We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude boys and Thieves”
Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My boyfriend and I were here in March 2014. We came here after reading so many good reviews. Well don't go by the reviews PLEASE!!. When we got here they took us to this match box they called a room. It needed a complete remodel. The hotel pool was nice and the grounds were nice. What ruined our vacation was that my boyfriends Ipad was stolen from the room. I have been traveling for about 25 years now and this is the first time I have something stolen from us while on vacation. We called security and they questioned and treated us like we were the thieves. They went through all of our stuff, suitcase, etc. We do not want to make any assumptions but we were very sure it was one of the staff members. This happened 2 days before our departure and we inquired again with security before we left and they had done NOTHING!!!. We were told fill out a form and they would see what they can do. After being back home for a couple of days , my boyfriend received a call from a pawn shop in Jamaica telling him they had his Ipad and he would need to pay a fee if he wanted it back. After this call we contacted the hotel and gave security the phone number that appeared on my boyfriends cell to see if they can track it down. Well it has been a few months and nothing was done. I have been to Jamaica 4 times including this one and wont be coming back ever again. The people tend to be VERY RUDE, and the way they beg for tips is unbelievable to me. If they say hi to you they want a tip. Ridiculous. Well hope this review makes anyone reading it that has never been to Jamaica have second thoughts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Nora1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham I, Owner at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Nora1025,

Thank you for staying at Couples Tower Isle. Sorry to hear that one of your personal items went missing during your vacation with us. Large safe boxes are provided in every room to secure guests’ valuables. As requested, a comprehensive investigation (including standard search of room) was completed before your departure. No evidence supporting theft was found. As a result, all necessary insurance information was sent for future claims.

It was also disappointing to hear your recent thoughts about Jamaica. As a member of the Caribbean community, this country has a great reputation along with people who are genuinely hospitable. At Couples Resorts, our staff remain our greatest asset, contributing to our success as a resort chain.

Regards,
Abraham Issa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 3,189 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

It was our first time visiting a Couples Resort and we were excited about it! My husband and I visited in May 2014. Being a local I usually have my eyes and ears out for quality service being given by my fellow country mates and I was not disappointed by the Couples Tower Isle team. My experience was nothing short of good from arrival to departure. The Service given by all Staff was good - Bellmen, Servers, Room attendants, Lifeguards, etc were all good. The entire Staff was very polite and helpful and they were Consistent in this regard. My only feedback is for the telephone operators to have a little more patience when attending to clients for bookings, as I got the impression that they quickly just wanted to route the call and so did not take enough time to hear what the client had to say.

If you are looking for a glamorous building you may not get that but the intimate, relaxed and refreshed feeling you get from Couples Tower Isle will quickly wipe those thoughts from your mind. We got an ocean view room and that was just excellent as that's what we wanted.! Nevertheless seeing the Garden rooms I believe we would still be comfortable and happy.

The Food was excellent and the Food at "Eight Rivers" was great. However, we had to be accommodated at the "Verandah" restaurant (but still served from the Eight Rivers Menu) as my husband did not walk with any "Slacks" only jeans so we could not be seated in Eight Rivers.
The vegetarian food bar during the day was also an added plus to the experience - even tho we were not vegetarians but it gave you healthy options for a meal.

I also enjoyed drinking my cool coconut jelly on the Beach!! - served from the Vegetarian Bar.

I am not a water sport person, my husband is. But I tried the Hydro Bikes and it was fun!! (while it lasted :-)). Nevertheless I am sure the real "tourists" enjoyed all the watersports that were available and included in the hotel costs. CTI does not offer an active "party night life" if you are looking for that so don't get disappointed. Options such as Sing-along, Musical entertainment does exists. However, the nightly entertainment routine can be predictable.

As a local, I was extremely impressed by the fact that I got my local Sunday Newspaper delivered to my room Sunday morning!!! very nice!!

My Husband and I will definitely come back to CTI or another of the Couples Chain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I (mid 50's) have just returned from 2 wonderful weeks at CTI. What can I say that has not already been said except this place exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed everything especially our first experience at Au Natural on the island. We also thoroughly enjoyed a private dinner on the island which if you looked carefully you could upgrade to flowers and champagne as well as $100 off the spa and $50 off the shop which was well worth it. We were lucky to experience both Garden room and Ocean Deluxe which were both beautiful but offer a different experience. The garden room overlooks the gardens and gives a rain forest effect whilst the Ocean views are stunning and breezy.

The food and entertainment are excellent with tastes and styles for all and the same for sports.

If viewing from the uk please do not be put off by the price of Couples holidays as they more than extremely good value for money and most importantly excellent quality, standard and service. Remember the sports are included with instruction which includes scuba diving. Also free trips to Dunns river falls, shopping trips and Catamaran trip which is great fun. A bonus is the mini bar which proves not only your usual soft drinks and beer but LITRE bottles of spirits of your choice with no limit.

Overall we met some AMAZING people which included staff that just could not do enough for you.

My only recommendation would be to sign up for Mobay Club (can be found on Expedia site and well worth the money) to meet you at the Airport on arrival to check your documentation, collect your luggage and fast track you through immigration which if unlucky can take a couple of hours in sticky heat. On return fast track applies again (thank God) and you have access to VIP lounge with free drinks, snacks and comfort. Be warned if you want Duty free on return get it early as the ques at check out can take forever.
Thank you to all at CTI for making our anniversary so very very special. We will definitely be back and can fully understand why they are so many returners.

Room Tip: Experienced both garden and Ocean which were different but both excellent and depends on preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Malart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon when arrived was lovely got a amazing sea-view room the things to do were good for the first week then there all the same the night time entertainment was pretty boring most time you couldn't even here the music the food was alright the first night breakfast the same everyday with 11 days later got very boring what makes this hotel is the staff that work here there are so lovey Andrew and delroy really stood out to us being really kind and made the hoilday that little bit better many thanks the moore's xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sacha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couplesops, Manager at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Sacha C
Thank you for your review of Couples Tower Isle. Your feedback and positive comments regarding our staff are appreciated as this will help us to improve. We regret that you were disappointed in our breakfast offerings. An email was sent to you regarding this. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I (early 30s) spent a week at Couples Tower Isle during the month of May. We had previously been to Couples Sans Souci two years ago. We loved CSS so much that we wanted to try another Couples resort because we knew it would not disappoint. Everything that people say is true: the staff is wonderful, the food is amazing, the atmosphere is relaxing and the views are gorgeous. Couples resorts have perfected the relaxing all-inclusive resort vacation.
Since I debated between CTI and CSS prior to visiting either, I thought a review comparing the two might be helpful for other travelers.
Both are located in Ocho Rios which is just under a two hour bus ride from the Montego Bay airport. When riding on the Couples shuttle, your final travel time might be a tiny bit longer if you are visiting CTI. This is because it just past CSS and you may have to first stop at CSS to drop off couples sharing the shuttle with you. Both are on the smaller end for the amount of rooms, with CSS having about 75 less rooms. Even though CTI can accommodate more people, CSS feels larger because it is more spread-out. There are different blocks of rooms, some on the beach, others up in the cliffside. The layout of CTI is all right on the ocean with the different blocks of rooms all being connected. CSS has many paths to explore and a much larger nature area. It was easier to find a secluded area at CSS if you wanted to feel like you had the resort to yourself. Both have an AN beach or island which we haven’t tried, but I did notice on red flag days at CTI that the AN island was not accessible since the water was too rough for the boat to transport people.
Because CSS is slightly smaller, there is one less restaurant on the property. Of the three at CSS, two you need reservations for at night. At CTI they have four restaurants and in the evening you only need reservations at two. I found the variety more convenient at CTI, but we didn’t have issues making reservations at either resort and enjoyed the quality and variety of food offered in all the restaurants at both resorts. Both resorts have a wonderful veggie bar open during the day. At CTI this is located directly under the main bar where at CSS is set off on its own and much quieter. Both resorts have a main bar and a swim up bar. We noticed the noise level at the CTI swim up bar during the late afternoon to be much worse. However, this may have been because our room was directly above it and therefore couldn’t relax on our patios most days. We heard the same compliant from many couples during our stay. CTI appeared to have more of a night life with the Piano bar and newly opened lounge. Despite this, come midnight most of the parties had died down during our stay. I wouldn’t label either resort as having a strong party atmosphere, which was fine for our purposes.
Both resorts have a beach party and gala night. I enjoyed these both more at CSS as they have a bit more room to set everything up. Both resorts do excursions to Dunn River Falls, shopping, and Margaritaville but the catamaran cruise (which is very fun!) is only offered at CTI. Most of our time at CTI was a yellow or red flag day because of strong wind and rough waves. However, one day we did the trading places and noticed that because CSS is in cove, the water was much calmer. A couple that was with us commented that at CTI they didn’t get to go out diving as much but at CSS this wasn’t an issue. Regarding the spas, both resort offer services, but the spa at CSS is set into the cliffs with many of the massage huts directly facing the ocean. The spa location at CTI is located behind the resort with no ocean views. The last noticeable difference between the two was the amount of weddings that occurred. We visited both resorts in May but at CSS only saw one wedding occur during the week. This recent visit to CTI I think I counted six weddings during a week visit. This wasn’t really an issue except that they close the island early when needed and if the wedding is on the larger side, the restaurant may be more crowded for the wedding dinner and guests.
Overall you can’t go wrong with either resort and we will definitely continue to stay at Couples line of resorts when we visit Jamaica.

Room Tip: Building 3 & 4 are closest to the swim up bar pool which tends to get noisy in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AbbeyRoad5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just returned from CTI and already looking to go back and we live in Tenerife
We had a family holiday and found everything superb, internet worked perfectly everywhere but in the games room.
5 stars to the entertainment staff Miguel Royan Darren all take a bow we throughly enjoyed your company, thank you for keeping Dan busy and we enjoyed putting the post back up for the volley ball on the beach.Not forgetting Coleen who worked very hard in the piano bar sing a long at night, we really miss you all.
The food is good the rooms very comfy, there is nothing else you need.
on the way home we book the Mo Bay club at the airport this is very week worth it you are treated like a vip, escorted to the front of every queue and then into the lounge where there was plenty of food waiter service for your drinks wi-fi wish they had this service at manchester.

Karen Cayo Ian and Dan

Room Tip: we had rooms 3315 and 3315 nice and quiet air con worked perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kazTenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My son got married at the resort on May 11th, and it was perfect. We can't stop talking about how wonderful everything was. The food is some of the most delicious I've ever eaten. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It was the best vacation that my family has ever taken, we didn't want to leave. The wedding was a dream come true that we will never forget. We hadn't even gotten home when we started planning on when will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.6 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,337 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,989 reviews
3 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,398 reviews
85.6 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 80 in Negril
5,350 reviews
8.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: £254 - £626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing