We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jamaican paradise”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Jamaican paradise”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I spent the first week of May 2014 at Couples tower isles and had a wonderful time!! We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and we were treated like royalty.
The resort itself isn't the fanciest that we have stayed at but the staff made it the most special place we've ever been to. The resort is small but very intimate. We stayed in room 4104, which had a nice ocean front view but it was right by the elevator, the housekeeping closet and near the poor bar, which could get pretty loud in the afternoons.
Thank you so much to the hardworking staff who made this trip wonderful......especially Rohan at the pool bar and Monique, who served us on our private island dinner.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: Buildings 3 & 4 are close to the pool bar, which can be loud in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,001
    724
    211
    97
    44
See reviews for
39
2,407
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Arrival: Smooth. We purchased the Club MoBay and bypassed the long long long wait. If there are not many flights arriving at the same time you are its not a big deal but if there are multiple flights arriving simultaneously then its worth it to start your vacation 1-2 hours earlier.

Ride to hotel: Non eventful. Take note is really is two hours. Kick back, relax and enjoy, you are after all not at work.

Hotel: If you are looking for glitz and glamour, its not the place for you. This place has understated elegance. It's discreet. Rooms are simple yet comfortable. The views are amazing.

Food: Excellent food in all restaurants. I wold like to see a sit down (not buffet) for lunch but it is what it is. Dinner on the beach was good but a perky waitress is not what I expected. Still enjoyed it though.

Bar: Loved the piano bar. He rocks the drinks there. I would go by after dinner and he would know to pour me a cognac to go. Other bars were good too, but this one excelled.

Island (you know the one): Excellent. Loved it. I was quite nervous about going, needn't have been. Its worth going outside of your comfort level if simply not to have to dry off in a wet bathing suit. Seriously there are all shapes and sizes there and no one has their mind in the gutter. Its now a prerequisite for my hotel choices.

Beach: Small, but nice.

Activities: Loved them, went sailing, snorkelling. Husband did yoga and diving. All top notch. Dunn's river falls was nice too. The catamaran was not quite what we expected. We had hoped for a sunset catamaran cruise...we got a wave jumper.

All in all it was a wonderful vacation and honeymoon. Mind you I was with the perfect man so it would be hard to get it wrong.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianeColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited couples Tower isle from 4/5/14 - 11/5/14 after being impressed with couples Negril previously in 2012.

The service we received was of a very high standard right from arrival in Montego bay airport. Once you collect your bags you are taken to a private couples lounge where you are warmly greeted and served complimentary drinks. A short wait here where you can have unlimited soft drinks and beers and freshen up in clean WC's before the transfer.

The transfer is approximately 90 minutes to 2 hours. Although couples has a no tipping policy the driver on the transfer is not paid through couples, therefore a small gratuity is very much appreciated. The bus is air conditioned and the drivers are very friendly.

On arrival to the resort our bags were taken for us. We were welcomed very warmly with our choice of soft or alcoholic drinks and a cold flannel to freshen up. The check in process was very smooth and fast and within 10 minutes we were up in our room.

Room-
Ignore what you read on other reviews the rooms are very typical of the Caribbean (See picture). To make them very contemporary would lose their authenticity. We stayed in a garden room in room 3305. The view was just that of gardens as expected. The bed was queen size and firm which suited our taste. Plenty of storage including a walk in wardrobe, cupboards and draws. The air conditioning was amazing very quiet and didnt cause us to have a dry throat and cold symptoms. The mini bar is fully stocked on arrival. You can request daily by calling room service to have it refilled to individual taste, including one liter bottles of spirits. The bathroom is ok, the shower could do with being a little more powerful but its fine. Be careful making sure the curtain is inside the shower else the floor becomes slippery. Room service is included in the price. Wifi is also included in the resort but can be temperamental at times.

Food and drink-
The buffet was of a good standard. There was always something to eat for individual taste. Fresh cooking stations at all meals. Excellent selection of hot and cold meats, salads, soups and desserts.

Bay side-
This is situated at the end of the resort overseeing the sea with an excellent view of the private island. Its is asian cusine Very romantic as its candle lit and you can hear the waves in the sea. The food was not to our personal tastes. However that was more to do with the menu than the quality of the cooking. Worth a try as some people like it some people not so much. Reservation required for this restaurant (its best to do this asap as they can get booked up, however we had no issues).

Eight rivers-
Reservations are required here. Looks amazing, they very much push a fine dining experience here. The service was of a very high standard. Full length trousers for men, no t-shirts or flip flops. Personally we felt the food wasn't as good as previous reviews. Some dishes lacked in flavor and some dishes had combinations of flavors that didn't compliment one another such as mango tart and mint sauce. The fillet Mignion was however very nice and cooked well.

Verrandah-
This is the Jamaican restaurant. No reservations are required, however at peak times it can be busy but you will always be able to get a table. This was our favorite restaurant. The food was of very high standard, a good variety. A chilled out atmosphere with very good service. The menu changed daily, we would very much recommend.

The grill-
This is open from 10.30am pretty much all day. It serves a very high standard of food including burgers, hot dogs, jerk chicken, salads, sandwiches, patties and calamari (our gripe with this is that there is no fresh lemon).

The Veggie bar-
This is good for snacks throughout the day. We didnt use it much but its worth a try.

Drinks-
The drinks at the resort were very good. Top shelf alcohol was served in all bars. The cocktail menu is catered for Americans, however if you know what you want more often than not you can get it. The piano bar closes at 12pm, Ricardo the bar man there was very friendly and good at mixing drinks. There is a bar on the beach open from 12-2am called the lounge, this is good for late night drinks and has music.

Our gripe with the drinks was that there is no fresh lemon, lime or mint at all in the resort. Our favorite drink was Mojito so we were quite disappointed with this.

The beach is ok, not as nice as negril. However ever you can always get a sun bed and drinks service on the beach. There is sea weed and rocks but its still enjoyable and has a good view of the island and the bay.

The pools-
There are two pools, one of which has a swim up bar. They are very clean and well maintained like the whole resort. There are plenty of sunbeds throughout the resort, however again another small gripe there is not very much shade. There are also two Jacuzzi which we didn't use but there were available.

Excursions-
All water sports are included in the price. If this is your thing check it out. The catamaran cruise is a very good couple of hours, lots of fun to be had by all. Take some money for souvenirs, photos and tips. Dunns river falls is also included, we didnt do this but heard its a good excursion from other guests. The glass bottom boat trip again is included, we did this in negril do didnt do it again but its worth doing. The shopping trip again included was ok. Some of the sellers were very pushy, be prepared to haggle. Duncan the bus driver is very friendly though and will take good care of you. The rum cream sangstar which is a lovely drink is available to buy (you can not buy this in the airport).

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. We would very much recommend couples tower isle and couples resorts. Make sure you register for couples rewards on their website as they very much value repeat customers and incentives are given for repeat visitors such as resort credit, repeat dinners and much more. Many thanks to the staff at couples for making our holiday relaxing and special.

Room Tip: If seeking a sea view room, look to upgrade the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at Couples Tower Isle in Ochos Rios from April 26th - May 3rd and had a FABULOUS time! We had been twice before but not for 5 or 6 years. The staff is wonderful, the food is wonderful, the weather was GREAT! We stayed in the newly remodeled wing and while the rooms weren't fancy, they were very nice, comfortable, clean and had great view of the ocean. We traveled with 3 other couples and 3 in our party enjoyed scuba diving, pool volleyball, and beach volleyball every day. I personally enjoyed laying on the beach and relaxing!

Room Tip: We got a "Premier Ocean Front" room in the newly remodeled building. It is an excellent l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-St
Level Contributor
237 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Travelled as a group of four for a friends birthday at this hotel for two weeks recently.Disembarked from a 10 hour flight at Montego bay airport to be greeted by long queues and a kinda chaos around the immigration area.Queued for around about an hour to get through immigration and then 20-30 mins for customs - it was hot as well - my advice would be to book Club Mobay (£??) TO GET YOU THROUGH THEIR FAST TRACK ARRIVAL AND DEPARTURE.
We were met in the airport by Thomsons rep Godfrey( funny man) who directed us to the couples resort lounge where we had our bags tagged and stored for the "keystone cops" baggage handlers to arrive.We went into the lounge where we were served ice cold red stripe ( showers available) until our bus arrived.After about 30 mins and 3 red stripes we followed our baggage handlers who proceeded to drop 3 of our cases at regular intervals on the 100 yards to the bus AND they wanted tipping!! The ride to the hotel is approx1.5 / 2 hours minimum due to the poor roads,mad drivers and go slow drivers along this road, the driving is quite unbelievable with people overtaking the car/bus which is already overtaking someone else at the time - be prepared for the wacky races!! Arrival at hotel was very nice with Kirk one of the porters very friendly, with rum punch given out whilst our bags were unloaded from the bus - another tip for the driver.After a 5 minute check in we were shown to our rooms so we got changed and met downstairs for a drink and to look around the hotel facilities.The hotel does an orientation walk around the hotel during the day - look at your pack and read it carefully it has all the info you will need and a timetable of the events for the week.
FOOD
Patio - buffet style mediterranean food pizza,salads,roasts etc and breakfast is served here again buffet style.
Verandah - No booking required but on a first come basis, food very nice in a lovely atmosphere.
Bayside - Booking required for this thai based food and is found on stilts on the ocean.
Eight Rivers - Booking required and a dress code applies for this jamaican food and is located opposite the Verandah restaurant.
GRILL BAR
Burgers,fries,hot dogs etc served form here from 11 - 18:00 and 22:00 - 5 am - popular with americans.
VEGI BAR
Sandwiches,paninis, smoothies etc not so popular with americans.
ALL restaurants serve excellent food with excellent service but my favourite was the Eight rivers as people made an effort to get smartened up for dinner - some people in the Verandah were eating with their hats on!!
ACTIVITIES
All activities were ahown in your pack and written on a large board by the patio restaurant.We went on the Dunns river falls trip and loved it as it was first thing in the morning and approx 30 mins drive away - do take money as people will want tippimg!!
Try to do the Dolphin cove with the dolphins approx 40 mins away (not cheap but worth it) - again money needed as they will try to sell you photos/dvds/clothes etc
DRINKS
Drinks were served /made by the excellent staff in plastic beakers to stop breakages around pool areas.The brands were all premium ones such as smirnoff,jack daniels,jamesons etc.
POOLS
The pools were cleaned every morning with the only disappointment maybe being the colour of the water in the jacuzzis.There were plenty of sunbeds around the pools and on the beach BUT STILL people were up at 6:30 putting towels on beds (sad people).The swim up bar was very popular with americans as they stayed there from 10 - 18:00 and drank,smoked and swore (particularly the women) and played daytime activities.(usually didnt see these people on the evening time).
The staff at this hotel worked very hard all the time and were very friendly, to which some people didnt really appreciate (manners dont cost anything even if the drink is flowing).
Areas for improvement would be to change the layout of the patio buffet restaurant ,as we queued for a table at one end other people came it at the other end and just sat down and they knew we were waiting, which could be addressed by one way in and one way out.Make the Verandah a booking restaurant also and put a dress code on it - NO HATS.Try to ensure lifeguards priority is to SERVE customers and not be too UPSET when there volleyball game is interrupted by customers who want to go sailing and they have to leave the beach to SERVE these customers.Allow customers to visit the Au Naturale island at least once a week so they could photograph the hotel from the island/ see tower etc and NOT have to get all of their clothes off ie an open morning/afternoon/day.Improve quality of food from grill bar.
Overall it was a very good holiday with the weather superb and with great company (Thanks Paul and Karen) you will have a great time here.
Many thanks to all the staff particularly Kirk,Conway,Terry, Ricardo and Marcos who we seemed to interract the most with.
Two final tips DO NOT BOOK the southern adventure with a tipple it is a nightmare of a bus ride and a very long day 13.5 hours, nine of which were driving!! and take a mosquito/ant repellent to minimise the bites.

Room Tip: If you can afford it book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BazzaChester_le_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had a wonderful time! Everything was great! We went to Couples Negril last year and I have to say I have a preference for that hotel. I am a beach person and the one at Tower is nice , but not as nice as the one in Negril. My husband liked the golf course in OR much better than Negril. So I think next year we will divide our vacation by going to both!
Service was, as usual, great. Garden room was very nice, but a lot of noise in hallways early in morning. Food was good(found selection better at Negril). Went to Dunns Falls and it was fantastic! So much fun. We went on Sunday(no cruise ships that day) and first group off! Catamaran was , for us, not worth it (kinda a waste of time).
Love Couples resorts and will return.

Room Tip: Garden room was very nice, only view of trees but very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I surprised my wife with a trip to this lovely resort, and it exceeded all expectations. The food was amazing, staff were a blast, hotel is in good shape, and you are close to many of the attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden view room and it was just fine. When we wanted to see the ocean, we went ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,255 reviews
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
20.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing