwhelmed. Everything was readily accessible and easy to find. It enabled us to get familiar with faces and get to know some of the other couples there while still maintaining privacy and 'us' time. Also, we appreciated that the beach was private, so we weren't harassed at all by vendors.

4) Cleanliness - the rooms were very clean, as were all the common areas, and the dishes. Unlike many dining out establishments, I was very pleased that I never had any tableware with dried food gunked on. This place was very clean.

Cons:

1) The bathroom in our suite - I hated it. Several other couples complained about the setup as well. There is no dividing barrier between the shower and the rest of the bathroom, so water just runs out all over the floor and you have to wear flip-flops while using the sink. It feels like a gym or camp grounds restroom. I never felt completely clean, and there was a constant dampness in the bathroom that was gross. And the sink is silly, too, it's very shallow and wide, so you had to constantly rinse it down (if you've seen the sinks, you know what I mean).

2) The $20 bill "coupons" that they handed off to discount prices from cigar and jewelry sales. The fine print shows only applicable to purchases of $99+. I get sales, I really do, but that felt like a cheap bait-and-switch trick that was jarring and incongruent with the rest of the atmosphere. Either do an obvious buy-one-get-one-free or 20% off discount or something, but don't do silly cheap maneuvers like that.

In conclusion, our stay was a wonderful, memorable experience, and we plan to return someday! It was a GREAT value - there's a definite reason behind the couples we spoke with who have returned to the same resort multiple times (one man had visited 50 times, and another woman was on her 17th).

Room Tip: I would pick the Ocean Premiere - we didn't have any issues with noise and exhaust, which seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We first discovered CTI in a brochure (old school method) back in 2000, and decided to give it a shot. From the very beginning, it was pretty apparent that we got it right. We're planning our 10th visit to CTI this May, to reunite with numerous friends from all over the US, and (hopefully) the UK . We've formed many great relationships at CTI, with fellow travelers and with resort staff. The staff is superb, the food is excellent, the drinks never end...the whole Jamaican "vibe" is in full effect at CTI, and it is greatly appreciated by all of us who call the resort our home away from home.

The au naturel island HAS to be one of the greatest places on this planet...we end up spending the majority of our waking hours out there. After a full day of intense Jamaican sun and a never-ending river of Red Stripe, we're usually beat to a pulp after about 9 PM. Gotta rally up and get ready to do it all over again the next day. It's a tough job, but we always give it the ol' college try.

Room Tip: Honestly, we like the rooms near the lobby. Very close to the action. But we'd pitch a tent on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12NickO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

For our two-week winter break we look for a smallish hotel, good food and, hopefully, good weather.
The hotel is situated close to a main road and from our balcony (third floor main building) we could hear the traffic. However, our room was spacious and well appointed, the huge bed was comfortable and we had free Wi-Fi which was a bonus. The standard of cleanliness in all areas was excellent. The beach is small but with plenty of sunbeds and finding free ones each morning was never a problem. The flag system for ordering drinks was always welcome although the pool bar was nearby.
Our room was changed on our arrival when staff saw that my husband had mobility problems. Our original room was in one of the further blocks and we were instead given a room close to the lifts in the main block which meant less walking. For this we were extremely grateful.
The main buffet-style dining room was fine for breakfast and lunch but we preferred to eat in one of the other three restaurants in the evenings. Booking a table at the Guest Relations desk was never a problem. The food was good as was the service but as the menus are only changed once a week there was some repetition.
The staff throughout the hotel are its greatest asset. They are unfailingly cheerful and helpful. Our thanks especially go to Karen, of Guest Relations, who ensured our stay went smoothly. She went out of her way to help us and it was much appreciated.
The beach party on Monday nights was extremely well organised (and a huge amount of work for the staff) and the entertainment enjoyable.
Unfortunately we were not blessed with wall-to-wall sunshine every day and a fair amount of torrential rain reminded us of what we'd left behind in the UK. However, it was a good chance to catch up on our reading sitting quietly on our large balcony.
We took two trips out. The first was the shopping trip into Ocho Rios which was interesting. The second was to Dunns River Falls. Despite not being physically able to climb up the falls we thoroughly enjoyed watching others from the viewing platforms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenelopeRay46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I and my husband went to cti from the 27th jan till the 4th feb. We usually go to backpacking holidays, we love to meet the locals and get experience on the road. This time we opt for a relaxing holiday as it was our honeymoon and this year was very stressful for us. The hotel is great, we got an ocean view without asking or booking for it, the room was clean, with a nice spacious balcony and all the appliances you need. There is a mini bar that you get restock whenever you want, just need to call bar service on the phone. Even if the rooms are not so big are perfect for two people(consider that you never gonna be in the room with such an amazing weather and beach outside!!). The food is the average for every resort, but the two a la carte restaurants are great! Book the 8 rivers for Fridays, is lobster night!! And trust me the food here is great! The Asian is ok, and the veranda, which is open in the evening only without booking is also very good! Go there in the evening rather than to the buffet, better food and service at the tables. The entertainment is soft and pleasant, perfect for who want to listen to great Jamaican music in total relax. There are many activities, enough to keep you busy, if you don't want to stay by the pools or by the beach drinking a cosmopolitan and reading a book:-). We are so glad we choose this amazing glamourous resort. We felt treated like stars with a friendly touch. Thanks to all the amazing, hardworking and always smiling staff, we appreciated your job very much and we will come back soon. 100% satisfaction!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabrinadaniello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Hotel Staff are excellent They really go the extra mile for all guests. We have been visiting the Resort for the last 10 years the food is excellent , we have never had a poor meal in that duration, the food selection in all the resorts restaurants is on a par with top London Restaurants. The waiter service at all meals is very attentive and the bar staff are first class in all bars on the resort, the selection of drink is excellent all top brands are available. The entertainment in the evenings is up to a standard of top London shows. The day activities on the resort are first class with a red flag system on the beach for all guests to have waiter service without leaving their sun loungers. The beach staff are excellent always cleaning the beach, the Porter service is friendly and polite and always willing to go the extra mile for all guests. The bedroom cleaning service is excellent and a comprehensive drinks service for all rooms which is included in the price. Overall the resort is excellent and great value for money. The Senior Hotel management which includes guest relations staff are receptive to guests requests and complaints they really go the extra mile for all guests

Room Tip: The Ocean Rooms are excellent and well worth the extra money for excellent views of the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We travelled to Ocho Rios, Jamaica Feb 1 - 8th. Spent 4 nights at Couples Tower Isle and 3 nights at Couples San Souci.

Who are we? We have travelled extensively. We seek out quiet, peaceful nature escapes, secluded beaches, clean air and good food. Running, cycling, hiking, tennis, swimming, snorkeling in beautiful surroundings is an important part of any vacation we go on. We're not 'drinkers', but do enjoy a good quality beer / cocktail with a meal after a long day of fitness activities.

Dining experience - Overall excellent. Please see my review of Couples San Souci for a detailed assessment. Food was superb. I could do with out the loud entertainment to accompany a romantic ocean front dinner - and you didn't have an alternative option on atleast 2 nights of the week.

Service - Best in the caribbean.

Resort - The NEGATIVE : It is located adjacent to a busy road - so you will get to enjoy traffic noise and, if the wind is blowing right, a constant stream of exhaust smells. There was no place to escape from the crowds or the noises and smells from the highway! You could even hear traffic and smell exhaust from our balcony! On the PLUS SIDE: We were in block 4, top floor, right at the end. If you go, this is the place to be. It is the furthest point from the highway and it gives you the most spectacular views. It is also the most quiet spot on the resort. We tend not to spend much time in the room when on vacation, but in this case, it was the only place to escape to that was quiet, away from crowds.

Overall it is a small, compact resort, with a very small beach and nowhere to escape the crowds. Even the buffet area felt over crowded at breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Activities - the beach is very small, so not amenable for someone who loves to swim and snorkel. There just isn't anywhere to go. We tried swimming to the island to snorkel around the reefs - this was nice, but being a small area it did not take much time to explore - furthermore, I they do not want people snorkeling around the island.

The tennis courts are immediately adjacent to a busy road - so if you don't mind breathing exhaust while trying to stay fit - this is the place to be.

No working wifi in the room.

Room was not cleaned daily (partly because we ended up spending more time than usual in the room as it was the most quiet place on the resort).

Au naturel island - not my thing, but you had that option at Tower Isle. I would have much preferred a quiet area for guests looking for a peaceful escape with nice views, clean ocean air.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Seasonedtraveller401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, Sales and Marketing Executive at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear SeasonedTraveller,

Thank you for staying at Couples Tower Isle. We appreciate your rating of excellent on our dining experience and general service. It is unfortunate that other aspects of your stay did not measure up to your expectations.

Couples Tower Isle’s layout is centralized. This allows the majority of our rooms to be ocean view and provides convenience for guests. For more extensive lush grounds and intimate ambience , I recommend one of our Negril properties. The best place to view them is on our website, Couples.com.

Regards,
Abraham Issa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,321 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,970 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#7 of 80 in Negril
4,389 reviews
85.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,320 reviews
8.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £257 - £635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing