We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best trip to Jamaica Yet!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Couples Tower Isle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Tower Isle
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Independence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best trip to Jamaica Yet!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

This was our best trip ever.

Air was on time or early with no bags lost.

Arrival and check in - Great, had to wait for the room, but we were early.

Food - incredible!!! Eight Rivers, New place was great, Bay Side, now Asian was very good. Nice improvement over the the old Bay Side. The Veranda was also good. We had lunch and breakfast on the patio, very good selection of food.

Service was outstanding. There were new faces with the staff that returned but all was good.

Bars: No problem getting a drink, strong and not watered down.

Pools: (2) relined and (1) new with swim up bar. Very nice.

Spa: Just built, very nice, the wife loved it.

Off resort trips: We did the horse back riding, we liked it. They also offer Dunns River Falls, Golf, Boat rides, and many other things to do that are included.

Internet cafe is wonderful, lots of computers and a printer. All included at no cost.

Couples did a great Job on the update to this resort.

Can not wait to go back. If you have any questions, please ask.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chitownshandi, Director of Sales and Marketing at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, 22 July 2009
Hello - Thank you so much for your glowing review of the NEW Couples Tower Isle. It sounds like you know what you are looking for in a resort and found the updated amenities and excellent service to fit your vacation expectations. We are thrilled you enjoyed it. The time you took to write this review and tell others is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you home again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,987
    718
    210
    96
    44
See reviews for
38
2,388
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

from the moment we arrived, we were in heaven!

we travelled from the uk, so a 10.5 hour flight plus a 2 hour bus transfer to the hotel, but all of that was forgotten when we stepped off the transfer bus to here ' Welcome Home' from Kirk.

We had an ocean view room, the views were spectacular, i recommend getting up early to watch a sunrise!

rooms are spacious, immaculate, with a wet room, plasma tv, coffee maker, telephone, safe, private balcony.

The staff here are all amazing, you are always greeted with a smile and even whilst laying around the pool they will come over to check you are okay, if you need a drink, or to ask you if you would like to try the special drink of the day. Fruit kebabs were brought around every day also.

Honestly, words cannot accurately describe this hotel, everything about it is perfect, the decor, everywhere is immaculate and the food was always amazing!

there are three restaurants to try out, aside from the beach grill and buffet, they are -

8 rivers - the nicest one - really upmarket dining, intimate, food was gorgeous.

bayside - this sits out over the water and i think its asian cuisine, we had great fun eating our first full meal with chopsticks!

verandah - our favourite, traditional jamaican cuisine, nicely air conditioned, food was amazing!

there is plenty to do in the hotel if you wish, but the entertainment team aren't in your face torturing you to join in.

watersports on the beach were great too, aqua bikes, sailing, scuba, catamaran cruise! a big thanks to Gary from Watersports for making our stay special!

we got married whilst we were there and the wedding co-ordinator - latoya was briliant! nothing was too much trouble and she was constantly checking that we were fine!

we got married in the bayside restaurant, they decorated it to perfection, winding vine around the wooden pillars and decking the whole place and the table out with fresh flowers, it was perfect.

Also, we used the resort photographer, his name is Nicholas, we explained to him we didn't want a lot of posing pictures, just nice natural ones and he absolutely did exactly what we wished, he was amazing and i cannot understand why people hire outside photographers for their wedding!

Overall, this hotel is amazing, i would recommend it to anyone, you have to go here!

We are counting and balancing ouyr accounts to see when we can afford to go back, but we most definatley will, i do not think we could holiday anywhere else now, as nowhere else could compare to this hotel!

If anyone would like more info, just contact me!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank crazyweecheerleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chitownshandi, Director of Sales and Marketing at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Hello - WOW your review was wonderful. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your amazing experience and very special wedding. We are so proud that you were able to feel the way we want all our guests to after a getaway at Couples Resorts. Congratulations on your nuptials and we can't wait to welcome you home again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

This was our honeymoon & I've never experienced something like this before! The staff at Couples Tower Isle are the nicest people you will ever meet. There goal is to take care of you your entire trip and that is exactly what they did. We almost cried when we had to leave because we met the most amazing people. I honestly tried to find just 1 thing that I could say negative, but came up with absolutely nothing! We are already looking forward to planning our next vacation...hopefully our 1 year anniversary trip we will be back here!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ashleydy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chitownshandi, Director of Sales and Marketing at Couples Tower Isle, responded to this review, 14 July 2009
Thank you so much for your kind words. We take great pride in the staff training, professionalism and friendliness. We believe this is our greatest differentiating factor and we are so glad you took the time to write and tell others. We look forward to inviting you home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

I live in Jamaica, and I have done the circuit of all inclusives across the island.. and five years ago I went to Couples and absolutely loved it.. The renovations are amazing... the hotel has a pure, elegant, simple feeling about it that they have just made better! I decided after making the rounds of all the other all inclusives to go back to this hotel and see if it was my still my favorite.. and without a doubt, Couples Tower Isle is the absolute most romantic, most beautiful, and has the most charm, of any hotel in Jamaica... I decided as a Jamaican I needed to write this... The dinner at the restaurant was as good as any meal I could get at a five star restaurant anywhere in the world... the service was excellent, everything... the island is very romantic, the rooms are beautiful with magnficent views... pure romance....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeborahKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

My wife and I just returned from our trip to Couples Tower Isle. We reviewed dozens of resorts with our travel agent before deciding on CTI... And we are very glad we spent our vacation at this resort.

The plane ride was uneventful. We were fortunate to have a straight through flight. Upon arriving in Jamaica we waltzed through customs and ended up at the small Couples Lounge where we were served Red Stripe (from tap) by a very courteous gentleman. We were there for approximately 30 minutes as not all travelers had made their way through customs yet. Once everyone was checked in we headed to the shuttle (small Toyota 'van' with 3 rows of seats).

The shuttle ride was interesting. The drivers in Jamaica do not drive like the typical American. We were passed quite a few times under dangerous conditions, however, the shuttle driver was very cautious and avoided any incident. The trip was approximately two hours as we stopped for a restroom break that took a few minutes.

Once we arrived at the Resort we were met by Kirk. Kirk greeted us with a smile and took our drink order as we were checking in. The check-in process was quick and painless. The Jamaican Delight Kirk brought back from the bar was refreshing. He loaded up our bags and showed us to our Garden View room.

The rooms are a bit dated, but clean. Please do not mistake 'dated' for old. The room had a certain island charm to it with a few modern updates. There is an alarm clock/IPOD player along with a flat screen. The digital thermostat that read either Celsius or Fahrenheit tucked in the closet instead of the under window units found in most budget hotels was a nice touch. The windows facing the balcony/garden were floor to ceiling and the balcony was private and had an awning. The cheaper garden room that we stayed in suited our needs just fine. See the couples website for the ocean view rooms if you are thinking about an upgrade. Truth be told... we did not stay in the room much unless we were changing into something to wear to dinner, or sleeping. Why worry about where you lay your head to sleep when the resort offers so much to do outside? My wife missed her bathtub (only a shower in this room) but after our trip we decided the shower worked just fine as we were salty and sandy from the beach even after washing off at the courtesy showers down by the water.

Once settled in we walked around the grounds. The resort was smaller than we anticipated. This is not a bad thing. It does not have the 'hotel' feel. There are not many rooms and even fewer guests. Because of this, most of the bartenders knew our faces or names by the end of the week... and we don't drink much. We bumped into the resort manager and he was nice enough to show us around... We must have looked lost (we were exploring after getting settled in) and he showed us around a bit. I can't remember his name, but he is an outstandingly nice individual.

The food was great. Make reservations early and try every restaurant. Time slots fill up quick, so get your name on the list. You will not go hungry.

The spa was nice and new. We were only at CTI for a short time and did not schedule any treatments. The prices are a bit higher than you will find in the states, but still very reasonable. I think the couples website has package details.

The staff is amazing.
Everyone smiled and greeted us.
Simply amazing staff.

The beach is small, but spacious enough for all guests to not feel crowded. The beach is not shared with any other resorts, and there are no other resorts in sight... 100% private.

Go to the island. Do it the first day you are there. I promise, it's an enlightening experience and the guests and staff are very respectful. In fact we met 'the' nicest people on the island... It's hard to find the right words to describe the island. This is coming from a very conservative and reserved person, you should try it. Drop your guard and go. When in Rome....

We are early to bed, early to rise people so we did not experience the night life... but they did have live music every night, or close to it.

There are beach activities such as volley ball... but we didn't participate as we were either on the island or relaxing on the beach.

The snorkeling trip was great. The crew was helpful and informative. Take a waterproof camera, you will want to capture some pictures of the coral and the other attraction (it's a surprise).

We did not enjoy the shopping trip... mostly because the shops did not have many items exclusive to the island. Then again we met a couple that went shopping almost every day of their trip. It just wasn't for us.

Dunn's River Falls was a fun excursion. Bring water shoes. Make sure they are of good quality and fit snug as the climb is not enjoyable with small rocks stuck between your foot the the sole of your shoe. You can rent some from a local road side vendor if needed... but the rental isn't cheap and I doubt sanitary.

The catamaran trip was fun. The seas were rough the day we went and the crew did everything in their power to make the trip enjoyable... but they cannot control the weather.

If you are looking for a large resort with no personality then do not go to Couples Tower Isle. If you seek a small resort with a staff that remembers your name and smiles that has overwhelming personality and flavor then do go to CTI.

We have been back in the states only a few days and are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JamaicaNuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

I don't think there are words to describe how wonderful this resort is! We got a room that looked out on the ocean and kept the doors open all night to fall asleep to the waves crashing. It's such an intimate setting. It wasn't overcrowded at all! We never had to wait for food or a drink or anything. The staff was there to ensure everyone was having a great time and they made the trip a blast. We met some of the most awesome people from all over the USA on our week long trip. The food was great, the drinks were flowing, and Tower Isle was something I will never forget! We got the twilight massage down by the beach and absolutely loved every second of it! The swim up bar was excellent! I can't think of one single thing that I would/could change about this resort! We will definitely be back and would reccommend it to absolutely anyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aafgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

We have made Jamaica our annual getaway spot for three years running, and by far, CTI was the best experience we have had. We were greeted promptly with smiles and indulgences from the moment we arrived. Fast, friendly service catering to our every desire was the theme for our entire stay. The newly renovated facilities were clean, comfortable, and relaxing. The staff worked very hard to maintain a romantic atmosphere and allow us to enjoy our time together. As an avid scuba diver, I enjoyed the full service dive shop and water sports. Collin and the other dive staff members welcomed me and made everything I need available to me. They setup, cleaned, and stored all of my equipment each day. They took all of the work out of diving. The only issue we experienced was that there was a malfunction with one of the hot tubs, but since there were three of four others, it was not really a problem. Everything winds down around midnight and is very quiet and romantic. We will definitely return, and we have already recommended CTI to several friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coustille_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.9 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,749 reviews
85.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
59.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
8.2 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
20.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Tower Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Tower Isle

Property: Couples Tower Isle
Address: St. Mary, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Couples Ocho Rio)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Tower Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playground to Hollywood celebrities in the 1950s, glamorous Couples Tower Isle exudes a chic sophistication perfectly balanced by a relaxed Caribbean sensuality. Perched on the lush terrain of Ocho Rios, Jamaica—the resort seduces with breathtaking sea views, a wide sandy beach and century-old palm trees. Discover the joys of snorkeling among the reefs, windsurfing on the waves, or sailing into the sunset on a catamaran, rum punch in hand. Intricate blue tile work and jade chaise lounges offset the striking white retro architecture. Luxurious rooms boast private ocean-breeze balconies. Whether being pampered in the Zen-inspired spa—recognized as "Best in the Caribbean" by Travel+Leisure—sipping cocktails at the piano bar or indulging in an exquisite meal alfresco, Couples Tower Isle creates countless intimate moments that inspire you to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Tower Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Tower Isle Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples Ocho Rios
Couples Hotel Isle
Couples Ochos Rios
Ochos Rios
Couples Tower Isle Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing