We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was a last minute on the spur of the moment booking made two weeks before we traveled. Tower Isle is an older hotel having been built in 1949 which is not a problem and gives it a certain colonial air. It has been updated on a number of occasion during its life and maintenance is good and the decoration very pleasing, however some of the room furniture has come to the end of its life and does require replacing.

The welcome when you arrive is very pleasant after the horrors of Montego Bay airport , one of the worst airports I have had the displeasure of using. You are warmly greeted on arrival and treated to a stunning view straight through the lobby to Tower Isle which is a great introduction. We had an Ocean view room high up with an un disturbed view it was a reasonable size and the shower room was fine nothing special but all OK. Food wise there are a number of alternative restaurants to choose from all offering good food the best is the Eight Rivers the only problem with them is the menus never changes so if you are there for two weeks there is no variation but it's not a big deal. The Bay restaurant offers Asian which I would say was the weakest as I didn't think the food was that authentic, I have had far better. The main buffet style restaurant and the Veranda work well for day to day eating offering a good choice and it's all very fresh. The final offering is the pools side grill, we used it once just can't see the point in it there is way better on offer so why use it it's just a sort of glorified burger type place serving food that was warm and un interesting.

The beach and pool areas were fine for the first half of the holiday when the hotel was only 50% occupied, so every thing worked very well plenty of space and high levels of service. Then Easter arrived and it got full so it got harder to fins shade and not always possible to find a table set up and free in the main dining room, so not as good and starting to struggle a bit, the hotel was coming under pressure. The one thing that I seriously didn't like was very loud and drunk Americans round the swim up bar who just got louder and louder until the bar closed at 6.00 why do the have to shout!!!

Overall it's a good hotel with high standards and offers an enjoyable holiday but I would hold back on saying it's amazing there are better but value wise it's a good offering.

Do go on the Dunns river trip, Sunday morning is a good time it's changeover day and there aren't many visitors at the falls. The other thing don't bother with the shopping trip the shops are some of the worst tat I have ever seen a total embarrassment.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for an Ocean view but you will find the garden side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,987
    718
    210
    96
    44
See reviews for
38
2,388
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A Ruby wedding anniversary and a first return to the island of my birth, we wanted something really special to celebrate. With Couples Tower Isle we certainly got the 'WOW' factor.

Our first all inclusive holiday and Couples Tower Isle has set the standard for us now. Rum punch on arrival, staff who welcomed you as long lost friends, this was a holiday we will never forget.

Food presentation and selection superb. Branded drinks in the room bars and hospitality of the staff out of this world.

As it was a special trip, we upgraded with a request for sea view on a higher floor. We got what we requested with the added bonus of a view of Tower Isle itself.

The hotel helped us to arrange a personal trip to Kingston to discover the town of my birth.

Taxi drivers are on hand at the hotel if you wish to make your own trip arrangements and fees can be negotiated with the drivers.

A trip to Port Antonio and a raft ride down the Rio Grande - highly recommended to see a beautiful unspoilt part of Jamaica.

The Hotel itself organised many excursions as part of the 'all inclusive' package eg. shopping in Ocho Rios, the famous Dunn's River waterfall climb and an evening catamaran cruise.
Activities are scheduled daily providing plenty of fun and an opportunity to get to know people.

The watersports staff are friendly and on hand to help with activities such as snorkelling, sailing and scuba diving.

It is worth knowing for first timers to Jamaica, that the US Dollar appears to be preferred over local currency. The hotel does have a cash machine that will take UK debit cards and issue US dollars. The hotel itself will exchange sterling to Jamaica dollars.

Thank you all at Tower Isle, remembering Byron, Ryan & Emmett (porters), Hannief (rooms), Annette (tours), Colin & Chris (watersports) and our taxi driver Delroy, - so many more to thank for making it a special holiday to remember.

Room Tip: As it was a special trip, we upgraded with a request for sea view on a higher floor. We got what we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kingstonboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks to celebrate the 60th birthday of my wife. Perfect holiday. Food, staff, accommodation were first class. Stayed in a garden room, block 3, floor 3 with wonderful views of manicured lawn and garden - so peaceful. Rooms very large and kept immaculate. Staff were very attentive and exceptional service was received from Maxine, Jodie-Ann, Kellee and Jaman (watersports). Cannot fault any aspect of this holiday. Well worth the 10 hour flight and the chaos of passing through Montego Bay airport which is so busy and buckling under the strain, however this is soon forgotten on arrival at Tower Isle. It's no wonder that so many guests return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield Gardens, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This my second trip to this Couples and I only have one thing to say I WILL BE BACK. If you are looking for a vacation with excellent food, great staff and a setting were the staff knows you by name, then don't search just book your vacation to Couples Tower Isle.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor give the best view of the private island
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkfield, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Jamaica was one of three places on my "bucket list". My partner and I needed a place to go to relax and be pampered after an extremely stressful winter. He couldn't have picked a more perfect place. The resort is amazing, the view, breathtaking, the food, Mmmmm delicious and mother nature did a spectacular job with the weather...sun...sun...sun. None of this would have made any difference if not for the staff. We were greeted with warm genuine smiles that lasted the ten days that we were there. Emorth, thank you. You helped add a little extra to my stay. Odane, you are a sweet and gentle soul. Thank you for first class service and quick wit not to mention that smile. Sean, thank you for going that one step further, you put a smile on my heart. Omar, we will be looking for you when we return. Rajiv, Yonnique, Buttercup (you know who you are) thank you. Hope to see you all when we return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This Easter my husband I decided we wanted a relaxing pampering Easter weekend and we chose Couples Tower Aisle. Exceeded as always expectations. Friendly staff led by servers Andre, Charles and Mark. We enjoyed none stop coconut water while by the beach. Quality wines and food amazing . The service is so personalized we have to do again soon. Big up Lee Issa and Glenn Lawrence.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Trisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Our fifth time to this resort. First class dining, superb, friendly and caring staff look after your every whim. Location is on a quiet cove, and, most importantly, everything is included. Dunn's River Falls, Shopping, snorkeling, scuba diving, it is all included and comes with lots of enthusiasm and friendly help. Lots of activities or no activities...your choice. Excellent bars, with top notch, quality alcohol. This is always were we create great memories and why we keep coming back every year!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,748 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
59.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
20.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing